We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a large family”
Review of Pioneer Lodge

Pioneer Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights here before and after our week long canoe trip on the Upper Missouri. We had 23 people in our group, and I think we pretty much filled up the place. The place feels a little cluttered, but the rooms are clean (no windows) but the owners were helpful and very accomodating of our large group. And compared to other places to stay, it was very affordable

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank anneworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

We go to Fort Benton a few times a year to visit our son, his wife, and 3 grand kids. They also have - cats - which my wife is very alergic to, so we make a 500 plus mile round trip, or stay somewhere else. This trip we stayed at the Pioneer Lodge. We planned for 1 nite, stayed in the Homesteader room, was neat, clean, quiet, and comfortable, the coffee, juice, etc was out at 6 am. We checked out and went on, only to have plans changed later, and decided to stay a 2nd nite. Our room was already gone so we stayed in the Bridge room. It has a loft with two beds as well as the usual on the lower level. Like before, it was neat, clean and comfortable. I spent seveal hours sitting in the lobby reading magazines and looking out the large front windows that overlook the Missouri river and the historic trail that runs along the river bank. It was a very quiet, relaxing stop and I am sure we will return in the coming year.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, call ahead and reserve the "Shep" room. There are dog walking trails al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Pioneer Lodge hit the spot for a restful first night of a long road trip.

Most rooms are interior rooms with no windows but are modesty furnished and very clean. A small continental breakfast is included with the room rate. The best asset is its location across the street from the Missouri River -- a pleasant place for early am coffee, an evening stroll or reading a book on one of the many riverside benches. The only other petfriendly accommodation in town is a much longer walk to the riverside.

After a relaxing sleep, we were ready to hit the road again in the morning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After driving through an awful thunderstorm and looking for an emergency place to stay, Susie was kind and accommodating, since there was no opening at the Grand Union Hotel. Although the Pioneer Lodge's lobby and halls are messy with laundry and the front office is dirty and unorganized, the "Homestead" room was clean. The quaint town is very historic, so I decided to stay another night. I enjoyed an entire day of learning and the townspeople are extremely friendly. The next morning, however, my toilet overflowed and I was forced to bathe in a used room . I didn't expect Susie to charge me for the 2nd night, but she did charge me half the rate! How disappointing...poor business decision on her part. Don't stay at the Pioneer Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TnLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent a night in the Pioneer Lodge after camping on the Missouri. Susie was extremely friendly and helpful in directing us around the town and suggesting good places to eat/visit. The room (Lewis and Clark) was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the place was generally full of character.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Contrary to some reviews, we found our room and facilities to be very clean and with great room rates. We had a loft room with very comfortable queen beds, a dressing table separate from the bathroom and a HDTV. We love small dogs, so we enjoyed having the dogs around. They are friendly, well-mannered and lovable. The manager, Susie, can tell you just about anything you want to know about Ft. Benton, it's people and the attractions you may want to see. It was relaxing and truly enjoyable to sit outside, with a cup of coffee and a cigarette (yes, we both have that disgusting habit) and talk with the people that walked by, giving us a real feel for this historic community. Would we stay here again when we return? Absolutely!

Room Tip: If you have children or additional people, opt for the room with a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtacke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We are repeat guests who always enjoy staying at the Pioneer Lodge. Susie is very helpful with any questions we may have. If you prefer to have an exterior window may sure you ask for one of the loft rooms. Love having the river right across the street and the ice cream shop at the end of the block!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Lodge

Address: 1700 Front Street, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Pioneer Lodge is located in downtown Fort Benton across the street from the flowing Missouri River. We have 10 beautifully appointed rooms in comfortable homey decor, feeling like a glorified bed and breakfast. Each room has its own theme and unique decorations to depict the history of our area here in Central Montana. On location we have free wifi in all rooms and the spacious lobby, continental breakfast each morning, and all restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We have guest laundry facilities. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. Just ask all those who have stayed here and continue to return year after year. We are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing