We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, convenient, and inexpensive place to stay.”
Review of The Brown House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brown House
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
302 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Cute, convenient, and inexpensive place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had room #2 for two nights and we loved it. Easy walking distance from the bakery across the street, Serrano's a block down the street, and Glacier Park Trading Co. and other businesses and restaurants. Our room was large and had lots of space and hooks for all our hiking gear and clothes. The bathroom was very nice and spacious as well. We were very happy with the window A/C unit, as it can get smoking hot in the Glacier area during the day, although it cooled off at night. The Wi-Fi wasn't active when we were there, but we could pick up the bakery Wi-Fi if we went outside. The TV reception was great as well. The blue carpeting was a little dirty, but that's typical in places that see a lot of hiking boot traffic. My one recommendation would be a ceiling fan over the bed, which might reduce A/C use, at least at night. Also, check out the hand made pottery available for sale in the office.

P.S. I managed to somehow lose our room key at a restaurant we went to one night. I explained the situation to the owner/operator and he was very understanding, even though it would require him to change the lock if the key wasn't found. We went back to the restaurant the next day and someone had found the key when they cleaned up at night. Our dealings with the owner could not have been more pleasant.

Room Tip: This is a small town, I don't think there is a bad room. #2 served us well though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Brown house with relatives last week. The accommodations are surprisingly spacious and cozy. It appears that all the rooms have all been renovated recently, and everything is new and clean. The owners clearly take pride in their lodgings. Nice area to sit outside the room or in back. Minor complaint--there is no ice (have to buy large bags at the store in town) and no shampoo--this is something most people don't travel with these days, because it is provided everywhere. Overall, a great experience and very convenient to town and Glacier Park. The owners are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-TAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this lodging in East Glacier on Tripadvisor's recommendations. It's a B & B without the breakfast. We were NOT disappointed! The lodging is disguised a little. The name over the door to register says, The Brown House Pottery. It looks like a brown house, not a place to sleep overnight. SUPRISE! We stayed here close to the end of a wonderful Glacier National Park and Banff vacation. Room 3, at The Brown House (Pottery), had the most views of the surrounding mountains than any other lodging we booked! It was very easy to see if there was going to be a good sunrise OR a good sunset. (The view does include some "urban", but you have a birds eye view over the neighboring roofs.)

The room was very, very, very, clean and nicely decorated. (We brought a second plastic outside chair inside from the tiny deck, for me, as there was only one wicker chair in the room for the both of us. My wife said I should check the chair for bugs. I checked and the bottom of the chair was as clean as the top!) The check in counter was a very pleasant surprise. It looked like a museum with pottery for sale on the side. Terry was very helpful when I had trouble hooking up with their Wi-Fi. (Wi-Fi does work in room 3.) I wish I could have thanked our host(s) upon our departure, but we are early risers and always got back to the room late.

Some reviews mentioned the night time train noise. We did not find this a problem. We had the windows open all night and only heard a night train one time, in two nights. No horns, just the moving train. If you would rather hear the air conditioner noise, turn it on. We enjoyed the fresh air.

DO NOT judge this lodging by it's cover. Room 3 was very comfortable! I would highly recommend this lodging if you are in East Glacier. The East Glacier Lodge is a very easy walk form the Brown House. Make sure you eat breakfast at the Two Medicine Grill. (This is another review.)

Ted & Lee ANN

Room Tip: Book early and request room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Brown House is one of those unexpected hidden gems, This property although rustic on the outside boasts beautiful, very clean,wood paneled rooms with lovely bathroom and furnishings. The owners are very friendly and hospitable. The location is absolutely ideal. The price is very reasonable.
I would put the Brown House at the very top of my list for Glacier Park accommodation. You will not be disappointed. This place is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early August on our 25th Anniversary getaway. We didn't know what to expect and as we drove into the town of East Glacier we wondered if maybe we had made a bad decision. From the outside, the Brown House looked like nothing special. The "office" is the pottery shop of owners Terry & Suzanne. After chatting with them, we moved in to our room. What a pleasant surprise! The room was very nice; rustic looking but completely new looking. A steal for the price.

The town of East Glacier is about a 35 minute drive to the main entrance to Glacier National Park. But don't let that discourage you. We were there for 4 days and were awed by the sights on the drive each day. From rising mountains to free-range cattle, it was the most enjoyable 35 minutes in a car.

The town of East Glacier is quite small but also quite quaint. Nice places to eat and quiet at night. We especially liked the breakfasts at Luna's restaurant before our drive to the Park each morning.

We hope to make the trip to Glacier again and will definitely stay at the Brown House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Don't let the rather rickety appearance on driving up deter you. Although this isn't strictly a B&B (no breakfast) it was quirky, quaint and charming. We got room 3, which was located upstairs. Huge room with nice, big bathroom. Owners are artists (husband is potter) so many furnishings (lamps, trays) are his work and you can buy pottery and local paintings in the main room. Right "downtown" (which isn't much) and some good restaurants nearby. We walked under the train tracks and visited the huge lodge. There's not a lot to East Glacier but it really grew on me.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms but room 3 was really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieKay530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
312 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are fortunate enough to have found this place and heeded the reviews, you already know. If you are looking for a special experience that cannot be duplicated, East Glacier Park is a unique place, but The Brown House is a stay that is something special.

Clean as a whistle and so charming, these wonderful rooms will leave a smile on your face from the minute you arrive till the moment you leave. Take a while to peruse the interesting shop while you check in, you will have time as no one up here is in a hurry. Don't let the cat in the room, he lives with the owners, but he thinks he owns the place.

The rooms are totally modern, but so rustically charming that the result is an experience you won't soon forget. Park your car and forget it if you need to eat, Serrano's is a few steps away and the Two Medicine Cafe will provide a breakfast that will last you through the day.

East Glacier Park is close to Two Medicine and not far from St. Mary's and the park entrance, so this is a great place to stay to see Glacier.

I cannot recommend this place enough, it is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goatesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown House

Property: The Brown House
Address: 402 Washington St, PO Box 43, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Brown House Hotel East Glacier Park
The Brown House East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing