We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big room, nice mountain views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fan Mountain Inn

Fan Mountain Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fan Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ennis B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Big room, nice mountain views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a big room...lots of space for our 'stuff'. Very nice staff and a decent view, though not from our room. Beautiful area and Fan Mountain is a great place to relax after a day of fishing...or cycling.

Room Tip: Those drink machines make noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Whitakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nites, every nite was a terrible nite. Mattress are extremely firm, very hard on your back. Wall heater comes off and on all nite long making it impossible to get a good nites rest. Not an enjoyable stay.







  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodneyp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri S, Owner at Fan Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
How unfortunate these folks didn't share their problems with us when they were in the lobby having coffee and visiting with us every morning. We would have moved them to a room with a bed of their liking and showed them how to adjust their heater. They even added two nights to their original reservation after they had stayed two nights. So very sorry we didn't have the chance to make it a better experience for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Sure, it may be 'economy' by most standards but this was by far the best deal I encountered on an 11-day journey through the north-western states. I got a large, very clean room with prompt service in a fantastic location for a little over $60. It was also the only place I stayed that didn't require a huge deposit for paying cash. It may not be fancy, but it's clear the owners put a lot of work into keeping it well maintained and fully functional, which is more than can be said for most budget inns. Given its close proximity to Yellowstone, I'd say you'd be hard pressed to find a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
327 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This motel is a very useful stopping off point from the north or west to the Yellowstone National park. It lies on the northern side of the small settlement of Ennis. The rooms are large, sparkling clean, with fridge and m.w., nice bathroom and plenty of towels. It seemed the room had been freshly decorated, but was completely odourless (not always true of more pricey motels!). There are two chairs and a table and a scarcely worn carpet.The motel does not provide b/fast, but the "Yesterdays Soda Fountain cafe" is very good. You can always tell a good place by the patronage of its residents. The cafe was nearly full, but service was quick. The day's special was 2 eggs, 2 links,and toast for $3.50. You really could not beat that!! And unlimited coffee. For dinner, although it is pricey, we recommend the "Continental Divide Bistro". The menu is a relief from the constant round of diners. Between us we had roasted elk and vegetable lasagne, both delicious and the elk meltingly tender. The Bistro is a short drive from the motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Fan Mountain Inn is in a great location, close to a grocery and within walking distance of downtown Ennis.
The room was pretty much a standard issue economy hotel, clean but very basic. The mattresses were firmer than most. Some of the standard amenities that many budget hotels include were missing:no pool, no hairdryer, no in-room coffee maker, and no breakfast. They do have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a very friendly, clean and hospitable facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vurnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed a couple of days to tour the area. I found this motel to be a good price, clean, and convenient.
You'll see some comments on guest evaluations about the guy at the counter (manager?). I found them to be pretty accurate. The fellow is grumpy acting, and just going through the motions. So, just expect that and accept it.
The place was basic, but very acceptable. the main thing was that it was fairly new and clean. That goes a long way for me.

Room Tip: use AAA or other discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swampfoxcws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
16.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sportsman's Lodge
Sportsman's Lodge
#6 of 10 in Ennis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fan Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fan Mountain Inn

Property: Fan Mountain Inn
Address: 204 E Main St, Ennis, MT 59729-9058
Region: United States > Montana > Ennis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Fan Mountain Inn Ennis, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing