We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Rustic location, in a fairly limited town that closes fairly early, so late comers beware and plan ahead.
Check in ; Farily quick although not sure why it was done in the dark.
Rooms: These were big, well furnished and clean. Fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, TV, WiFi (but very sketchy service). Parking limited. Bathrooms were decent size.
Restaurants nearby were the Bear Tooth Cafe: good food, we had an excellent meal one night, unfortunately they ran out of food fairly early the next so we had to go across the road to a hotel (forget name) whose food was not as adventurous but still good. Breakfast was at Lovin Cup Cafe:limited but good menu.
There are a couple of gas stations nearby, and apparently a bakery that we did not visit.
Overall, reasonable proximity to the north east part of Yellowstone and an interesting place to stay as you are very close to the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hec286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    45
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
83
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our first impression upon arrival was favourable - we got in late as the sun had set from driving through Yellowstone. The lady at the front desk was super friendly and gave us a great recommendation for a late dinner. Once in the the room, it was pleasantly warm, there was a fresh clean scent in the room and the beds appeared to be super comfortable.

However, when we came back from dinner around 10.30pm, we saw there were some people in the hot tub - despite being told it would be closed at 10pm. When we settled into bed, we could hear the hot tub humming away - just penetrating enough to drive through your skull.

When we commented in the morning that the hot tub had been left on, the (different) lady at the front desk first said it wasnt possible, they locked the hot tub at 10pm, and when we said that wasn't possible becuase there were people in it when we came in at 10.30pm, she said, well it was the owners in the hot tub. That left bit of a sour taste in our mouths. We had a poor nights sleep because that hot tub was left on and we didn't appreciate being lied to.

Other than that, it can also be said although the place is pretty quiet for the most part, the walls are paper thing and we heard everyone leaving at 5.30am... 6am... every conversation held on the nice verandah by smokers etc etc....

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 3 - it back on to the hot tub which hums noisily through the walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
As was explained to the guest., the people in the hot tub @ 10:00 PM were the owners which is myself and my husband. We go down at 10:00 PM nightly to lock and close the hot tub. We did see the guests in room 3 and spoke to them. I guess they didn't realize it was us. The hot tub was closed at 10:30 PM by the owners. The tub can not be accessed since it is locked with a lock and also a gate. The man came up the next morning and said there were people in the hot tub all night and he couldn't sleep and he asked for a refund. I explained to him that it is locked nightly and a gate is pulled across it. He said he saw people in it and I told him it was us, the owners closing it up for the night. We also talked to the guests staying in Cabin 2 which is right beside the tub and they said they didn't hear a thing. My husband then talked with the guest and told him that we had talked to the cabin 2 guests and they said they didn't hear anything that night. I might add he also asked to have the hot tub unlocked early so he could get in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We travelled with family and occupied two rooms here for one night. We received a warm welcome from Lisa who gave us helpful recommendations for dinner and breakfast.

Our room was very clean and comfortable and roomy and the beds were wonderful to sleep in. There are lots of nice touches, like toileties, coffee maker, fridge etc. even some sweets by your bedside!

We love Cooke City and hope to be back soon and will definitely stay here again, maybe in one of the cabins next time as we hope to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

There's construction going on outside which doesn't give the best first impression, but the room was big, clean, & comfortable. The owner, Jeff, was extremely friendly and gave us a ton of information on the local restaurants & attractions. Wireless internet access is free but very slow. The TV is small but gets lots of channels. Remember, there is no cell phone service of any kind in Cooke City. There's a long list of rules and requests displayed in the room (i.e. try to take short showers & not stream video on the internet) which could potentially give the wrong impression but everything turned out fine. Only minor complaint was that we heard every step taken by the people in the room above us (and they walked around a lot).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NightLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had room 107 top floor and we liked it here a lot. Its a cozy room in a very small town that looked the same as it was 100 years ago. The Elk horn lodge is a small building with 6 rooms and a few cabins.
Cooke City is just one street and the Elk Horn Lodge is in the middle, just a little away from the main road. The rooms are not large in size but surely big enough for 2 persons. Equipped with all the needs you can use on a 5 night reservation
Rooms are very clean, beds are really nice and when the weather is nice you can enjoy the balcony. We liked the cat from the neighbours a lot !!
Its a few miles from the entrance of the park, but its also close by near Chief Jozef scenic road and The beartooth mountain road. Lamar valley is no more than 25 minutes away (if the roads are open, unfortunately when we were there the road was closed some time be
cause of damaging due to the river. Restaurant bun's and beds have great food.
We liked it so much more than West Yellowstone, we will come back.

Room Tip: top floor, west side, all the rooms looks decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, MN USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived in Cooke City pretty late the evening that we were to check in. We were planning to come into Cooke City through Red Lodge, MT and the Bear Tooth. Bear Tooth was closed at the top, we had made it most of the way up and then had to go back down and around (tip: check for road closures before heading up the mountain). Anyway we had to take the other route into town which was longer and involved a lot of switchback driving. When we arrived late at the Elk Horn Lodge, the office was closed, but they still took care of us and saw that we got into our room. This was really welcome after a long day of driving.
The room was basic and clean. Nicely decorated, and just what we were looking for. Our group consisted of two adults and two kids (ages 13 & 2). Elk Horn Lodge is surrounded by stunning mountain views and is within walking distance to everything in town, especially the historic General store from the 1800's. The town has several places to eat, a couple of gas stations, gift shops, a bakery, coffee shop, and even a very nice Visitors Center with info on the area attractions. Elk Horn Lodge is also located about four miles from the NE entrance to Yellowstone. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 5 Lower Level, end. easy in/out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayG1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at Elk Horn Lodge while looking at real estate in the Cooke City area. Lisa and Jeff are very accomodating hosts. They work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay at the Elk Horn Lodge. The rooms are clean and comfortable and you could not ask for a better location being only 4 miles from the NE entrance to Yellowstone.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Elk Horn Lodge to family and friends and I have already made reservations for a return visit in July, 2011.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveDulinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing