We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
175
56
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
56
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmissouri riverbeautiful historic hoteljunior suitemontana historycentury hotelmodern convenienceswalk along the rivergreat view of the riverhistorical markerslewis and clarkpedestrian bridgesmall townhotel restaurantthird floorcomfortable roomsroom was largefresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nicely renovated. room was great, nice washrooms. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for supper and the place we ate at wasn't great, (closed Monday and tuesday in slow season) Fort Benton looked like it had lots to explore around there and only 40 minutes from Great Falls. They had a nice breakfast, No

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We love to stay in historic hotels and B&B's in historic buildings...and the restoration and history of the Grand Union Hotel is hard to beat. Located in historic Fort Benton adds to the interest...the town has two wonderful historic museums and a modern interpretive centre, and wandering the main street, reading the main street signs outlining the history of the town and seeing some of the town's restoration all makes for a great day and a great stay. The lobby of the hotel is fabulously restored. Rooms have been upgraded and are very comfortable. Recommend you spend the extra few dollars for the larger corner suites. When booking your stay, ask about when their dining room is open (can be closed on some week days) and ask about the days the head chef is working. Great dining room decor and atmosphere. Outdoor patio is the best choice when the weather is warm...it overlooks the Missouri River. Only beer and wine served with the meals. Fort Benton is worth seeing and the Grand Union Hotel is a gem of a place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Amazing job restoring this historic hotel. The love and care are reflected throughout. Reception staff were terrific and displayed a sense of pride in both their town and the hotel. Definitely would stay here upon a return visit. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars was the retaurant. I ordered a meal and it turned out the last portion had been sold. The waitress or the chef made a substitution without ever asking me what I would like to order instead. Also, one member of our party requested a side of mashed potatoes and got lentils instead. One expects better service from such a nice establishment. Food was excellent--it was the service providing the food that disappointed us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb12150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The Grand Union Hotel is a very beautiful place and has been perfectly restored. There is nothing to say about that and we strongly recommand to stay there if you plan to stop at Fort Benton.
However we were disappointed by our diner. It was globally good and affordable. But we have asked twice whether we could choose any meal proposed (there are 2 different menus) before we confirmed that we would have diner at the restaurant on site. Once we were sat, it was an other story. We had to move to the "saloon" part of the restaurant because we wanted to order less expensive meals.
There was plenty of place in the main dining room. How would has it harmed to bring our meal in one room or another ? We felt very lonely at our small table in the corner, as if we were punished!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Was told by two folks that we should go and stay in the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton, Montana. So we did. They were very helpful over the phone while making our reservation, letting us know the restaurant was not open on Tuesdays, so we changed our stay to Wednesday to enjoy the restaurant. Went to check in and couldn't find anyone at the counter, wandered around the entire first floor... finally found Cheryl in the dining room... she was very attentive, checked my husband and me in, gave us the key to the junior suite, and we took the elevator up in this 150 year old holel and couldn't get into our room, the key wouldn't work. Back downstairs, she came upstairs, got the door open with a smile (button had been pushed and key wouldn't work). Wonderful attitude. The room was clan and charming, the plumbing was fantastic (sometimes in old hotels, it's NOT). We had a corner suite, looking out over the Missouri, and down the banks from the other window. Quiet, very comfortable beds, and a nice place to spend our 33rd anniversary! She even brought us extra coffees for the kerig coffee maker in our room!

Room Tip: Choose the river view, we even saw fish jumpin'.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews