We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Great Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsman's Lodge

Sportsman's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sportsman's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ennis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We often stop at the Sportsman's on our way thru Ennis to grab a bite to eat. Usually, we are just finishing a day of fishing or hunting, so we're not looking our best and eat in the bar. Regardless of our appearance, we are greeted warmly by the staff. The bar service is prompt. Even on a busy night we will, at the very least, get an acknowledgement from the bartender that she will be with us shortly.

The people who work in the bar also work in the Casino and are very attentive to us when we do play on their machines. They can hear the sound of a ticket printing and are often there to take the ticket before it's out of the machine. Try to find that kind of service at any other casino in Ennis. It's not going to happen.........

The food at the Sportsman's has vastly improved over the past few years from diner style to a very trendy, upscale menu of quality selections. Much of the improvement has to be credited to Chef Scotty (formerly of Scotty's Supper Club) and his creative approach to the menu.

As I said, we stop at the Sportsman's while passing thru Ennis so we have never stayed in the motel rooms at the Sportsman's, we can only say that they do look appealing from the outside.

As to the very negative review left by 'brandy 1878' I feel a need to respond. First, the daytime bartender, Carey, is always pleasant, kind and attentive. Ditto for Terri, the Wednesday night bartender. I would have to ask Brandy1878 how she treated both of these women? Did you ask, politely, for your beer? Did you tip a respectable amount? It almost sounds to me like you entered the place, 'loaded for bear,' and were looking for someone to take it out on. You get back what you give, and for you to have had such a bad experience from 2 bartenders working 2 different shifts, gets me thinking that it wasn't the bartenders with the problem. Instead of having a beer, you should have ordered a double martini to (as Jack Nicholson put it to Shirley MacLaine in Terms of Endearment) kill the bug up your butt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    12
    14
    6
See reviews for
6
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

It's pretty basic, but that was all we needed. There is a bar 50 feet away! Ennis Montana is a beautiful area. The town folks are friendly and helpful. We had our Chocolate Lab with us this weekend, she also enjoyed herself!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice cabin, included tiny fridge and microwave. Bed really comfortable. Handy for the small town which looks like something out of a western movie.

Doesn't include breakfast but this can be purchased in the Lodge's Restaurant. Very nice staff on reception. Our breakfast waitress was also very nice.

For anyone into Geocaching, there are several to be found within a mile of the lodge. Good hunting.

There's a small casino on site if you want a flutter. Don't know what it's like coz we didn't use it.

Room Tip: We had cabin number 8. A very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Montana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a great little Inn. I deliberately chose one of there smaller rooms just to see what it was like. True to form it was log construction, small and dark. But, everything worked and it was the best deal around... less than 70. To put icing on the cake it is right outside Ennis Montana, one of the most interesting little towns I know. It can be on the main drag to Yellowstone, depending on your route and the side of the park you enter from. This one would be on the Bozeman approach but not through Gardiner. Here is the best part of all, the Restaurant next door has the best fish and steak, and any kind of beer you prefer. Including Alaskan Amber!!!!! The service at the bar is fantastic. (The dinning room is easily overwhelmed.) The food quick and excellent. The breakfast is equally as good. The morning crew in the dinning room seemed better prepared. I love this little Inn and the restaurant, I plan on staying there again but I will seek out a larger cabin. it is off the main drag from Ennis so it is quiet, and there might be a deer or other wildlife outside you cabin window. Don't forget to checkout the Restaurant! Will I stay there again? You betcha!!! I love a bargain! Most importantly the people are friendly too!

Room Tip: Do not forget to go to the bar and have a steak and an Alaskan Amber. The Bar has the best service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Lodge:
This summer I was able to stay here on two different occasions. Each time I was in a different area of the lodge.

Hotel Rooms: These rooms at the north end of the property, they look like normal hotel rooms, except they are a bit larger and decorated with a fishing theme, so cute.

Cabins: Surprisingly they are the same price, as the regular rooms. The cabins are quaint and cute, the room we were in had hard wood floors and looked like a cabin on the inside too.

Both rooms had: TV, cable, a fridge, microwave, desk area, A/C, heat (but we dint use it, it was summer), a place where we could hang our waders, an area outside with chairs, screen door (wonderful for airing out the room, especially if your there for more than a few days), and most important… they were clean.

You should also know: They have special rooms for pets, and they even have corrals for your horses, seriously.

The Restaurant:
Clean, curious servers, lodge like atmosphere, and delicious food… need I say more?
At one time or another we ordered off all three of the menus, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Breakfast: What you would expect of a downhome, old fashioned breakfast. Crispy chicken fried steak, savory gravy, perfect eggs, and melt in your mouth pancakes. Our food was served quickly and correctly the first time, and I’m definitely a high maintenance kind of guest. Soon we learned we could also order breakfast in the bar, BONUS!

Lunch: Yummest burgers and you can get a salad instead of fries, ahhh :) They had other good dishes there too, hamburger steak, salads, sandwiches, and a different special every day that comes with a side at a very reasonable price.

Dinner: Wayyyy better than what I initially expected. These dinners are fabulous. One evening we had the prime rib, and it was cooked perfectly, the kind where you definitely eat the fat. Nom nom nom! I saw the lady next to get the ahi, and it was cooked blue and looked amazing. Everything was delicious.

Bar and Casino:
They have a special bar menu, or you can order from the regular menu in the restaurant. Drinks are reasonably priced and the barmaids were friendly and attentive. They also had a large selection of specialty beers on draft. There is a back patio with chairs and tables were you can smoke (if you smoke) or it’s just a great place to enjoy Montana’s pink sunsets.

When we go back to Ennis, we will stay here again. It is so close to the Madison River for spectacular fly fishing, Bear Trap Canyon for tubing, Virginia City is only a few minutes away, Ennis Lake for spin casting & swimming, the golf course, and Yellowstone is only an hour away. Also, during our stay there was some work being done on the buildings, when we asked our waitress what they were doing, she said the property had new owners and they were making all kinds of upgrades and renovations. I can’t wait to see the changes when we fish Montana next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A little dated, but the staff was helpful, bathroom clean, and the beds clean and comfortable. While traveling with a family of five space is a need! We had three queen beds and plenty of room. However, we didn't have the microwave & fridge that we would have enjoyed having. The grocery store was next door which was convenient!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesgalore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Sportsman's Lodge in Ennis. Constructed in the 1940's, the cabins are old and outdated, but definitely cool and very quiet for sleeping. The lounge and restaurant were excellent and the service was great. Very helpful staff, willing to do whatever they could to accommodate you. The place was reminiscent of many motels and roadhouses that I stayed at with my parents when I was a child. Not sure if we will stay here again, but glad we did it at least once. If you don't stay here, you should definitely eat in their restaurant, as the food and service were top-notch.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the summer season in Ennis is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
16.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairweather Inn
Fairweather Inn
#1 of 1 in Virginia City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Nevada City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
16.7 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
17.1 mi away
Stillwater Condominiums at Big Sky Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge

Property: Sportsman's Lodge
Address: Hwy 287, Ennis, MT 59729
Region: United States > Montana > Ennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsman's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sportsman's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman's Lodge Ennis, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing