We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't beat the views”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Being a little bit of a hotel snob, I was leery about our stay at RIsing Sun, but it was a wonderful experience. Yes, our cabin (half of a duplex) was no-frills and very dated, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the views from 15B were to die for! The bathroom was a small shower and a toilet - that's it - no counters or shelves. But plenty of clean towels were provided, and a sink was located outside the bathroom in our room.

We would have loved to have a picnic table, or at least some chairs, outside our room, but there must be a reason they don't provide them. Wildlife issues?

No TV, but we didn't miss it. It stays light so late that you can enjoy sightseeing into the evening, then we read books or played games on my ipad before retiring for the night. Cool evenings, good for sleeping, and nice sunny days, so we didn't need any A/C and used the heater only one particularly cool evening.

We ate at the Two Dogs Flat restaurant twice - the first meal was a disappointment (the meatloaf), but my second meal was good (the vegetable soup). Prices were what you would expect for a National Park.

I was glad we chose the RIsing Sun for our 3-night stay. It was convenient to driving the Going to the Sun Road (despite road work), and made for an easy drive down to East Glacier and up to the Many Glacier area. I hope to see this gorgeous park again some day, and I would be happy to stay at the Rising Sun again.

Room Tip: 15B had an outstanding view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvsBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    123
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
82
141
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at one of the small cabins at Rising Sun Lodge on our recent trip to Glacier National Park. The cabins are small and “no-frills” but quite adequate, since we weren't hanging out there except for sleeping, bathing & changing clothes. The cost was much less than the more upscale lodges. The beds were 2 twins, which was a little disorienting, but worked out just fine. The shower is small, about the same size as on a cruise ship, but worked just fine, with plenty of hot water. A fan was provided in our room, although we didn’t need it. We were not there during the daytime while it was warmer. There is also a small electric heater, and we didn’t need it either. Most of the amenities we are used to when travelling are not there, such as internet, TV and fridge, but the location is unbeatable. The great feature of these cabins is that the beautiful scenery and fresh mountain air await, right outside the door. Squirrels frolicked about outside the cabin, right up to our doorstep. It was a short drive to the sites we wanted to visit and hike. When it got too dark for sight-seeing and photography, we went to our room and played cards and reviewed our plans for the next day. I believe there are ranger talks available in the evening over near the campground. The Lodge check-in, Two Dog Flats Grill and the general store were a short walk from our cabin. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and our room was kept clean, although our beds were not made one of the days we were there. All in all, a great stay, and we would do this again if we ever go to Glacier NP again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moodblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockmart, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you're a sucker for all things Nostalgic which I am this is your kind of place. Let's go back to Dirty Dancing type era and romanticize that time period and you'll love this place. Any time I stay at a place like this I just imagine I'm "Baby" in the early 1960's with no T.V., internet, cell phones etc. The whole point of the Glacier's is to experience nature at her absolute best. When you are less than a mile from your hotel and a bear crosses the road in front of you this is the experience of staying at Rising Sun. So if you are planning a stay be prepared to step back take a deep breath and relax and enjoy traveling back in time. I did have to stop for a moment as I was reading my Kindle in bed and looked out the window of our room to admire the breathtaking view before me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Settled along the shore of Saint Mary Lake and Rose Creek, Rising Sun Cabins are a wonderful place to get some rest after a long day exploring the park. The cabins are small, but the only thing we did there was sleep.

The positives about the cabins are the proximity to the Going to the Sun Road, nearby trail-heads (Otokomi Lake Trail), the stunning views (one of my fondest memories was laying in bed with the sun setting, exhausted after hiking with the family all day, watching storm clouds roll in over the surrounding peaks. It was surreal), the wonderful restaurant (definitely recommend Going to the Sun IPA and veggie pasta), and the friendly staff (My kids would have soccer ball juggling contests every morning before breakfast, and sometimes some staff members would join in).

The negative (and this is somewhat petty) is that in the sink, there were two faucets one for hot, one for cold. It was tough to get warm water, only hot or cold. This is really not a big deal at all, and I feel it is hardly worth mentioning.

Wake up early, grab your camera and bear spray, and head out for a morning run along the Going to the Sun Road. The solitude and views are unreal.

Room Tip: Select rooms with views from the window, and get out to explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worrellj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family of 3 stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 double beds during early July. We had read reviews before making our reservations so we knew what to expect. As others have stated, the rooms are small but adequate. No AC, no TV but there was a box fan that we put in our window to keep the room cooled at night. We weren't in the room much during daylight as there's just so much to do outdoors. They do supply small shampoo & lotion bottles along with a bar of soap. There is no counter space in the bathroom, just a sink, toilet and shower. The towels were nice and well supplied. There are wooden floors in the rooms and hallway so you can hear people walking on them but once everyone goes to bed, it's pretty quiet until morning. Overall, the beds were comfy enough for a good nights rest and the room & bathroom were clean. The on-site restaurant is OK with a limited menu. I wouldn't want to stay for an extended time but it was fine for 2 nights. Many Glacier is a 45 minute drive and St Mary was about 15 minutes. Wifi was obtainable in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a rustic cabin nestled in the woods in Glacier National Park. The beds and pillows were SO comfortable, the surroundings magical. The best part, though, was the staff in the lodge area. Carly, Julie and Joanne take care of the front desk and answer all questions and requests with grace and aplomb. In the Two Dog Flats cafe, the maitre d', Thomas, is a delight, and the wait staff, Bethany, Becky and Emily are everything you'd want in a server. James played guitar several nights and made the whole experience that much more delightful. Oh! And the food is delicious! The trout is especially grand, as is the Farmers' Market salad.

Room Tip: Reserve your cabin a year in advance! The parks fill up well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The cabins are wonderful. Obviously not insulated so the coolness of the evening made sleeping wonderful. Fans, ironing board & iron in all rooms along with a coffeemaker, coffee & condiments, body wash, shampoo and conditioner. Bathrooms are small but you're here to hike not hibernate in the room. Room with two double beds, a desk, and plenty of room. And the restaurant is the best in the area for the price and large portions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProBBMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
22.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
302 reviews
22.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
350 reviews
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
325 reviews
7.7 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
795 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Property: Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel
Rising Sun Motor Inn And Cabins East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing