We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great time at the ranch”
Review of Triple Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Triple Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great time at the ranch”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This was our second time at Triple Creek Ranch and nothing has changed. Everything was wonderful. We will go back next year too. My only concern is the manager of the ranch is retiring. We are hoping that nothing changes.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyfish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
175
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Great location for winter travel. The nearby ski mountain, Lost Trail, is a hidden gem if you enjoy uncrowded slopes with good snow. A quality cross-country ski area is also in the vicinity, though we didn't make it there. The staff makes the resort the place it is, cheerfully fulfilling any request. For instance, on request they set up an impromptu tour of the neighboring CB Ranch (same owner at TCR) allowing us to see the new calves that had just been born over the past couple days. Lots of wildlife in the area to see, from an elk herd resident on the property to white-tailed deer, bald eagles, and others. Food and drinks are all inclusive and are of excellent quality. You do not go hungry at TCR. Cabins were nice and homey, stayed in one with a jacuzzi on the deck and a working fireplace. If I had to make a negative comment (admittedly minor), the cabin decor might benefit from a refreshing, though one of the tv's in our cabin was new and had a blu-ray player (they have a fairly extensive DVD library of popular movies). The wireless internet connection (believe is DSL) is also a bit slow, but you are out in the middle of nowhere. Also wouldn't be upset if they offered twice-daily room cleaning. So given those very minor items, the rest of the stay is all upside, from the staff to the food to the available activities like free horse rides. Guests seem friendly as well. Will definitely try to get back to check out another season, or perhaps make TCR a regular winter destination.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jma5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

This is a great place to visit! Husband and I went for my birthday and I could not have had a better time. This luxury, all inclusive boutique resort had great food, wine and drinks. The service was exceptional and everyone at the resort was so nice and accommodating. Our trip was enhanced by the company we kept at the resort –we were fortunate to have met some great people that were visiting at the same time. For a special dinner, we enjoyed a multi-course dinner at the “chef’s table” which included wine pairings (this was an extra charge, but well worth it for a special occasion.) The activities were my favorite. We went for the "Spring Round Up" weekend which included a day of learning about and riding horses and learning how to rope; another day at a ranch where we rounded up cows and calves and participated in the branding process (the branding was left to the professionals, but I immunized the cows, my husband "worked a gate" to filter the cows into the appropriate areas, etc.) This was completely outside the box for us and a great getaway. We also went fly fishing which was great (this was separate and not included in our package). All in all - a great vacation …Montana is beautiful.

  • Liked — Activities, food, the people.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cbcTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Alas, I wish I could believe the story told below by the couple from New Jersey. We have been to the TCR 5 times over the past few years and it has always been marvelous. The food is good, the cabins nice, and the service outstanding.

I am including Melanie (cited in the messages below) in my assessment. Read the messages carefully ... is it really believable that Melanie said "No!" when she was asked for more wine? Unless the couple was drunk and obnoxious (I will pass on this) it does not seem likely, does it. Nor does the husband's assertion that there was a "shouting match" seem truthful. One cannot imagine Melanie (or anyone else at the TCR) engaging in such a thing. Finally, could Wayne (the Manager) really said he would deal with this in the morning? That's certainly not the Wayne I know.

My point is broader than what you see here: all people are different and some (especially those of us from the East Coast) have a harsh attitude. Don't believe everything you read -- the TCR is better represented by all of the other opinions expressed herein.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BPDorrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Triple Creek during the last week of September. The weather was absolutely perfect: 60s during the day, low 40s at night with not a cloud in the sky. We stayed in the Pintler cabin and were upgrading on arrival as our original cabin was occupied. Our cabin had his and her bathrooms, a working fireplace, jacuzzi, and a half kitchen. The accommodations were not the most high end, but completely cozy and we had a very nice overlook of the surrounding forrest. 3 meals a day were included and were excellent. A full breakfast was order and brought to our cabin each day (I had montana beef and eggs each morning). Lunch was packed for us in the morning which we took out horseback riding and during our ATV trip. Our activities were fabulous. We rode horses for 2 days in the back country, took an ATV trip across the 29000 acre ranch, and did a day hike up the a mountain lake. All of our activities were arranged flawlessly for us. Dinner in the main dining room was romantic, cozy, with a touch of elegance. The staff: I cannot praise the staff enough as they were professional, friendly, helpful and frankly loving. I would recommend TCR to anyone anytime.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We recently spent 5 nights at TRC. We made the reservation BEFORE they were picked as #1 by Travel and Leisure. Needless to say, we were a little flabbergasted that a ranch in Montana (let alone one that we would choose), could be so highly touted.

Of course, it is a Relaix and Chateau, which is a flawless indicator of the best of the best in small properties.

To be truthful, it's not the fanciest, most luxurious property we've been to, but Triple Creek Ranch pretty much excels in every possible way. Nestled up in the mountains, far from civilization, the atmosphere and scenery are tranquil and breathtaking. The food is world-class. The accomodations were comfortable, spacious, stylish and secluded. And of course, every room has a nicely stocked bar (all included). The common areas were really classy. The upstairs bar/ lounge in the main lodge is exquisitely decorated and comfortable.

It's always a good sign, when you see staff members and guests hugging as they say their sad goodbyes and prepare to return home. The service was as good as it gets. Within 24 hours, almost everybody knew our first names. Our room was serviced every day before we returned from breakfast . . . BREAKFAST.

The daily horseback rides, the hikes, fly fishing and the cattle roundup were among the many fun things to do.

The memory of my trip to TRC will always be very special. If you're looking for a classy, luxurious, relaxing and beautiful vacation, this is the place.

  • Liked — Spectacular location. Terrific staff. Relaxed, comfortable accomodations.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Our stay at Triple Creek surpassed all our expectations. I could write for pages about how fantastic it is but you would be bored by the end, so I am going to keep it very brief!
The highlights were (in no particular order):
1. Amazing staff
Every member of staff is excellent at what they do and are very genuine in wanting you to have a great experience. Special mention to James for his fantastic cocktails!
Housekeeping are incredibly quick and efficient and the cabin was spotless each time.
2. Wonderful food
All the food was superb but breakfast in particular!
3. Great horse riding
For those of you who are experienced riders be aware that the rides are only walking rides but this did not impact on my enjoyment at all. The wranglers are fantastic and really looked after my husband who had never been on a horse before. Kristen who is in charge of the horses is an amazing horsewoman!

We originally intended this to be a once in a lifetime trip but are already planning our return. Thanks to all the staff and to Wayne and Judy for their hospitality.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The 7 pounds I put on with the delicious food!! But seriously - this place could not be faulted
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darby hotels
7.6 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 8 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Darby
The Darby
#2 of 3 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Motel Darby
#2 of 2 in Darby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triple Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Creek Ranch

Property: Triple Creek Ranch
Address: 5551 W Fork Rd, Darby, MT 59829-9613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Darby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Darby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Triple Creek Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary hospitality and enchanting beauty of one of the world's best hotels set in the heart of the breathtaking Bitterroot Mountain Range of the Montana Rockies. A proud member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, Triple Creek Ranch offers an epicurean, all-inclusive vacation experience of refined rustic elegance, gourmet cuisine paired with an excellent wine list, and warm, welcoming, five star service amidst the romance of a forested mountain retreat. Our accommodations feature a selection of private log cabins and splendid ranch homes with easy access to our well-appointed and comfortable lodge. Our lodge and surroundings feature a curated collection of original Western art and the delightful amenities of a luxury ranch resort. Here, adult travelers enjoy a truly romantic setting with incomparable scenery, a wide variety of native wildlife, an almost endless menu of all-inclusive outdoor activities and the option of enjoying some of the finest Western adventures in the continental United States. Come join us for a wonderful retreat from the everyday and truly relax in our world-class accommodations, dine on the freshest contemporary cuisine and sample the world's finest wines while our caring staff pampers and cares for you and your every desire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Triple Creek Ranch Hotel Darby
Triple Creek Ranch Montana/Darby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing