We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When I called to make our reservation, I spoke with Lisa, and she was very helpful. She anticipated that many people arrive into Cooke City late after a long day in the park and said late arrivals were no problem. We rented one of the cabins and it was clean and comfortable. The futon, which was occupied by my son, wasn't the greatest, but he made due. Jeff checked us in and gave us some great recommendations for dining in the area. He forgot to give us towels for the hot tub, but we were barely finished carrying our suitcases in, and Lisa was knocking on our door with the towels! The hot tub was great and definitely an added bonus. I only wish the hot tub hours could be extended from 9 to 10, as we didn't get to use it our last night because of the early closure. I would definitely recommend this family-friendly place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for bringing to our attention that the Futon wasn't the greatest! If customers do not inform us, we do not know if there is a problem! Since you enlightened us, we just purchased a foam topper for it! We want our guests to sleep comfortably! Sorry, but we are not able to keep the hot tub open until 10:00. Some guests like to retire early and we do not want to disturb anyone with hot tub activity so it is locked so no one can get in it after 9:00. Thanks for the kind words and also for the tip on the futon! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    49
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
87
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Elk Horn Lodge for 5 nights while doing day trips into Yellowstone and on the Beartooth Scenic Highway. It's located very conveniently to the NE entrance to the park. Jeff & Lisa add the personal touch, making us feel at home & taking the time to chat & make recommendations. Our room was basic but clean & comfortable - it suited our needs just fine. We loved the low key vibe about the lodge & the town, as well as the friendliness of everyone. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1200Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for choosing the Elk Horn Lodge as your base camp while touring Yellowstone! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our "Coolest Small Town In America!" Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mc Farland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here while on a trip West to Yellowstone via Billings, Montana. The drive from Red Lodge, MT to Cooke City is really awesome - the Beartooth Range. Staying at Elk Horn Lodge was also really nice. The following day we were scheduled for an activity in Yellowstone, otherwise we well might have stayed a second night. facilities were nice - everything appeared clean and worked well. Beds were comfy. we're a family of 5 so one of us slept on the floor and that worked fine. we were glad to have the Jacuzzi, even though we were only in it a short while. After a long day in the car, that was really nice. the owners were friendly and helpful with what to find where and they're personal recommendations. My daughter left her little stuffed dog and they kept it until we called and then sent it to us --very personal treatment!

Room Tip: there is a building with 4-6 units and individual cabins. we were in the upstairs of the multiplex a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We really enjoy having families stay with us and we are glad we were able to rescue your daughter's stuffed puppy! . We treat people like we would want to be treated if we were staying here. It was so sweet of your daughter to send us a card letting us know her puppy had arrived home safe and sound. Thanks for staying with us! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The owners greet you personally and the condition of the room and amenities show that they take a personal interest in your comfort. They have restaurant opening and closing times posted and offered several suggestions for dining, tailored to my interests. Of course, one could stay here just a couple of days and eat at every single restaurant and cafe. This is a very small town.

Check out the historic and authentic general store, over 100 years in operation.

The room and bed were very comfortable. Nice decor, though it is moose-oriented at the "elk" horn lodge. :) The owners are BIKER friendly and supply bike towels in every room (car owners and snow mobilers would find them handy, too). Just ask if you need more. The wifi signal is powerful, which was a plus for using Talkatone. There is NO cell signal anywhere in town. So plan on using one of the pay phones around town or using a wifi phone app on a smart phone.

At just under $100 with the tax figured in, this was a fair price for the high season in this area.

Room Tip: Consider the noise of clunky boots on the deck above if you get a first floor room. Not too much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are so glad you noticed that we take personal pride in our rooms and amenities! That is the greatest compliment we can receive! We really appreciate it! Thanks for being our guest and talking time to write us a review! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed a few days in one of their very nice, big, cozy, quiet and very clean cabins. The owners are helpful and friendly... they make you feeling at home.
When in the area...don't pass that lodge, but stay there!
Well, that's it...no more words, it's even a great place with nice people...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elk Horn Lodge in Cozy Cabin #2! Cabin #2 is located beside the hot tub and is considered "HOME" to some of our repeat customers! We are so glad you felt at home too! As owners that is the nicest compliment that we can receive. Thanks so much for taking time to give us a review! Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well we were told Cooke City would be an authentic experience but this was something else! A genuine throw back to times gone by - we expected gunslingers or prospectors to turn up for breakfast at a local saloon . The satnav said we had arrived but Cooke City must be the smallest town we have ever been in (a one horse town?) and we are from England for goodness sake where we are used to small.
Elk Horn Lodge was our first stop on our long journey around Yosemite and a good introduction to smaller lodges with personal service. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom and lots of hot water in the shower. The beds were comfortable and the microwave and fridge useful if you bought food or drink at the only authentic groceries store on the main street. Sold everything!! The owner of Elk Horn Lodge advised us of places to eat just up the road (only about one hundred yards cos you would have been out of town if you had gone much further!!) and the food was great!
Overall we had a unique and great experience to introduce us to the whole area, so thanks to the owners of the Lodge and keep up the great work. We would not change a thing about our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are not only a small town but we are the "Coolest Small Town In America"! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Cooke City and also at the Elk Horn Lodge! Hospitality is very important to us! That is what is so great about our business, we get to give our guests the personal touch. We also do all the cleaning, laundry etc.. so your comments are important to let us know how we are doing. Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We really appreciate it! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontaine, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great place to stay in a quaint little town. The owners were extremely helpful in answering all of our questions and the room was very clean. It is located near the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone and Lamar Valley where we saw an abundance of wildlife. Cooke City is a small town but had everything that we needed. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks for helping us make great memories!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytravelers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We really appreciate it! We do live in the "Coolest Small Town in America" and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to keep our rooms as clean as humanly possible and love to make sure our guest experience all that the area has to offer! Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
1.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
145 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing