We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place near Glacier NP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacobson's Cottages
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I must admit, we were initially a bit skeptical about this place when we were booking. The booking was over the phone and got no confirmation email and no deposit was held on my card. We checked in quite late and the lady at the front desk was very helpful. We got a nice cottage, which although not fancy and upmarket as chain hotels, was very very clean and comfortable. The heater worked great in the night and the bed was good. TV was old and didn't have many channels but in a place so close to such a beautiful NP one really should not need a TV. There was a small cafe and a local store nearby and we walked down there to have some hucckleberry ice-cream later that evening. Good old small town America. Very safe, warm and hospitable people. Great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Good place to stay when exploring Glacier National Park but do note this town is not exactly near the park (though very near the park lodge which is worth seeing). The road between here and Glacier is both breathtaking and a bit of a thriller with steep curves over a mountain drop and cows walking out wherever they please. (the road scared me but was an unheralded highlight of our trip). The room was clean. Many commented on showers, mine was hot and taken at night. The other shower was "hot with some mild fluctuations" taken in the morning. Everything was clean and there were no odd smells. Bed mattress was dumpy and not exactly comfy but tolerable for a night. Ashtrays in the room do not inspire confidence in a no smoking policy and struck as as odd. Still, very nice proprietors!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluntrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

In defiance of State of Montana law, none of the rooms are labeled smoking/nonsmoking. Our reservation was for a non-smoking room. It was not marked and had an ashtray right by the bed. Our room REEKED of Pinesol when we checked in, so much so that the kids had to sit outside while we aired it out with a fan. The owner (who is a smoker) blamed it on her new cleaners. As the odor of Pinesol wore off, we smelled the smoke. Though the bedding was clean, the beds, the furniture, and somehow even the bathroom smelled of smoke. The older owner was very nice, but as a heavy smoker, she just did not understand about allergies and sensitivities. She said all of the rooms were "aired out" daily. Though the kitchenette room was a great value and clean in other ways, I recommend spending a bit more money and staying in the park proper where you will enjoy nature and a true vacation ambience. It was not worth the headaches and post-nasal drips to put up with the smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is how things should be...personalized, friendly, and hard working people taking care of you...not someone getting paid lower wages who are just 'there to do a job & go home'. They really, truly care how your day went and want to help you be sure your tomorrow is just as good if not better. What more could you ask for? Love this place, it was so homey and clean. The owners were amazing, so friendly and just great people. They went out of their way to be helpful, you should listen to the recommendations she gives for food, views, etc, she knows her stuff! The cottages looked small, but in actuality were quite roomy and were very, very clean. I really just can't say enough good things about this little piece of the world!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempestDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The folks were very pleasant: Mrs. Anderson was very nice and Mr. Anderson was washing the dishes when I arrived. And the dogs were friendly--at least one was, the other was polite but reserved. This is clean, well-kept facilty with no frills-for example, no coffee maker. The two restaurants and the store are 100 feet away for coffee, and good coffee, too. The beds were fair but not super. If you are looking for a basic, simple place for the east side of Glacier Nat. Park, this works well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColbertGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Love Jacobson's. I have been staying there for years with not one problem. Great value compared to other overpriced lodges. View is great, owners are friendly, place is clean and very close to the things that one is at Glacier to see. Just up the road a few miles is the Two Medicine area inside the park which is one of the great attractions to he park and could be missed by using only the main entrances via The Trail to the Sun. If you are a fly fisherman is simply does not get better than the Blackfeet Lakes. Hire a guide and enjoy some of the best fishing in the world. Jacobson's even allow us to use their deep free to keep the fish until we leave. I have travels all over the world and this is one of my favorite places that I return to year after year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are use to staying at upscale hotels, then Jacobson's Cottages is not for you. But if you are into small Mom & Pop motels that are bit outdated and a great value then this is it. We stayed in cabin 3. The room was dated, but very clean and spacious. No shampoo or lotions or flat screen TV, but comfortable bedding and soft towels and just right for our 1 night stay. The bedding and decor of the room reminded me of my Grandma's house. The location was perfect for exploring the eastern side of Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mlo1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.7 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
254 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobson's Cottages

Address: 1204 Highway 49, P.O. Box 216, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: £34 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobson's Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Jacobson's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobson`s Cottages Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Motel East Glacier Park
Jacobson's Cottages East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing