We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Glacier area”
Review of Glacier Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Haven Inn
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Mama couldn't take any better care of you. Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Huck pie. Bison steak. Yum.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickergrinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stopped in to the Glacier Haven Inn on a trip through Glacier Park and enjoyed it. We arrived in the late afternoon, in time for dinner, and the owners and their family were very accommodating and helpful. The restaurant served us a homemade dinner and breakfast, with superb huckleberry pie. The rooms were small, but very nice and comfortable, and though the trains were audible within the room, I found that to be comforting and not at all a problem. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stopped overnight after long day riding motorcycles through the park region. Family atmosphere and great beds. The trains outside were soothing and the huckleberry pies and brownies incredible. Bison steak cooked to perfection by lovely Montana lady. A must stop in the Glacier Park area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallywallywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

First, the good: this is a family-run motel run by a super nice couple who are full of helpful tips and information about Glacier and the surrounding area. They offered a number of convenient services like pre-ordering hiker lunches and booking activities in Glacier. The room was squeaky clean and we appreciated amenities like the microwave, fridge, and satellite TV, We never ate in the restaurant because it didn't fit into our schedule, but other reviews made us think it was worth a stop. However, even with the amenities this place seems way overpriced because of the annoyances you have to put up with. The room is way, way too noisy. You're really close to the road, so when a car goes by it almost sounds like the car is in the room with you. Also, you are very close to the train tracks and the trains are loud as well. Finally, you do hear other guests and weird sounds as they move things around. We could probably overlook one of these things, but all of them together made it difficult to enjoy spending time there. The other major issue we had was the lack of proper insulation in the room (which of course also contributed to the noise). If it's cool and damp outside, as it can often be in Glacier, you're going to feel cold and damp in the room. We felt that it was way colder in the room than the outside temperature, which is not what you want after a long day of hiking. The bed was not particularly comfortable either. One last thing...when you arrive late at night after dark, the lights are all turned off. This made it difficult to find from the road and difficult to unload stuff from the car. I know we are from the big city and perhaps this is nothing to worry about in Montana, but it felt a little creepy especially where there are few cars in the parking lot. Even Red Roof will leave a light on for you, so keeping the Inn sign on shouldn't be much to ask.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeptraveling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Due to the exceptionally late opening of Going to the Sun Road we needed to travel from Many Glacier to Bigfork along Route 2. We stopped at Glacier Haven for the night at 10 pm. The owners were very gracious and made sure we had eaten dinner, even though their cafe was officially closed. We did opt to have huckleberry pies which was delicious- full of berries, not too sweet, with a tender, flaky crust.

Randy gave us a good discount on our two rooms, but it was still pricey when we just wanted a place to sleep before getting back on the road (but probably the going rate for the location).

The service and attention to detail were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfquinn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The owner has a very bad attitude, rooms full of mosquitoes, rooms very small.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UsaRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy M, Owner at Glacier Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

These folks arrived late with no apology, and while my wife was checking them in, they made a comment that they may not want to stay for the time they made the reservation for. I advised them of our reservation/cancellation policy that they were made aware of at the time of the reservation. The man's response was that I was "pissing him off" while I was finally eating my dinner after 9:00 PM due to waiting for them to check in. When they went to their room to settle in, they left the door open while they were going in and out of the room, which resulted in mosquitos in the room. They stayed for the time of their reservation and when they checked out they said "thank you". They obviously arrived unhappy and took it out on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Our family just returned from our vacation in Montana and we were lucky enough to stumble upon this hotel/cafe after our day trip to Glacier National Park. We called late (10:30pm) to see if there were any vacancies, as luck would have it they did have a room to accommodate our family. I spoke to Randy, the owner and he was nice enough to stay open until we arrived! Our room was immaculate, and the breakfast the next morning was excellent! In fact I thought it was the best breakfast we had in Montana! Very family oriented business, they truly care about everyone who stops in for a stay or just a cup of coffee. We will certainly stop in again on our next trip to Glacier!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
6.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
5.0 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
44 reviews
18.2 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stanton Creek Lodge
Stanton Creek Lodge
#3 of 5 in Essex
34 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#1 of 4 in Hungry Horse
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Haven Inn

Address: 14305 US Highway 2 E, Essex, MT 59916-9717
Region: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Essex
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glacier Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 miles from West Glacier, we are centrally located between East Glacier and West Glacier.Our fully remodeled, wildlife themed rooms feature a queen bed with a full or twin bed, full bath, satellite TV with HBO, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The fully remodeled, three-bedroom cabin is your home away from home. This cabin can sleep up to 8 people. It has a full kitchen, living room and laundry facilities. We even have a great camping cabin in our RV Park next door. While you gaze into Glacier National Park, the cafe will satisfy your taste buds with home-style meals. There is a fresh breakfast buffet and we offer home cooked meals for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glacier Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Haven Inn Essex, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing