We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooke City High Country Motel and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Cooke City Alpine(Cooke City)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soda Butte Lodge(Cooke City)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rouge(Red Lodge)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lodge Inn(Red Lodge)(Great Value!)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
80
48
19
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
48
19
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe ownerlamar valleyseparate bedroomthe toilet seatsmall townspent one night herewhite fluffy towelsfudgelast minute reservationsmall storepots pansgreat little placeyellowstone parkcharming townbeds were comfortablenice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

While a bit on the pricy side for what you get, this is a comfortable, clean, somewhat rustic motel right in the center of Cooke City. I've stayed here a number of times over the last few years, and will do so again.

Make sure to eat at the Beartooth Cafe, and have breakfast at the little coffee shop a couple of doors up the street from the High Country. The General Store is also well worth a look.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is small - with a very squeaky bed. Cabins 2 and 3 are larger and more comfortable. The downstairs rooms of the "motel" are fine - as long as there aren't noisy folks upstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed 2 nights here in June.

The cabin was lovely and comfortable with TV and the manager and his lovely dog were very friendly.

Cooke City is a great little place, quiet and very friendly and the High Country Motel is now my absolute choice to stay in when I return to Montana and Yellowstone. I will be chosing here over staying in the park in future.

Room Tip: I was in cabin 1 which is on the road side and it was lovely - no noise at all!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CowgirlCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a nice cabin, but it really needs more to offer. There was plenty of room to put in a nice table and a coffee pot. The cabin is kind of bare bones. Very tiny shower.
We were very disappointed in the person that checked us in. We were just told "if you have any problems let us know". Not a very nice personality at all.
If we go back to Cooke City - we will try some where else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hey you're in a town with zero cell reception, 80 miles to the next city, it's not the Hilton but the people make the place. Bonner the black lab met me at the door and his owner (sorry can't remember his name) was the most helpful hotel manager guy you could ask for.

Rooms were not amazing but had everything we needed and were quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperDaveA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been coming to Cooke City for many years now on snowboard trips and have stayed in other hotels and rented other full homes, but after this winter i will only stay at one place. Benji and Clint at the High Country Motel are some of the friendliest people in town and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and then some. The cabins are very cozy and some even have kitchens. Not only that but they are extremely clean. The Hot Tub is one of the nicest i have ever been in, with a cd player and pop up speakers. Thanks High Country for a great place to hang out this winter, I look forward to many more nights!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews