We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay here. It is very close to Yellowstone...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    112
    109
    27
    16
See reviews for
113
132
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Due to construction at the Hotel, parking was very limited and difficult to locate spots at night due to poor lighting. Our room was on the 2nd floor. Bringing the luggage into the Hotel was a challenge due to the inadequate lighting. In fact, both in our party nearly fell down the stairs leading to the 2nd floor due to inadequate lighting. I read the Manager's response to another review that a light has now been installed. Very glad to hear about that improvement. The room was nice but the walls were thin. Shortage of breakfast items during our stay. I know the construction had much to do with some of the issues we experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When I checked into the Super 8, they had no record of my reservation which was booked with Hotels.com but fortunately they had the last room available for one night. Staff not helpful at all and very argumentative. I paid for 2 nights in advance but decided to check out the next morning and I got a full refund for the second night without a problem. The staff were not friendly at all. I didn't have breakfast there, not keen on chain motels' breakfasts so went elsewhere. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but no fridge or micro which I am used to but I knew that in advance. Would not stay there again. I arrived late and other places were booked and since I made the reservation with Hotels.com decided to stay at the Super 8. The staff blamed Hotels.com for not having a record of my reservation. They wanted a copy of my reservation and I couldn't print it on their computer so the girl on the desk asked me to email to her and that didn't work either. We argued for about 10 minutes and I was furious that I couldn't get a copy of my reservation to her and she kept on asking for it. Stupid woman. In the end I showed it to her on the computer. She was not only argumentative but stupid. It took half an hour to sort this mess out. The walls are very thin, I could hear someone snoring next door so my sleep was interrupted.No elevator and I was on the 2nd floor, 3 floors in all. This all ruined my stay in Cooke City - couldn't wait to leave and head for lovely Red Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at this motel. It isn't fancy, but it's nice enough, clean enough and modern enough. For me, it is the perfect place to stay when I am visiting Yellowstone's Lamar Valley. Staying in this motel, I can view wildlife in the evening in Lamar Valley, stay overnight not far from Lamar Valley and then view wildlife again the next morning. Just like my previous trip, we were able to see grizzlies and wolves in Lamar Valley. On this trip, we saw grizzlies during the evening and grizzlies & wolves the next morning. If we hadn't been staying nearby in Cooke City, we wouldn't have seen the wolves. Cooke City is also a great gateway to the Beartooth highway, which is by far the most scenic entrance or exit to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnolds Park, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Recently came to Yellowstone to see the sites and animals. Our room was clean and comfortable. Was great to have wifi available as my cellular service was not available there in the park. Was able to grant us our request for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shuck J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Three of us were in the Yellowstone area fishing for a few days and we spent a night at this hotel. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was the usual fare, but filling and free. We checked in about 7pm, with a reservation, and the young lady on the front desk was very pleasant and friendly. The hotel is located in the heart of Cooke City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in Cook City on our way to Yellowstone. In general it is your typical small town missing friendly people who's businesses only thrive on tourism. The guest services on the late afternoon evening was not only rude but argumentative. When I call the front desk for the wifi password she hung up on me after I asked to repeat the password to her. No pets allowed but she had her own dog in the office area. No help with directions, etc. I would not stay again. Room was clean but that is the best thing. You could hear ever toilet flush or shower in the entire facility so stay on the third floor if possible. Housekeeping was knocking on doors at 600am to clean which was very rude.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
24.9 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area

Property: Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Address: 303 East Main Street, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area hotel is located on Route 212 near Yellowstone Park Northeast Entrance. We offer comfortable, affordable accommodations whether you are with us just one night, or you plan to stay and enjoy the area. All of our rooms are non-smoking and feature microwaves and refrigerators. We offer free wi-fi access in public areas, as well as all guest rooms. Guest laundry facility on site. Complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Cooke City Mt Hotel Cooke City
Super Eight Cooke City
Cooke City Super Eight
Cooke City Super 8
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing