We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just clean enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooke City Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooke City Alpine
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just clean enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This motel touts its establishment as being beyond clean. Actually, it is just clean enough; could be cleaner. There was a 2 inch wide dust trail around the perimeter of the room, as it has not been vacuumed close to the walls, and there were bits of food on the floor around the mini-fridge. The bedspread and sheets are worn thin and should be cut up for rags. Price was too much for the quality of the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    58
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
40
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had the worst night's sleep of our US vacation. No coffee, no hot water (we had to move rooms twice to find a bathroom we could shower in), and the noise from the creaky floorboards and shower above us when our fellow guests rose at 4.30am was horrendous. Hosts seemed more interested in their bistro up the road. We did not find this particularly good value for money either . Cannot recommend

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We had one night here after a day riding through Yellowstone. We stayed in a queen room and could park our bikes right outside the room. The room was pretty basic, but it was clean and had a TV microwave and bar fridge and wifi. The bathroom was small but the shower was great.
The owner was really friendly and we chatted about bears and our next day's ride over the Bear Tooth Pass.
There a quite a few food options for such a small town, but we chose the bistro across the street. Motel guests receive a discount and it is owned by the same people who own the motel. In fact the owner who checked us in was cooking there that night.
Breakfast next morning was at the Bearclaw bakery up the street and was excellent with great service.

A nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosF800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I hadn't been to the Alpine for a while ! I was very sad to see how run down it was. It still has mauve pink carpets. The room had a horrible odor of mildew or something. We had to go buy Lysol to sleep there. It also had an old tv that would kill you if it fell on you! I would advise the owners to splurge in some updates.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

There is nothing fancy about the Alpine Motel but the rooms are comfortable, warm and there is ample hot water for showers. The road beyond Cooke City was closed for the winter while we were there but this is a good base for visiting the Lamar Valley and hopefully seeing wolves. Breakfast and dinner in the cafe/bistro across were plentiful and good value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Alpine Motel and were greatly surprised! The owner and his wife are very nice and welcoming! The bistro, the restaurant they own across the street is very nice too!

And the owner is fluent in French, which can be a plus in some cases!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fc871350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited the Alpine Motel in February when the snow was deep and cold. There was only one road into Cooke City as the road out was closed by snow. We described its location as beyond the back of beyond. Any review must take this into account. If you want to stay in Cooke City in mid-winter, and that in itself is an experience, then this is as good a place to stay as you can get. You eat in one or other of the small cafes or bistros very near the hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City Alpine

Property: Cooke City Alpine
Address: 105 East Main Street, PO Box 1085, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cooke City Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of sparkling clean rooms and 4 apartment sized suites with furnished kitchens. We offer Free WiFi, HBO, ESPN, and complimentary long distance. We do have Pet-Friendly rooms. We now have fridges and microwaves in all of our rooms. We offer outside seating and drive up access to all of our first floor rooms. Guests may also enjoy our outside BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cooke City Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooke City Alpine Hotel Cooke City
Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City Alpine Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing