We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across from the Amtrak station...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circle R Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Circle R Motel
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Across from the Amtrak station...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Circle "R" Motel is located right on Hwy 2, across from Amtrak Station. The noise level is tolerable, although coming to the National Park, one expects some peace and quiet.

The room itself was quite spacious and clean, microwave, fridge, coffee machine, hair dryer, wall A/C - everything worked; nice hot shower (but it looked like someone used shower curtain to wipe dirty boots).

There was an ironing board on a wall but no iron which sort of denies the purpose.

I liked the mattress, pillows were not bad either, towels clean and thick.
Walls, on opposite, are thin, you can hear your neighbors quite well.
Room was dark, there were three lamps but still not enough light. Wi-Fi signal was better on a parking lot than in my room.
No clue about TV - do no watch it and do not care, but there is a large screen TV in a room, with dish programming.

There are some restaurants and cafes right next door, did not have a chance to check them out.

Now, about service - people are nice and trying to be helpful, but management sucks. If you arrive after dark, make sure you give advance notice, because otherwise the office will be locked, and since there is no cell service in the area, its not very likely you'll be able to call to check in. I was lucky that the guy accidentally heard me knocking the door, otherwise I'd be spending night elsewhere.

There were no hangers in the room, it took few reminders to get them. Missing light bulb at the room entrance - asked for it but in three days still no bulb. No handle at the hallway door, need to open and close the door using a hole where the handle suppose to go.

Overall, it was not perfect but still pretty good. I would give it a higher score if not for the price tag. At $50-70, it would be OK, but at around $100 per night, one has higher expectations.

Perhaps, owners believe they can charge premium without providing proper level of service because of the location.

Room Tip: Not sure there are quiet rooms in this motel - all of them face highway and railroad with 24-hour tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo_traveller_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
20
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Not all that happy with this place. NOT BECAUSE OF THE PEOPLE/SERVICE, they were great.
Room - OK. Seems to be a retrofit of a old room.
Never got a option for a single bed, had to pay double bed rate - not good.
WiFi - very poor. Only got to work for 6 hours in 2 days. Employee had to constantly reset equipment.
Food was close by, so the lack of on-site coffee/food was not that big of a deal.

Room Tip: New rooms being built for 2014 season, maybe it will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Glacier Park hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

1. Dishonest. They charged us $10 bucks paying with card without telling us
2. Dishonest. They charged us $10 bucks for using their Pack-n-Play without telling us
3. No working WIFI.
4. Extremly poor service.
5. Super thin walls = you hear everything, and i mean everything!!!

But it is close to the train and that is good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Augustine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a Great place to stay..we had a bad experience at our scheduled reservation so we just left with no idea what to do..called Circle R, Soo very nice & helpfull, hooked us up with a Really Nice-Big Room at the Best Rate, with a Small grocery on one corner, a cute lil restaurant on the other..
Would so stay here again and you won't be Sorry you did.. :)

Room Tip: Just make a Reservation..u won't be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DONNAW20010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton Co
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here because it is close to GNP where we would be doing lots of hiking during the days and all we needed was a place to crash at night. It was also the only place we could find in our price range with vacancies.
The rooms were pleasantly large and clean with plenty of space to spread out.
Probably at least as big if not bigger than other places in EGP with comparable rates.

There was a nice, large vanity and mirror with 1sink out in the room and
separate toilet and bath room that was all very clean.
There was a microwave and good size fridge for a hotel room.
There is no ice machine available at the hotel at all, you have to go buy it down the street.
The AC was a necessity in the heat of summer and was barely adequate.

The WIFI was not working the first 2 days we were there. Others had been complaining about it too but the young woman at the desk didn't know how to fix it. On the 3rd day I finally got the gentleman at the front desk to reset the routers and then it worked fine. They should have been able to do that at the 1st report of problems.

The people at the front desk were pleasant and accommodating within their resources and abilities.
It's a fine place if you're not going to spend a lot of time actually in the room and just need a place to crash at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittletonCoBillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

If this motel were in West Glacier, my rating would be lower. However, the lodging choices in East Glacier Park are very different from those in West Glacier. Everything is relative!

My husband and I planned this trip to Glacier and made reservations in West Glacier and East Glacier Park months in advance. At that time, we did not think about any motel not having air conditioning nor did we think the temperatures in Glacier would reach 94 degrees. We spent our first three nights in West Glacier in a wonderful lodge. By the time we were moving to the East side of the Park, the temperatures had been in the 90's for a couple of days. We discovered that the motel we had made reservations at had no air conditioning. Fortunately, the place has a generous cancellation policy and the owner was very understanding.

We checked around East Glacier Park and found two motels with air conditioning. Circle R was the best for the price and location. Location is on the main drag across from the Amtrak station and within walking distance of restaurants, the post office and small store. Parking is in front and to the side. There are two floors, no elevator. As I understood it, our room was one of the renovated rooms. We stayed four nights in room 24 on the first floor with a king bed, mini fridge and microwave. And, best of all - air conditioning! The bed was comfortable. The furniture looked fairly new. The dresser had lots of drawer space. The place was quiet. It looked like the front of the motel had once been open with a porch and has been enclosed. This gives the rooms a barrier from the train and road noise. We never heard either. The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to eat, giving us extra towels, etc. The bathroom was a good size, long countertop with one sink, great water pressure and a high shower head.

On the downside, the walls in room 24 are painted a milk chocolate brown. Pretty color if in a large area, but in a motel room/bathroom it becomes cave like. Especially with no overhead lighting and three small lamps in the room. The towels and wash cloths are rough and thin. The blanket is stiff with pilling. Pillows are not great - but, not an issue for us as we always carry our own. TV is DISH with a horrible selection - a lot of the channels that sell things.

Keep in mind, even with the cons I mention, options are limited - especially for rooms with air conditioning - in East Glacier!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We called and cancelled a few hours after we made the reservation and was told there is no cancelation number. We were later charged a no show fee. I called & the owner said that she would check into it and call me back. After a week I called again and was rudely told somebody would call me. After another week I called again and was told by the manager that he would check into it and would call me back the next day. Another week went by and I called again and asked for the owner or manager and was told that neither was in, so I left a message, and asked for the name of the person with whom I was speaking. The person got very evasive and said the she was an “employee”, and that’s all that she would give me. Three weeks since I was last told somebody would call me. Seven weeks and five phone calls now….turning it over to American Express to handle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
23.2 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle R Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle R Motel

Property: Circle R Motel
Address: 402 US Highway 2, P.O. Box 444, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5046
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Circle r Hotel East Glacier Park
Circle R Motel East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing