We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11,000 Elevation - Got Oxygen?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“11,000 Elevation - Got Oxygen?”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I spent two days at the Elkhorn Lodge in September, 2012. It is a great location if you need to get up early or stay out late in YNP looking for wildlife, particularly wolves and Lamar Valley. The owners do a very good job in making you feel welcome. Our room was on the second floor and was very nicely furnished, it had a microwave and a mini fridge it was a nice bonus. This is our third time staying at this Lodge and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the little cabin's of which there are two and in the two story building in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great stay, sweet owners who do ALL the work. Beds you melt into...this is a roughneck cowboy/ snowmobile town and this place makes it feel like home. Coffee in rooms. Internet a bit slow but who cares in this beautiful place. Good dinner recommendation at Bistro. Thank you Lisa!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our second stay at the Elkhorn Lodge and this time we stayed for five nights in one of the cabins, which was really cute, comfortable, roomy and very clean; the beds are wonderful to sleep in! Lisa and Jeff run a very efficient lodge and are lovely, friendly, genuine people who will give you advice on where to eat etc. Cooke City has a great atmosphere and we will hopefully be back to stay at the Elkhorn again very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here in early September 2012. We couldn't have been there more than 1/2 an hour and I turned to my hubby and said "we have a problem . . . I don't want to leave!" We loved, loved, loved this place. The people were very friendly and accommodating. The price was right, about $99. The room was spacious with 2 queen beds with lovely bedding. And the views from the upper level were absolutely amazing. The location was in the centre of town, which made it very easy to walk anywhere. As well, as we wanted to concentrate this time on the E/NE part of YNP, we were well positioned for this. We are planning a trip again for 2014, coming down from Glacier NP & doing the Beartooth again (opposite direction this time) and The Elkhorn will definitely be our choice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertaroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent 4 nights at this lodge while visiting Yellowstone. The owners are very very friendly and helpful with all kinds of information. The location is excellent, close to restaurants and stores. The room is clean & charming. Book early so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmatrixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 4 nights at this lodge and throughly enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, just a few miles to Yellowstone and the Beartooth Mountains. Cooke City itself is quite charming and welcoming. The owners of the lodge are lovely people and make you feel like family instead of a guest. The rooms are simple but spacious and extremely clean.

We are avid wildlife viewers and this location provides easy access to Lamar Valley, Hayden Valley and Mt. Washburn which provide the best wildlife viewing in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Booked almost a year ahead and picked the cabin based on reviews from tripadvisor. Sleeping area with 2 comfortable beds and warm, cozy decor. Kitchen was tight with a 2 burner stove, sink, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and eating and cooking equipment. The bathroom was also tight but adequate. The shower/tub had adequate water pressure. Small table with 2 chairs faced out of the front window for dining. You could also eat outside the cabin on a small table and chairs to take in the view. Dish satellite tv and wifi help if you need to keep in touch as there was no cell phone service. Owners, Lisa and Jeff, were great with information regarding the area (eateries, wildlife, things to do.) They were very friendly and hospitable. Remember, this is a tiny "Mayberry-type" town with mostly outdoor activites for entertainment. The hot tub was wonderful after a day of hiking! Probably won't be back to this area but would choose these accommodations over any other available in the Cooke City area if I do.

Room Tip: Book early as this is the best place to stay in Cooke City and had no vacancy the week we visited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfMarathonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing