We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Soda Butte Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soda Butte Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nothing like having the window open and getting fresh mountain air! The sound of Soda Butte Creek is to die for. Rooms are clean and welcoming. Food is great, try the prime rib! If you are lucky...you may even catch some great music on select weekends!

Room Tip: Creek side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montanagramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Best food in town! Best lodging. Great staff and friendly atmosphere. Even has a great bar included inside the lodge. With good drinks!!!!
The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.
The fireplace in the lodge biggest warmest fireplace and its always going in the winter!
Best snowmobiling in the country. SO MUCH FUN!!!

Room Tip: A view of either the town or wilderness behind all are great rooms. Comfortable beds. HOT showers!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyHill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Just ate for the second time in 4 days here. Great service from a gentleman that worked one evening. Had a problem with undercooked burgers and it was handled very professionally so it wasn't a big deal at all. I made a pain in the butt request for a special salad and it was done perfectly! We ate there again last night and I had the king cut prime rib, my compliments to the cooks, was the best prime rib I have ever had! Highly recommended. Only regret I should have done the butte cut as it was so good I could have easily done with a 22ozer of prime! Next time for sure! Also there was an awesome waitress working the bar side and as usual I made special salad requests and changed my side dishes and she was super understanding about it. Highly recommended food and service!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ridersuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

When we go to Cooke City I make it a point to stay at the Soda Butte. Its not new but thats part of the charm. I've never turned on the TV because I don't go on Vacation to sit and watch TV. Its very convenient to be able to stay and put all your charges on your room (breakfast, lunch, dinner, bar) and pay at checkout. These people don't hassle you for having a good time; as long as your respectful. And they are very accommodating to your needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiscJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Years, this is a bigger facility with lots of character. It was clean in the rooms and plenty warm. It thought the place overall is run down, old, most amenities were not working well, TV (4 of the 10 channels worked), shower (hot-cold-hot-cold), King Bed was banana shaped, sound carries from room to room....it would really need a major overhall the make it updated and more cozy. But if your in town with your buddies to drink and do nothing else its a great place for that. The food at the restaurant is way overpriced for what you were served, food was ok just very overpriced. Overall I would say this is a poor place to stay compared to the other places in town. This place is not a good place for kids or if its a trip with your wife.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We never stayed there,but wish we did!Their food was great,if you order your food,tell them how you want it cooked,shouldn't have the cooks guess...Great little lounge in back,cold beer too.
The crew there was very polite and helpful.....
These are country people making a living trying to make tourist happy(hard to do,as many can't be pleased)...Thumbs up to the crew on putting up with city slickers and the such!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel and its location. We spent several days in the park and this hotel was a good place to relax each night. The hotel's restaurant was good with a typical homestyle menu. We also enjoyed having a bar in the hotel. The rooms were simple and met out needs. We liked that this hotel was at the northeast entrance to the park which allowed us to be close to the Lamar Valley. We were riding a motorcycle and also enjoyed the proximity to the Beartooth Highway. Overall a good place to stay with good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anmer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Soda Butte Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soda Butte Lodge

Address: 209 Highwway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range: £97 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooke City is situated in the Beartooth Absaroka mountains. Accessible via Montana Hwy 212 Beartooth Scenic Highway, Chief Joseph Scenic Hwy 296 and Yellowstone National Park. Soda Butte Lodge is located on Main Street in the center of town. Our 32 guest rooms are located on two floors of the motel. We are also, the only full service motel in Cooke City with 3-meal restaurant and sports bar full liquor. The large lobby is a great place to relax, by the fireplace or by the windows to "people watch", play cards, read or visit with friends. We are just 3 1/2 miles from the north east entrance to Yellowstone National Park and the infamous Lamar Valley where "wolf watching" is very popular. The area is ideal for wildlife viewing, horseback riding, fishing, hiking, 4 wheeling and many photo-ops. Winter in Cooke City is unlike no other. Extreme snowmobiling, snowboarding and cross country skiing at its' finest. Winter, the lodge, is only accessible through Yellowstone Park (Mammoth) or drive over Chief Joseph to Pilot Creek parking lot and snowmobile in the last 9 miles. Our area is rich in the things money can't buy: history, beauty, wildlife and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Soda Butte Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soda Butte Hotel Cooke City
Soda Butte Lodge Cooke City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing