We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge treated like family!”
Review of Soda Butte Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soda Butte Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

It was fourth of July. We spent the day in Yellowstone and we were tired and wanted to find a place that we could park the car and relax and have dinner and see fire works without having to drive anymore. We hit the jackpot here. First of all when we drove into Cooke City it was a real western cowboy type of town . Just quaint and in the mountains you could just picture a gun fight in those streets and hitching posts for horses kind of like the old western tv shows. Then we parked our car and went into Soda Butts lodge . It was an old building it reminded me of the bars on gunsmoke without the swinging doors. We walk in and there is a real open room with tables a couch and fire place . I was looking for a piano and a girl with skirt and garters that's the feel of the place. Walk up to the desk and were greeted warmly by a real nice man he was busy in the restaurant which was behind the desk and said he would be with us shortly. He came right over and we asked if they had any rooms and he said yes I asked how much and he said $88 including tax! I about fell over we had been paying at least $200 a night . We said we will take it. We got a room on the first floor they have two floors I think. Remember this is an old hotel it was clean not fancy and a nice view of mountains. Sure walls were thin and furniture old but it was just fine had air which alot of motels don't near Yellowstone. We took a nap had dinner in the bar which was good and inexpensive. Then we sat out on the great porch and the owners had quite a display of fireworks it was great right in front of us front row seating. We also could see fireworks from a nearby town. Everyone was friendly. We left early the next morning with a hot mug of coffee from the kitchen and off we went to Lamar valley to see the wildlife. Just a great stay! Also after driving 50 miles into Yellowstone I realized I left my purse in the room, panicked I called them and they had found it and shipped it to my home. It came the day after I got home with everything intact. Thank you Soda Butte Lodge for everything! If you need a place to stay by Northeast entrance this is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinamingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

It is a heck of a place...
The food, lodging, and service were wonderful.
Big home cooked meals, and the beer and wine were great.
Smoked my first cigar in years and just stopped... What a pleasure...
Caught a lot of fish, horse-backed into Slough Creek and fished the Lamar River.
Saw a huge Bull Moose, and a Grizzly, and of all things, the pack of wolves.
This is Yellowstone at it's best.
Cooke City is a wonderful place to get away and Soda Butte Lodge topped it all off for us...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

After a wonderful trip through Yellowstone we left the park through the northeast entrance and ended up at the Soda Butte Lodge in Cook City, MT. The front desk clerk was engaging, helpful in answering our questions, and providing Internet access, but that is as far as it went. Our room had no clock, no coffee maker, a saggy bed, and no sound insulation between floors. A little attention to detail by management would be helpful. Do try the Bear Tooth Cafe across the street - great food and wonderful beer and wine list.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We travelled late in the season and many places were closed for winter. I skipped right over Soda Butte because it has a "Casino" sign and I hate casinos, but how bad could it be in this little town, so we walked in anyway. Nice, quiet, large room, well under published rates. Not too many other guests. The lady who checked us in was also the bantender and the waitress, and maybe the cook (probably not). We had dinner in the bar (restaurant and bar were consolidated into one for winter), and it was fine. I think we had a bowl of chilli and some soup.
The same women was supposed to work breakfast, but didn't show up, at which point we realized there was no other place in the town to get coffeee at 6:30AM in October. We should have tried to grocery store, but got going instead, cold and hungry, for which we were rewarded by an elk family stralling in the willows in the valley. Totally worth it! I liked Soda Butte, and Cooked City. Wonder what it is like in winter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My wife and I drove through Yellowstone National Park, from Gardiner, MT, to Cooke City, MT, on December 16, 2012, to view wildlife and do some XC skiing. We stopped at this facility for a quick bite to eat before our return trip. The service in the dining room was very slow and of very poor quality. The waitress seemed as if she may have been on tranquilizers or something . . . who knows? We could hear the rowdy snow mobile crowd in the adjacent bar, and glad we didn't go in there to eat, as it was a rough crowd using plenty of foul language. My burger was leaking raw blood, and my wife's was cooked dry. We were not asked how we wanted to burgers cooked, so were very surprised by the inconsistency. Our feeling after the ordeal is that this business does not really care about a quality product or customer service, and had a "take it or leave it" attitude. Avoid this place if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have been staying at the Soda Butte Lodge in the winter and the summer for over 25 years. The best place to stay in the Yellowstone area during the summer, best rates and close proximatey to the park. Drive in and out of the park via the Lamar Valley and see Bears, Wolves, Buffalo and other wildlife (summer and winter). The Lodge has everything you need, nice fireplace to hang out at, bar and grill, video and Texas Hold'em in the winter, great dinning and room to relax in the lobby. Range of room selections so if its just two of us or 6, they had accomodations for us. Cooke City is a great little hidden paradise in the summer and the winter and no better place to hang out and meet new friends that at the Soda Butte Lodge.

Room Tip: Sleeping in? ask for a room on the back side, want to watch the action get a room on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDT-GoHuskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Room was clean and well-appointed. Service was spotty in the inn and the attached restaurant--ranging from friendly/helpful to cool/disinterested. In September, things are starting to slow so perhaps staffing is an issue. No elevator, no rooms on ground floor, and no one to help with luggage so be prepared to haul your things up a flight of stairs. Parking is inadequate on the hotel property so you may have to park along the main drag and be moving by 9:00 a.m. or so. Locals frequent the bar which is a mixed blessing--just mind your own business and should be no problem.

Room Tip: Whole town shuts down about 9:00 pm so noise from street is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Accidental_Turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
24.9 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soda Butte Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soda Butte Lodge

Address: 209 Highwway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range: £103 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooke City is situated in the Beartooth Absaroka mountains. Accessible via Montana Hwy 212 Beartooth Scenic Highway, Chief Joseph Scenic Hwy 296 and Yellowstone National Park. Soda Butte Lodge is located on Main Street in the center of town. Our 32 guest rooms are located on two floors of the motel. We are also, the only full service motel in Cooke City with 3-meal restaurant and sports bar full liquor. The large lobby is a great place to relax, by the fireplace or by the windows to "people watch", play cards, read or visit with friends. We are just 3 1/2 miles from the north east entrance to Yellowstone National Park and the infamous Lamar Valley where "wolf watching" is very popular. The area is ideal for wildlife viewing, horseback riding, fishing, hiking, 4 wheeling and many photo-ops. Winter in Cooke City is unlike no other. Extreme snowmobiling, snowboarding and cross country skiing at its' finest. Winter, the lodge, is only accessible through Yellowstone Park (Mammoth) or drive over Chief Joseph to Pilot Creek parking lot and snowmobile in the last 9 miles. Our area is rich in the things money can't buy: history, beauty, wildlife and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Soda Butte Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soda Butte Hotel Cooke City
Soda Butte Lodge Cooke City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing