We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Izaak Walton Hotel”
Review of Izaak Walton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Izaak Walton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Izaak Walton Hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a wonderful place! No phone service, no wifi, no tv. We read a book. The room was very small, but nice. It was very warm outside as well as inside-no air conditioning either. We were lucky enough to have an end room therefore 2 windows & the ceiling fan was wonderful. A bit spendy but we had the atmosphere. My husband loves trains so he was in heaven. Even the noise of the trains going through did not bother us. We had a nice bathroom, the shower was great & plenty big-no tub-ok with us. They have made the very small room a very efficient space by using wall space, etc. The closet even had a small dresser in the bottom of it. We had a futon had we needed it. The staff were very young, but friendly. But sorry to say they didn't know much about the history or area, that was a draw back. Someone working in a historical place should know plenty about it. We ate on the premises. Limited menu but very good food.

Room Tip: We really liked our room #19
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello JeanP3,

I'm glad to read you enjoyed the atmosphere and limited technology environment. It really gives you a reason to enjoy the beauty of the mountains, and area around you. I am concerned about your observation that our team is not as educated on the Inn as they should be, so I will be sure to address this immediately, and thank you for letting us know. I'm really happy you liked your room, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    163
    68
    32
    18
See reviews for
167
233
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in a cabin that was very small, yet expensive. they should consider smaller furniture to creat more room
.
They don't give you any info when you check in about ammenities or services or what to do about check out. Kids ran the place. It was like Lord of the Flies with kids in charge. I saw no one over 22 working there. Saw saff smoking pot outside their dormority. There were gun shots at 3 am in the morning on two nights and " the kids could not do anything about it. They gave us wrong directions which cause us to drive on a ski trail for two miles before turning around. Access to cabins is tough dont take a corvette and expect to saty in cabin. Wi fi never works and no one could do anything about it. Grounds were nice Nice playroom and bars staff were good Resturante was prettt good Portions small if you have big appetite not the place for you

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fttvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Izaak Walton Inn and was to celebrate my 50th birthday. Last time (2010) we stayed in the track-side family sized room in the main building which was very nice but this time we got to try out two different cabooses (the JJ and X-215). Both were great but the X-215 was better!

The JJ: Nice features including a cool loft sleeping area that we used and a nice living room with a god sized couch. Didn't like the main entry being right next to the bed and how tight it was to get around it with our luggage. Also the shower lip was too low so we managed to wet down the whole bathroom. Also, the water heater was out when we arrived late and we couldn't get it fixed until the morning. We had a little communication issues with one the of the staff and waited two hours for a five minute fix that a second employee handled immediately. Since it is an on demand system, we were taking warm showers in 10 minutes are the fix. Overall a very nice caboose that I would stay in again.

The X-215: great caboose with a nice kitchenette and a fireplace too. A little more secluded location and a bigger bathroom/shower too. No complaints at all! This will be our preference next time unless we can get the locomotive.

The staff overall was great (with our noted communication issue above) and they were more than accommodating for our visit. They allowed us to book two separate reservations to meet the two-night minimum since neither caboose was available to for two nights in a row (although at that time I think they would have let us get a single night if that's all we needed). The restaurant was good and the prices pretty good too. My wife conspired with our waiter getting him to bring out a complementary bowl of cobbler for my birthday.

Recommendations: I love the no TV feature but would like to see a second wifi router up in the lobby area so we could check email, post pics to Facebook or write our TripAdvisor reviews while sitting on the porch or in the restaurant instead of having to go to the basement bar area to get online. There is just too much beauty in the area to go to the basement except after dark and that wasn't until around 10pm!

We love this place and will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FltEngCPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear FltEngCPO,

That you so much for the detailed review. I'm really glad you were able to try out two of our most popular cabooses! I love hearing why people enjoy one more so than the other, and it seems the X-215 is the winner with you. I'm sorry to see you had trouble with the hot water and we were not able to correct the issue quicker for you. I am glad though you enjoyed our restaurant and the rest of the Inn. Come back and stay again soon! Next time try out the Northern Pacific caboose to see if it beats out the X-215.

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a cabin at Izaak Walton Inn, in Essex, MT, across the street from Glacier National Park (but half an hour from the popular Going to the Sun Road eastern entrance and 90 minutes from the Kalispell airport). The accommodations were a bit rustic (no TV, no ice machine, no a/c etc), and internet access was only in the Inn, in the lounge, a quarter mile away, but it was very charming and relaxing. This location gives reasonably quick access to the East side of Glacier (half hour) as well as the West side (2 Medicines region is under one hour), and hiking in the southern portion of Glacier as well as the Great Bear Wilderness (15 minutes or less to 5+ trailheads). This region has wonderful short day hikes with many wildflowers to isolated glacier-fed mountain lakes. While the Inn was full, in our cabin we had plenty of privacy because there are not so many cabins and cabooses around the extensive property. In terms of sleeping, the loft was perfect sleeping for the teenager, and the pull-out couch was old, and better slept on as a couch than a bed, but the queen sized bed in the bedroom was fine. Note: there was no cell phone reception within 30 minutes of the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turning_in_circles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Turning_in_circles,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had with us at the Izaak. I'm glad you enjoyed your accommodations. I also love the location of the cabins across from the Inn. It's very pretty and more private up on the hill and it's right by the hiking trails. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you want to splurge on a FANTASTIC hotel experience, stay in the Great Northern Locomotive at this great hotel. My husband is a major train fan and for our 43rd anniversary we decided to stay in the locomotive instead of the hotel (where we had stayed before). To say it was fun is an understatement! We loved sitting on the couch in the living room, or waking up and watching the trains passing by through the big picture windows. The full size kitchen was great,the deck and BBQ was a nice added touch, and the king size bed was very comfortable. We loved sitting up in the cab which was left intact, so my husband had fun feeling like an engineer. This would be great for a couple or two couples or family as the very comfortable living room couch folds out to a bed. Granted, it is expensive, but if you have a special occasion, it is top notch! NOTE: There is no Wifi or TV in the locomotive. Book extremely early as this does book up many many months in advance!

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Debandharry,

I'm so glad you choose to spend your anniversary with us, and I'm happy to see you really enjoyed your stay! The Locomotive is certainly one of a kind, and I am glad you booked early and were able to stay in it. Hope to see you again for your next special occasion, or even if you are just passing through.

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

An attractive, historic inn, but missing many things. No TV, no wi-fi in rooms, no coffee makers in room, no fridge, no ice machine, and no hot water to shower in during prime shower-taking time. And the cold water here is really cold. Staff mediocre, helpful if prodded but not prone to volunteering information. Also very poor noise insulation.

But it's near Glacier, which is a real plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmgriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Wmgriever,

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Inn. We do try and stay within the theme of the historic Inn, by not adding the standard items such as coffee pots, TV and phones to the rooms. One thing we should provide to each guest is hot water and I am sorry you did not have any when you were in need of it. That is certainly not the service we want to provide so thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail at julia@izaakwaltoninn.com.

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid July. We had a top floor room on the railroad (south) side of the building. The room had no A/C or fan, and just one very small window for ventilation. The room was too warm. We were eventually able to cool the room down by partially opening our door to the public hallway. The breakfast was good, but I thought that the portions at dinner were skimpy. I went away hungry after having dinner. It was fun having train engineers blast their horn in the early evening as the mile-long trains passed by. Beware of the stiff cancellation penalty before making a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear wanograham,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read your room was very warm and you were uncomfortable. I know it can get hot during the day up here, and the ceiling fans, and room fans we offer help, but it can still be warm in the Inn until the night mountain air cools us off in the evening. I'm glad you enjoyed the trains passing by, and the conductors really like blowing their whistle when they see guests and team members waving from the Inn!. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#2 of 5 in Essex
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.6 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izaak Walton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izaak Walton Inn

Property: Izaak Walton Inn
Address: 290 Izaak Walton Inn Rd, Essex, MT 59916-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Izaak Walton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Izaak Walton Inn & Resort, a family-owned retreat bordering Glacier National Park, in Essex, Montana. Specializing in outdoor adventure and serious relaxation, the Inn hosts activities year round fitting any age, interest and experience level including cross country skiing and guided back country tours, hiking, horse back riding, white water rafting to slow float and larger boat excursions. No matter what time of year you choose to visit, what pace you'll set your journey to, enjoy the nature, the history, and the hospitality found at the Izaak Walton Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Izaak Walton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izaak Walton Hotel Essex
Izaak Walton Essex
Izaak Walton Inn Essex, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing