We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is the place to stay if you are planning a trip to old Ft. Benton. It is historic yet comfortable, clean, and enchanting. The dining room provides excellent food and service and the walkway along the river leads you to all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PROFELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    47
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
118
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel is beautiful but we felt it wasn't as luxurious as we expected it to be. We've stayed at similar properties in other locales and we were somewhat disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Grand Union Hotel was the base for my family when we canoed down the Missouri River for four days, following the path Lewis & Clarke took during their Voyage of Discovery.

I can't think of a better place to stay in Fort Benton. The rooms are reasonably priced, the staff is friendly, the bar is well stocked, and the kitchen is excellent. It's like stepping back into the late 1800s when you enter the main hallway, with a very well refurbished building that has all the amenities of modern day hotels.

We had an excellent time during our stay. I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our second stay at the Grand Union was another wonderful experience, surpassing the first. My wife and I returned to the Grand Union after having enjoyed our earlier stay in 2009. This time our room was one of their standard queen doubles on the third floor overlooking the Missouri River. We were impressed again by the quality and attention to detail of restoration of the whole hotel. Our room had a large bathroom with a beautiful tile floor. Room furnishings were of high quality and with style chosen to match the historic nature of the hotel. At the same time, with a nod to the 21st century, the hotel's free WiFi signal was strong and fast.

After dinner in the hotel's restaurant we strolled through the park along the banks of the Missouri in front of the hotel. What a delightful experience. What a delightful overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

It is hard to travel in Montana without appreciating the history of its Missouri and Yellowstone Rivers as the "interstates" of their day. Spend time in the Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center (wonderful) in Great Falls to update your awe of their accomplishments. Once your historical interest is whetted, you are fully able to appreciate the charms and location of the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton. We were transported back in time. This charming, yet thoroughly modern, hotel defines the "historical hotel" genre. It was a privilege to dine and sleep here. The river water outside your window makes a LONG journey to New Orleans, after its marriage to the Yellowstone and the Mississippi Rivers. Sorry, I don't usually gush in my TripAdvisor reviews, so I'll end with the admission that we spent too much money at dinner here and that the town is sleepy now, compared to its heyday. Grand Union is a rare gem, like the Yogo sapphire - I wish its owners well.

Room Tip: Look online for their special packages.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Spur of the moment get away for me and my husband. The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. We sat in the bar and had a drink, and a lovely conversation with another couple. The beds were soft and comfortable. The only negative would be our room was on the street side and between 12:30 am and 2:30 am we were kept awake by the people leaving the bars accross the street. The complimentry breakfast was wonderful, very relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcwoods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Rang to ask if we could arrive a day early. As it was a Saturday, all the rooms were taken but a suite was free. When I advised that my budget couldn't afford it, they offered it at the same rate as my room. When I arrived they had re- arranged the rooms so as we didn't have to change rooms after the first night.
Wonderful place, great staff, highlight of a great western adventure

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Property: Grand Union Hotel
Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing