We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older, but suited our needs!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsman's Lodge

Sportsman's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sportsman's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ennis
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Older, but suited our needs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A little dated, but the staff was helpful, bathroom clean, and the beds clean and comfortable. While traveling with a family of five space is a need! We had three queen beds and plenty of room. However, we didn't have the microwave & fridge that we would have enjoyed having. The grocery store was next door which was convenient!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesgalore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    12
    14
    6
See reviews for
6
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chappell, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Sportsman's Lodge in Ennis. Constructed in the 1940's, the cabins are old and outdated, but definitely cool and very quiet for sleeping. The lounge and restaurant were excellent and the service was great. Very helpful staff, willing to do whatever they could to accommodate you. The place was reminiscent of many motels and roadhouses that I stayed at with my parents when I was a child. Not sure if we will stay here again, but glad we did it at least once. If you don't stay here, you should definitely eat in their restaurant, as the food and service were top-notch.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the summer season in Ennis is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Quaint log cabins with large rooms and their own wonderful restaurant and bar. My husband and I loved it and the friendly staff. Staff were a great resource for Yellowstone and flyfishing base. Within walking distance of the main street of Ennis. Great Montano experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here with my cycling group and it was one of the better places we stayed. i liked the log cabin - it was rustic, but the bed was comfortable and my room was clean. It wasn't fancy, but it had a nice vibe and enough space and the shower worked well - very important after bike riding 80 miles in the summer heat! I appreciated that it was very quiet at night and i slept well.

Room Tip: The cabins at the back looked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This facility caters to locals and views outsiders like a vampire views blood.....you are just prey. The restaurant, to their credit, is GREAT. But the casino/bar is just plain nasty and it is run by discourteous, nasty employees who have their nose so far up in the air that there is an inch of snow on it at all times. They do a lot of "fund raising" here, but it seems like the money interest is for their own coffers....This was probably a beautiful and fun property back in the 40's, 50's, and maybe the 60's, but it needs to be cleaned up and maintained properly, instead of just slapping paint on and calling it a day...it's just awful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a review of the hotel portion of this business only. The restaurant is a slightly better experience.

I live in Ennis and would not normally stay at a hotel in town but there was a problem at home that made it necessary to get a hotel room for the night. This was the only place that had a vacancy and allowed pets, so I had to take what I could get.

The price was steep (I think it came out to $78 after paying for my dog). The room was small and run-down on the inside, but that part of it I can get over. The part of it I could not get over is the bed. This thing was like a stack of cardboard with sheets on it. I kid you not...I got out of bed and lifted the bottom sheet to see if I was laying on just the box spring without the mattress. There was a mattress there, but it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on and I have slept in some pretty uncomfortable places during my 6 years of active duty military service.

I planned to complain to the management the next day, but did not. I cannot believe that they have that bed in that room. With the money that they made off me in that one stay they could go and buy a good used mattress from a thrift store somewhere and it would be much better. Why would they choose not to improve this terribly uncomfortable bed?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Nice simple cabins with a good restaurant and bar as part of the property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterboy1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
16.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairweather Inn
Fairweather Inn
#1 of 1 in Virginia City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Nevada City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
16.7 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
17.1 mi away
Stillwater Condominiums at Big Sky Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge

Property: Sportsman's Lodge
Address: Hwy 287, Ennis, MT 59729
Region: United States > Montana > Ennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsman's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sportsman's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman's Lodge Ennis, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing