We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Triple Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Triple Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Our stay at Triple Creek surpassed all our expectations. I could write for pages about how fantastic it is but you would be bored by the end, so I am going to keep it very brief!
The highlights were (in no particular order):
1. Amazing staff
Every member of staff is excellent at what they do and are very genuine in wanting you to have a great experience. Special mention to James for his fantastic cocktails!
Housekeeping are incredibly quick and efficient and the cabin was spotless each time.
2. Wonderful food
All the food was superb but breakfast in particular!
3. Great horse riding
For those of you who are experienced riders be aware that the rides are only walking rides but this did not impact on my enjoyment at all. The wranglers are fantastic and really looked after my husband who had never been on a horse before. Kristen who is in charge of the horses is an amazing horsewoman!

We originally intended this to be a once in a lifetime trip but are already planning our return. Thanks to all the staff and to Wayne and Judy for their hospitality.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The 7 pounds I put on with the delicious food!! But seriously - this place could not be faulted
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
176
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I researched for months for a perfect place to surprise my husband for his 30th birthday. I live in Montana and work in the hospitality business, so I had heard wonderful things from tourists and locals alike about the Triple Creek Ranch. From the check-in process to the time we departed, this place more than exceeded my hopes for our romantic weekend and celebration.

The ranch is a huge compound that has a lot of different lodging options. We stayed in the Sugar Cabins and enjoyed a jetted tub in our room and also a hot tub that is shared with other cabins. However, the hot tub was always empty and could have been a private one just for us, since most people were busy enjoying other activities.

The staff also arranged 2 days of guided fly-fishing for us. I felt as if they only work with the best vendors. We fished with Glenn for 2 days and he gave us some great tips of things to do as we continued our travels (including mining for sapphires at Gem Mountain about an hour away from the ranch!!) As my husband is an avid fly fisherman, Glenn also introduced us to a local legend in the area who was responsible for technical consulting for the movie "A River Runs Through It". It was this extra attention and local insight that really made the trip more special than a great destination resort.

The food was as good as it looked in the pictures. We enjoyed a lovely dinner for his birthday meal and they also accommodated us with special dietary requests. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that we asked to sit outside for dinner, and it felt as if we were kind of forgotten outside. However, for other meals, we ate inside in the dining room and found the service was great. During breakfast, the activity director of the resort was greeting each table by name and confirming their reservations for the day and coordinating pick up times and boxed lunch requests (which were also fantastic).

We also loved the all-inclusive pricing, giving us the ability to wander up to the bar after dinner and ask for whatever drinks the bartender wanted to experiment with. This feeling continued with the Triple Creek's idea of a minibar in our cabin, basically a fridge full of mixers, and 5 full bottles of rum, gin, vodka, etc.

I would suggest contacting the resort directly for booking, and if you are just looking to experience the ranch for just 1 day, ask about the Montana Sampler package, which offers a great discount for those who are just passing through. This place exceeded my hopes for a perfect birthday trip and I would highly recommend staying at the Triple Creek Ranch.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wienchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We had a wonderufl time - property is beautiful - food outstanding - BUT there is no way this is the #1 property in the US as per Travel and Leisure - there is nothing to complain about ,but one was certainly not overwhelmed by the level of service - housekeeping was spotty, service at pool not consistent - you had to ask for salt and pepper to be on the tables outside - little insignificant things that would not have happened at a Twin Farms or Blackberry Farm type of property - also, if you go to ride be aware - there is no riding besides walking which can get a little frustrating for a rider - i would however recommend it as it was a onderful vacation - just not sure how it got to be #1.

  • Liked — fireplace in living room
  • Disliked — slow internet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mssfidelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

This place is off the charts. The service, amenities, food, surroundings--like nothing we've ever experienced. It ain't cheap, but it's all-inclusive. We booked the four-day package which includes a day-long fly fishing trip with the best guide we've ever had. The staff is low-key but attentive and everything is geared to "what you want, when you want it." We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — the location, food, service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, CT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Triple Creek is incomparable. The service is perfect. Your accommodations are super luxurious private log cabins in a pine forest. Inside is a huge king sized bed, his and hers bathrooms with a huge shower, a living room area, a small kitchen counter and a fireplace. On the rear deck facing the woods is a whirlpool hot tub. Of course the cabinets are stocked with your favorite beverages and snacks. You are given a golf cart for touring the resort and driving to meals. I can't say enough about the food and wine, it's a gourmet's delight. Breakfasts are sumptuous, dinners are magical. We've always taken our picnic lunches on the river. The restaurant and third floor bar are in one of the most beautiful log lodges I have ever seen. Drinks and wine are on the house. On the property is a pool, a trout pond to practice your casting on good sized rainbows, lots of horses and trail rides as well as cattle drives. Nearby, there's white water rafting, Quad-RV rides and of course world class float fishing on the Bitterroot river at the end of the driveway. We recommend float fishing with a guide for two people. In addition to the Bitterroot, there's the Blackfoot River, The Big Hole River and the Clark fork, all within a short drive. This was our third visit to triple Creek and it is just as perfect as ever. We'll be back again and again.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything, food, drink, lodgings, view, fishing, service. All were perfect
  • Disliked — I only caught about a dozen trout on my first day. ;-)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This is truly a gem....for a honeymoon, an anniversary, any special occassion--or really for no reason at all! We booked 1 night as we were just passing through on a road trip and ended up staying for longer. The service is amazing-they go above and beyond. The staff makes a point of learning your name, what you like to eat, where you like to sit etc....We stayed in a luxury cabin, which was amazing. It is one of the older cabins so could have used a little facelift decor wise, but that did not impact our love for this place (there are newer cabins that have just been redone if it is an issue for you). The cabins were comfortable, private and fully stocked with anything you could want, drink wise, and some fruit and snacks. The food was fabulous, all 3 meals--no complaints. The portion size was great (by that I mean reasonable as opposed to the gigantic portions you get in a lot of american resorts). If you choose to do any of the offered summer activities like fly fishing or white water rafting off the ranch, I recommend booking earlier rather than later--especially if you are there on a weekend. Since we did not know we were going to stay more than a night we were not able to get space in the fly fishing so we spent the day around the ranch. It was perfect..most of the 60 guests left so it was as if we had the hiking trails, pool, waitstaff all to ourselves...it was true relaxation. It is worth the trip! I highly recommend it.....very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rcs_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithtown, ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

I have waited this long to write a review because, selfishly, I wanted to keep this resort a secret. It is such a top-class accommodation, you want to keep the place all to yourself.

The service is unbelieveable - your wish is their command. The entire staff goes out of its way to make you feel at home. The meals are to die for, the cabins are luxurious, the activities are numerous. I was 63 years old, and, for the first time in forty years, hopped on a horse and went riding every day of my stay. The views on the ride were dazzling! My husband enjoyed fishing daily on the trout pond - staying at Triple Creek Ranch is pure heaven - classy but casual - a must-have experience. Go see it for yourself - you won't be sorry.

We'll be going back this June. Can't wait.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eloisejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darby hotels
7.6 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 8 in Darby
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Darby
The Darby
#2 of 3 in Darby
23 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bitterroot River Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Motel Darby
#2 of 2 in Darby
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Triple Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Creek Ranch

Property: Triple Creek Ranch
Address: 5551 W Fork Rd, Darby, MT 59829-9613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Darby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Darby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Triple Creek Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary hospitality and enchanting beauty of one of the world's best hotels set in the heart of the breathtaking Bitterroot Mountain Range of the Montana Rockies. A proud member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, Triple Creek Ranch offers an epicurean, all-inclusive vacation experience of refined rustic elegance, gourmet cuisine paired with an excellent wine list, and warm, welcoming, five star service amidst the romance of a forested mountain retreat. Our accommodations feature a selection of private log cabins and splendid ranch homes with easy access to our well-appointed and comfortable lodge. Our lodge and surroundings feature a curated collection of original Western art and the delightful amenities of a luxury ranch resort. Here, adult travelers enjoy a truly romantic setting with incomparable scenery, a wide variety of native wildlife, an almost endless menu of all-inclusive outdoor activities and the option of enjoying some of the finest Western adventures in the continental United States. Come join us for a wonderful retreat from the everyday and truly relax in our world-class accommodations, dine on the freshest contemporary cuisine and sample the world's finest wines while our caring staff pampers and cares for you and your every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Triple Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triple Creek Ranch Hotel Darby
Triple Creek Ranch Montana/Darby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing