We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glory that is Montana!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emigrant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Sky Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Glory that is Montana!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is truly one of the most wonderful spots on our dear planet. Thanks to Arthur Blank, of Home Depot fame, it should remain as it is for posterity. The team that runs the ranch, from the wranglers to the hotel and dining staff, is a collection of young, well educated kids who really know their stuff.
There is an effortless feel to what they do, even though they work themselves to the bone! The friendliness is natural, the joy of working for this organization is obvious in their behavior. The cabin I had, The Pony, was as charming as they come...looking out on a small pond, with Big Creek running just a few steps away. Rustic comfort at it's best. The lunch and dinner bell was a call to wonderful food and service. It's not The Four Seasons, but Pam's breakfast pastries and cookies are hard to beat! There is no room service. The activities are focused on hiking or riding their 140 horses in the glorious mountains and hills surrounding the 8400 acre ranch, but there are many other activities to enjoy as well. This is a very special place, run by very special people. GO!

Room Tip: For a couple, I would say the Pony...it's a cabin with living room, bath and king bedroom...and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A dream trip. Gourmet food and riding twice a day. Great salt water pool and hot tub to soak away any aches. Lodging was comfortable and the cool mountain air made sleeping under a quilt so warm and peaceful. The views were post card perfect. Didn't feel 60 and highly recommend to any adult wanting an extraordinary vacation.

Room Tip: No bad rooms at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalKitty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I booked to return the day I was departing! The location is extraordinary, the activities were great for all levels and tailored each day to meet each individuals needs - nothing ever stood in the way of a fabulous hike or ride to somewhere different, the food was both homely and delicious, but best of all the people who worked there became friends.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khuckerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILSON,NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The week our family stayed here was perfect! The staff are completely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and inviting. The activities are available and suited to all. The food is gourmet. The closeness to Yellowstone makes it a great jumping off place to the park.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I love staying at boutique hotels, but decided to go out on a limb and try Mountain Sky Guest Ranch. Friends have raved about their family vacation there, but I found out you can come as a solo traveler and enjoy a quieter experience in the spring and fall. I was looking for some horseback riding and relaxation, and they are only 30 minutes from Yellowstone National Park, which is something I've always wanted to see.

I made some great friends during my stay (some of us had a great bonding moment at 7am when our hike guide pointed out a moose about 20 yards off trail), I fell in love with my horse (General, I miss you!), and found that I couldn't get enough of the food! My only complaint was a torn screen on the front door of my cabin, but all I had to do was mention the problem at breakfast, and it was fixed by the time I’d returned from my morning ride.

The staff we so genuinely nice, and some of my favorite moments came from those interactions... A hilarious game of hearts with the staff in the bar, an impromptu dancing lesson with one of the wranglers, and a great morning conversation on the porch over coffee with a hiking guide whose hikers never showed up. They all made me feel right at home.

I saw Yellowstone, I saw beautiful Montana, and I got spoiled rotten!

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank CntW82Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The hotel was absolutely breathtaking. The pictures on their web-site comes close to giving you an idea but lacks the true justice this hideaway gives you when you arrive. Checking in and out was a breeze. The grounds were laid out so that you had privacy, but nothing was to far a walk from your room. The main lodge was gorgeous - enough said. The food was outstanding with something to please everyone (and plenty of it). The rooms were cozy and warm and decorated with the theme of it's surroundings (would remind me a little like the Cartwrights house on Bonanza - perfect for it's setting). The staff was extremely pleasant and attentive to any of your needs. If you needed, one of the staff would come and light the fire in your room for you. There were different types of guests at the ranch - some new, many "be-backs", a couple of groups, very few singles. We met some of the nicest people (it helps if your a little bit of an extrovert). It is not really a place for singles to meet singles - you should go if you want to relax and ride. The hotel supplied some kind of entertainment "almost" nightly. We had a great time on the sing-a-long (or not) hayride - some of us even got to drive the team of Percherons(?). We were given a tour of the old school house that is on the property and had a breakfast, lunch and dinner ride during our stay - you wouldn't believe that they could still have the array of food that they served at the main lodge on these rides, but guess what - they did!!!. The scenery is as everyone else writes "breathtaking". The horses seemed to be well-fed and taken good care of. A few things that I would have liked to do but was not offered would have been some horsmanship classes or roping/barrel racing classes. Mountain Sky Ranch is definitely an upscale place - you show up and your horse is saddled and ready to go when you're done with your ride you get off and hand them the reins. If you ask they will usually let you help with some of the grooming. To try and sum this up - this was one of my most memorable vacations - Good People - Great Food - Fresh Air & Horses - what more could you ask for. Thank you Mountain Sky

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chickadee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I fell in love with Montana on the drive up to Mountain Sky Ranch. Our stay on the ranch was sooo much more than we expected. The cabins were amazing - loved the wood burning fireplace, the food was to die for and always plenty of it. The staff made our stay that much more special. The wranglers were great and took such good care in matching us up to a horse that fit our riding ability. The rides throughout their 10,0000 acres were different everyday, with breathtaking views, just unforgettable. I enjoyed it so much that I went back by myself two weeks later - first ever in ranch history :) and booked my next trip for May 2009. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to email me and ask. My name is Coleen and my email address is sadiegirl1968@yahoo.com.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiegirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emigrant
16.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Livingston
205 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
558 reviews
16.9 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
20.0 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
196 reviews
20.4 mi away
320 Guest Ranch
320 Guest Ranch
#1 of 5 in Gallatin Gateway
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Sky Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Guest Ranch

Property: Mountain Sky Guest Ranch
Address: Big Creek Rd, PO Box 1219, Emigrant, MT 59027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Emigrant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Emigrant
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 miles from Yellowstone National Park, Mountain Sky Guest Ranch has spent over 80 years perfecting their rustic elegance on just over 10,000 acres of beautiful rugged countryside in Montana’s Paradise Valley. Country charm is carefully balanced with modern luxuries, including fine gourmet dining, daily yoga classes, massage services, and a heated outdoor pool and hot-tub. With unique recreation opportunities that include horseback rides, field games, nature hikes, a high ropes challenge course, and river rafting, your children will be delighted by the inventive and engaging activities created by our energetic staff. Whether it’s horseback riding in the high-country, enjoying golf on their private course, fly-fishing on blue-ribbon waters, or hiking through Yellowstone Country, choose Mountain Sky to explore the vacation of a lifetime. Expect a warm and distinctive travel experience, which the whole family will beg to repeat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Guest Ranch Hotel Emigrant
Mountain Sky Guest Ranch Montana/Emigrant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing