We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great service/nice room"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooke City High Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City High Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Great service/nice room"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived late with no reservation. We were tired from our travel. Brandon, the owner quickly accommodated us with a very nice room including a fireplace with firewood. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom included very nice soap and plenty of towels. The room also had a full kitchen which served our needs very well. Simply put, we can't say enough good things about our experience at High Country Motel in Cooke city, Montana. In a 3,000 mile road trip including three National Parks this was the best motel ever!! Thank you Brandon! Stan and Ilmira Boise,Idaho.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    42
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
42
48
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived late, but the owners left a note on the door telling us which cabin was ours and we found it unlocked with the light on waiting for us. Charming, comfortable place very conveniently located for a few miles outside the northeastern entrance to Yellowstone. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here, in a cabin, for three nights and had a great experience. The price is great, the owners are wonderful and the access to Yellowstone is easy. The cabin was clean and fit our needs perfectly and the owners were extremely helpful before our stay (while we were planning our trip) and during our stay. Cooke City is a great small town and there are restaurants there and in Silver Gate. Access to Yellowstone is awesome here because you start and end your day going through Lamar Valley, which is the best place to see a variety of wildlife (based on our experience). We saw mulitple herds of bison, multiple groups of pronghorn and other mammals throughout this valley. We also took a round trip one afternoon/evening out the East gate of Yellowstone to Cody, WY and then back to Cooke CIty. If you have the time, make that drive as the scenery is amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Cabins are wonderful for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I’ll admit I went into this one praying for the best of the worst. Especially when compared to hotels in West Yellowstone or Jackson, this one had the lowest price out of my Yellowstone visit—AND we booked the duplex with a kitchen! (not all rooms are similar) Naturally I was expecting SOMETHING off—but overall the experience was great! It was right next to the helpful Visitor Center, within 100 feet to Cooke City’s restaurants and general store, and an hour from Mammoth Springs and even less time to the hilly hikes surrounding Cooke City. All components of the room were clean with enough towels and then some.

There was a mild funky smell upon entry which disappeared after a while with our candles. Despite being Verizon customers, cell reception was non-existent (not the hotel’s fault) but they had no phone in the rooms either. Wi-Fi was free but very spotty and slow. Reading one email a minute is your best scenario.

IF YOU’RE USING THE KITCHEN
There’s no good grocery stores nearby. Luckily we already knew that and brought a bunch of groceries from W. Yellowstone to cook great homemade meals during our stay. The kitchen was apartment sized but had everything you needed: salt & pepper, cooking utensils, dish soap and sponge, even a cutting board! We saved a lot of money on food. I noticed all the spoons and forks, etc were all mismatched.

MORE ABOUT THE MOTEL
The check-in desk was more like a makeshift counter and it seems a lot of construction is going on in that office—which will be very welcome. The entire right side had paint buckets and wood pieces while the left had empty store fridges. This is definitely a family-run motel and I liked that feel. I think the owners live above the office and you can see their dogs sometimes wandering the property. In the rear is a small teepee with a fire pit inside. Great mountain views rise above the trees.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyra-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ended up going way out of our way to get to Cooke City, MT due to the Pass being closed, and no signs to indicate where to turn. We got into the area at about 915PM. I forgot to write down the name of the place we were staying. We ended up going to almost every single lodge in Cooke City, and Silver Gate. This was the only place where someone really tried to help me find where I had a reservation. We did find it, and it was a place we had already checked, and we never found our key for the place. We tried calling the place, and waited on hold until my husband said lets just stay here if we can. Brandon was awesome at getting us a room. The rooms are a great size, clean, and the bed is comfy with an adorable quilt on top. I love that they shampoo and conditioner are not the typical ones that strip and dry out your hair. They have really gone the extra mile on ensuring comfort, and above and beyond to help us out. We will be returning for all future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleyRaeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed there 5 nights in June 2014 and had a wonderful stay. The owners directed us to a waterfall that wasn't our list of waterfalls to see. They checked with us to make sure we had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we will be back

Great location, close to Lamar Valley in Yellowstone.

Room Tip: cabin #7 has a fireplace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in a cabin for 5 nights in June 2014 and loved it. Great location with a short drive into the Lamar Valley in Yellowstone, really friendly owners and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and convenient. We will be visiting again!!! I couldn't complain about anything!

Room Tip: We had cabin #4 with a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
0.2 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City High Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City High Country Motel

Property: Cooke City High Country Motel
Address: US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL AND CABINS. We offer clean comfortable cabins and rooms at afordable rates. We have all new queen beds and new carpet. We offer everthing from your basic room to large suits with full kitchens. We even have 2 CROW TIPIS for the kids to play in. We are located just 4 miles from YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK and near the world famous BEARTOOTH PASS. See you in paradise. Thanks, The High Country ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City High Country Hotel Cooke City
Cooke City High Country Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing