We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely enchanting!”
Review of Triple Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Triple Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Bigfork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely enchanting!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Back after a couple of years and the place has if at all possible, improved!

Big Sky would be my choice for the best cabin!

Every meal was an experience.

No matter what you ask the staff - they will answer with a "yes" and a smile on their face!

Great experience all over.

Room Tip: Big Sky is our favorite cabin. It is bright and totally isolated. If you do not like to walk - no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labelgeabigfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
175
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

By far the food was superior to most Relais & Châteaux we've visited! The cabin was well laid out and very comfortable. The staff was overly accommodating and friendly, though most seemed to be temporary hires and lacking local exposure. The panorama was a bit of a disappointment, we were expecting the big Montana view, but only got a good view of pine trees everywhere. Don't go for any of the free wine with meals, very disappointing, but hard to beat the price. Want Chives Regal, sorry, how about J&B or a nice 2012 Pinot Noir with dinner complements of the management, had to send it back! Most annoying were the motorized golf carts zipping around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astewart999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Even though my husband and I have been visiting TCR every other year for the last 20 years, I have never written a review because I wanted to keep this special place to ourselves. With all the TCR reviews on Trip Advisor and various awards from travel magazines, the secret is out so here I go…. I will try to be brief, but cramming 20 years worth of awesome into one paragraph may be tough.

TCR was special from day one, but the improvements made over the past 20 years helped give TCR that extra push to the top. We always loved the small, intimate feel of the ranch, and that has not changed. The things that have changed are: the food – from burgers and ordinary to gourmet and interesting, with a great wine cellar; the activities - just more great things to do with awesome guides; a few more cabins – but not too many, and we’re hoping they don’t add any more, and finally, renovations to the main lodge – which just make it that much better. Judy and Wayne were the general managers for about the first 15 years of our visits and they were great, making us feel like we were being invited into their own home. Gladly, the new general managers, Leslie and Bill, are just as great, and are continuing to maintain the same high standards we expect at TCR. We are very comfortable that our beloved TCR is in very capable, and loving, hands!

And now the awesome staff who take great care of us… I can’t say enough about Catharine, James and Kristen who have been at TCR for quite some time, and are like old friends who enjoy sharing memories of TCR. Make sure you ask James for a Brandy Alexander; you will be hooked! Then there is Jeremy, Scott, Jake (a wonderful chef!), Holly, April and everyone at the front desk who are so attentive and friendly. Don’t miss Brent (ATV rides) and Dick and Terry (Selway Wilderness) for great adventures. I can go on, but I’ll stop here with one last comment – we have booked our next visit for 2015 and, as usual, those 2 years can’t go by fast enough!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the luxury cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtownGAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent 6 heavenly days at the Triple Creek Ranch at the end of August . It was truly very difficult to leave this beautiful ranch/resort. Upon arrival, we were escorted around the main lodge, including the kitchen, and also introduced to staff members who were at our disposal throughout our stay. The main lodge is wonderfully decorated with fine western art, and furniture. There is a bar on the 3rd floor which is superbly stocked with top shelf spirits, wines and beers. James is a bartender extraordinare. Our cabin was well laid-out and spacious with a king-sized bed and plush bedding. The fridge was stocked with soft drinks, and beer, and the small kitchenette was also stocked with top grade spirits. We had booked the Romance Pkg. so our room had a lovely plate of chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, and freshly made cookies and granola. We participated in daily horseback riding through wonderful vistas, and also enjoyed archery. The horses on the ranch are spectacular and well trained. The riding was for the most part nose to tail, however we thoroughly enjoyed our off property ride which allowed for more advanced riding. The wranglers are professional and very conscious of the riders wellbeing. Mealtimes were another story. We have never enjoyed nor looked forward to our dining experiences as much as here. Each meal was described in a beautifully designed menu which changed daily. I would describe the meals as French/WesternEcclectic influenced, with infusions of fruits and spices. Simply devine. On departure, the kitchen prepared a lunch for us as we were driving several hours for our return flight. The grounds were beautifully manicured and immaculate. I can fully understand the top ratings from several travel magazines. Triple Creek Ranch would totally satifisy the most discriminating travel in every respect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Boulder cabin which was close to main lodge and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Paul and I recently had the distinct pleasure of spending 7 days in the mountain paradise that is Triple Creek Ranch. From the moment we arrived to the morning of our departure, each and every staff member went above and beyond to proactively anticipate our every wish. There is not enough space for me to do justice to this truly exceptional resort, but let me share two summary points that travelers may find valuable.
1) TCR provides exceptional service and pampering to guests without ever being pretentious or "stiff". We felt immediately at home, completely welcomed and free to relax and be ourselves. This unique combination is truly the example of first class hospitality.
2) TCR provides exceptional value for your travel dollar. When you see the list of complimentary activities, experience the five star food and service, and allow yourself to relax and enjoy the accommodations you will probably decide (like we did) that every penny you spent is 100 percent worth it.
In terms of specifics, I can share that our week was filled with lifetime memories including galloping through pristine meadows driving 200+ head of cattle, meeting the huskies that run the Iditorod (and holding the seven week old future winners!!!) watching bald eagles and kestrels fly, hiking pristine alpine mountains and wading in the lakes under Trapper Peak (tip: Baker Lake hike is a strenuous, must-do for any hiker) and reconnecting with nature. Every meal is exceptional. Leslie and Bill and the owners have created a place that we will return to again and again. In short, let yourself be taken care of - Triple Creek is THE medicine that a traveler who wants the best of the west needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the remote, delightful and exceptionally private and well appointed Chipmunk cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxwellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We returned to TCR after a 5 year hiatus and were somewhat nervous that it wouldn't be as good as it was the first time. We needn't have worried - it was even better! The staff continues to work with you to make your visit special and go out of their way to accommodate your requests. Food has improved since our last visit but is still not on par with some other resorts such as Blackberry Farm. Having said that, they made note that one of our party was gluten free and always had gluten free bread and cookies available. Our cabin (Aspen) was very spacious and allowed privacy for another couple. Activities are plentiful and fun...I had not picked up a bow and arrow since 7th grade, but we had a good time on the range. Fly fishing on the Bitterroot River is not to be missed. There is no question that this is an expensive resort. However, given the location, amenities, and activities, we think it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The reviews of TCR are phenomenal and create some very high expectations. The fact that the Ranch has also been rated one of the Top 5 Hotels in the World for several years running plus the USD 1000 a night price tag leave little room for mistakes.

Overall it was a good experience but with one fatal flaw; the dining room service....

Positives:
- beautiful location
- complementary range of activities; archery and sapphire panning were particular fun
- lovely cozy cabin
- good wine list
- positive staff
- no child policy, and clientele is laid back and friendly if you choose to be social

Negatives:
- the restaurant was understaffed during several of our dinners and the staff, whilst young and positive individuals, are shockingly undertrained for a Relais Chateaux establishment resulting in painfully slow and sometimes sloppy service e.g. I had to wait 45 minutes in the restaurant on our first night to be served my first glass of wine, plus a very low awareness/understanding of the menu, even for the most basic of questions
- one evening there was a "progressive dinner" on the menu; we were quite excited but then discovered this was basically a choice of 2-3 dishes in a buffet in the kitchen; not very progressive but at least the (self) service was better than waiting for the restaurant staff.....
- the lunch menu is quite limited and only changes every two days; a small point but at this level, there should be more choice / variety

This place is clearly well received by many of the guests but if you are after world class standards of food and service, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darby hotels
7.6 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 8 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Darby
The Darby
#2 of 3 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Motel Darby
#2 of 2 in Darby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triple Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Creek Ranch

Property: Triple Creek Ranch
Address: 5551 W Fork Rd, Darby, MT 59829-9613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Darby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Darby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Triple Creek Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary hospitality and enchanting beauty of one of the world's best hotels set in the heart of the breathtaking Bitterroot Mountain Range of the Montana Rockies. A proud member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, Triple Creek Ranch offers an epicurean, all-inclusive vacation experience of refined rustic elegance, gourmet cuisine paired with an excellent wine list, and warm, welcoming, five star service amidst the romance of a forested mountain retreat. Our accommodations feature a selection of private log cabins and splendid ranch homes with easy access to our well-appointed and comfortable lodge. Our lodge and surroundings feature a curated collection of original Western art and the delightful amenities of a luxury ranch resort. Here, adult travelers enjoy a truly romantic setting with incomparable scenery, a wide variety of native wildlife, an almost endless menu of all-inclusive outdoor activities and the option of enjoying some of the finest Western adventures in the continental United States. Come join us for a wonderful retreat from the everyday and truly relax in our world-class accommodations, dine on the freshest contemporary cuisine and sample the world's finest wines while our caring staff pampers and cares for you and your every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Triple Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triple Creek Ranch Hotel Darby
Triple Creek Ranch Montana/Darby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing