We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore the East side of GNP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location to explore the East side of GNP”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family of 3 stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 double beds during early July. We had read reviews before making our reservations so we knew what to expect. As others have stated, the rooms are small but adequate. No AC, no TV but there was a box fan that we put in our window to keep the room cooled at night. We weren't in the room much during daylight as there's just so much to do outdoors. They do supply small shampoo & lotion bottles along with a bar of soap. There is no counter space in the bathroom, just a sink, toilet and shower. The towels were nice and well supplied. There are wooden floors in the rooms and hallway so you can hear people walking on them but once everyone goes to bed, it's pretty quiet until morning. Overall, the beds were comfy enough for a good nights rest and the room & bathroom were clean. The on-site restaurant is OK with a limited menu. I wouldn't want to stay for an extended time but it was fine for 2 nights. Many Glacier is a 45 minute drive and St Mary was about 15 minutes. Wifi was obtainable in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    116
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
75
129
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a rustic cabin nestled in the woods in Glacier National Park. The beds and pillows were SO comfortable, the surroundings magical. The best part, though, was the staff in the lodge area. Carly, Julie and Joanne take care of the front desk and answer all questions and requests with grace and aplomb. In the Two Dog Flats cafe, the maitre d', Thomas, is a delight, and the wait staff, Bethany, Becky and Emily are everything you'd want in a server. James played guitar several nights and made the whole experience that much more delightful. Oh! And the food is delicious! The trout is especially grand, as is the Farmers' Market salad.

Room Tip: Reserve your cabin a year in advance! The parks fill up well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The cabins are wonderful. Obviously not insulated so the coolness of the evening made sleeping wonderful. Fans, ironing board & iron in all rooms along with a coffeemaker, coffee & condiments, body wash, shampoo and conditioner. Bathrooms are small but you're here to hike not hibernate in the room. Room with two double beds, a desk, and plenty of room. And the restaurant is the best in the area for the price and large portions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProBBMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After a long day in the park, we made our way to the Rising Sun Motel....we checked in and was ready for a shower to remove the road dust, only to find a room full of mosquitos. Knowing that the motel was sold out, my only option was to use my hands a a swatter and get to work. I successfully swatted 79 mosquitos, 9 flies, and stepped on one unidentified crawly thing. What was particularly interesting was we did not see any sin of bugs outside of the room, but I did notice several bug carcasses squished on the wall from prior hunters.
The room was basic which I was expecting, and the restaurant, mediocre at best...... Would recommend staying just outside of,the park, or go to Many Glacier which we did the following night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater FL
Level Contributor
229 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great Location in the park and on the Going to the Sun Road. It is national park type of accommodations, older and basic. No AC, but you can prop the fan that is provided in an open window in mid-summer and be good to go. Across the parking lot is Two Dog Flats, a nice restaurant with great food, Awesome Trout dinner. General Store is nearby.

PRO: Best location to the Going To The Sun Road

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

There are very few options in the St. Mary area, but I don't think this is a good one. We were assigned a room in one of the two long buildings. When we opened the door we were assaulted by Mosquitos and I was bitten immediately. I tried to kill enough of them to survive but it was impossible. We asked for another room and were told "we don't kill animals in the park." They eventually gave us the room next door, which was not much better. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but I immediately switched our second night to many Glacier. The problem was that the doors didn't fit well in the frames and there were judge gaps that allowed the Mosquitos to enter. Either that or the housekeeping people were leaving doors standing open while they cleaned. It took over an hour before we could eradicate enough Mosquitos to sleep. The other issue was that the only wifi was in the lobby that had only 2 chairs. There was no cellular service and only one landline phone at the front desk. On the positive side, the good was pretty good in the restaurant with very helpful waitstaff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tinaindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This facility is in an excellent location. Rooms are very basic and have no TV or phone. The only reason I did not give this 4 stars is because of the housekeeping staff. Our room was not clean. One evening, I mentioned this to the front desk staff. Things didn't improve much.

The hotel is close to many of the park's hot spots and just six miles from the town of St. Mary, which has a grocery and a few restaurants (don't miss the Park Café!). They have free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
22.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
286 reviews
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
229 reviews
22.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
304 reviews
7.7 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
565 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Property: Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel
Rising Sun Motor Inn And Cabins East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing