We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times with Great People!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Ripley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times with Great People!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My Family and I enjoyed our stay at the Elkhorn Lodge. It was the best vacation we had ever taken, it was though time has stood still. The setting of the town and the way of life takes you back in time to a place that has long since past us by. It is a life style most people will never experience. The Bearclaw Bakery was incredible, you can't pass this up. Jeff and Lisa are very Knowledgeable about the must see sites in the area. If you are a Fly Fisherman like myself, Jeff can answer questions about the best places to fish. With the picturesque backdrops, sometimes I caught my self being distracted by the natural beauty of my surroundings. Either way it is a great experience!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    45
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
83
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Looking over my reviews, I can't believe I forgot to review the Elk Horn Lodge when we stayed there in May. We loved everything. From the room, to the hospitality, to the advice about Yellowstone. It's very clean and the owners do whatever they can to make your stay pleasant. The rates are reasonable and we just loved it all, including eating at the local saloon-style restaurant. We can't wait to go back to Cooke City and the Elk Horn Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wv_sc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great location and reasonable rates. Not far from the northeast gate of Yellowstone. Cook City is a town with lots of charm and history. The Orlinger`s are wonder folks who run this establishment and they go that extra mile to make you feel comfortable. This town is still in the wilderness so don`t expect wifi or cell phone service. It is my nephew`s favorite hotel to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is an older property, but the owners have gone to great lengths to make this a really nice place. The bathrooms are small, it the bedroom was large with a recliner, small fridge. Beds were comfy, de or was great. Be sure to walk around Cooke City. It is a quaint mountain town. If you plan to stay in Cooke City, call first. There are only a few hotels and a few places to eat. New would stay at the Elkhorn again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Very quiet on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tntravlers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent the night here (based on reviews on this site). We had room #3 which was fine. No one used the hot tub so noise wasn't an issue. I lost $1 in the pay phone (still waiting for my refund from the phone company) but when I asked, the owner let me use their phone to call long distance, no charge. Lisa (the other owner, I think) was very friendly with suggestions for food and hiking locations, so many that we'll have to keep some for next time!

The room was smallish, but clean, though the carpet felt old. The couch was helpful for organizing our stuff for hiking. The beds were really nice! There was refrigerator and coffee machine and they found me lots of tea b/c I can't drink caffeinated coffee. We also appreciated the wi-fi which worked well enough for our needs. All in all, it's a great in and out hotel. You shouldn't be spending too much time inside anyway!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiledoctorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I spent two days at the Elkhorn Lodge in September, 2012. It is a great location if you need to get up early or stay out late in YNP looking for wildlife, particularly wolves and Lamar Valley. The owners do a very good job in making you feel welcome. Our room was on the second floor and was very nicely furnished, it had a microwave and a mini fridge it was a nice bonus. This is our third time staying at this Lodge and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the little cabin's of which there are two and in the two story building in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great stay, sweet owners who do ALL the work. Beds you melt into...this is a roughneck cowboy/ snowmobile town and this place makes it feel like home. Coffee in rooms. Internet a bit slow but who cares in this beautiful place. Good dinner recommendation at Bistro. Thank you Lisa!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing