We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Hotel”
Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Polebridge, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Historical Hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Grand Union is a great historical htel to stay at during your stay at Fort Benton. Found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast ample and delicious. Great dinnner menu. The walk along the Missouri River always enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    51
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
123
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nicely renovated. room was great, nice washrooms. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for supper and the place we ate at wasn't great, (closed Monday and tuesday in slow season) Fort Benton looked like it had lots to explore around there and only 40 minutes from Great Falls. They had a nice breakfast, No

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We love to stay in historic hotels and B&B's in historic buildings...and the restoration and history of the Grand Union Hotel is hard to beat. Located in historic Fort Benton adds to the interest...the town has two wonderful historic museums and a modern interpretive centre, and wandering the main street, reading the main street signs outlining the history of the town and seeing some of the town's restoration all makes for a great day and a great stay. The lobby of the hotel is fabulously restored. Rooms have been upgraded and are very comfortable. Recommend you spend the extra few dollars for the larger corner suites. When booking your stay, ask about when their dining room is open (can be closed on some week days) and ask about the days the head chef is working. Great dining room decor and atmosphere. Outdoor patio is the best choice when the weather is warm...it overlooks the Missouri River. Only beer and wine served with the meals. Fort Benton is worth seeing and the Grand Union Hotel is a gem of a place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Amazing job restoring this historic hotel. The love and care are reflected throughout. Reception staff were terrific and displayed a sense of pride in both their town and the hotel. Definitely would stay here upon a return visit. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars was the retaurant. I ordered a meal and it turned out the last portion had been sold. The waitress or the chef made a substitution without ever asking me what I would like to order instead. Also, one member of our party requested a side of mashed potatoes and got lentils instead. One expects better service from such a nice establishment. Food was excellent--it was the service providing the food that disappointed us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb12150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The Grand Union Hotel is a very beautiful place and has been perfectly restored. There is nothing to say about that and we strongly recommand to stay there if you plan to stop at Fort Benton.
However we were disappointed by our diner. It was globally good and affordable. But we have asked twice whether we could choose any meal proposed (there are 2 different menus) before we confirmed that we would have diner at the restaurant on site. Once we were sat, it was an other story. We had to move to the "saloon" part of the restaurant because we wanted to order less expensive meals.
There was plenty of place in the main dining room. How would has it harmed to bring our meal in one room or another ? We felt very lonely at our small table in the corner, as if we were punished!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Was told by two folks that we should go and stay in the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton, Montana. So we did. They were very helpful over the phone while making our reservation, letting us know the restaurant was not open on Tuesdays, so we changed our stay to Wednesday to enjoy the restaurant. Went to check in and couldn't find anyone at the counter, wandered around the entire first floor... finally found Cheryl in the dining room... she was very attentive, checked my husband and me in, gave us the key to the junior suite, and we took the elevator up in this 150 year old holel and couldn't get into our room, the key wouldn't work. Back downstairs, she came upstairs, got the door open with a smile (button had been pushed and key wouldn't work). Wonderful attitude. The room was clan and charming, the plumbing was fantastic (sometimes in old hotels, it's NOT). We had a corner suite, looking out over the Missouri, and down the banks from the other window. Quiet, very comfortable beds, and a nice place to spend our 33rd anniversary! She even brought us extra coffees for the kerig coffee maker in our room!

Room Tip: Choose the river view, we even saw fish jumpin'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel and restaurant are incredible. You can tell that the restoration was a labour of love. We met one of the owners, Cheryl, who seems to be very "hands on". It is worth a trip to Fort Benton just to stay in this hotel. We had the largest suite- the Master Suite - and it was beautifully redone. The furniture is classic. It feels like you are in the living room of a turn of the century home but yet you have the comforts of a flat screen tv (very large) and the Internet (complimentary).

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is nice although the shower is a little small. There is a quaint claw foot tub which is also practical as it has a shower head and hose attached to it.

Our room had three long windows that looked out over the large deck at the front of the hotel. One of the windows was larger and had an entrance to the deck and the screen was loose. It would have been easy to go out on the deck. But it was old and there was no furniture on the deck so I asked if we were permitted to use the deck. I was advised that it wasn't a good idea as the railing was not very sturdy. This is my second "complaint" if you will. (The first one was that the shower was small). That room would be priceless with access to the deck and furniture on the deck. It could even be offered as an option to have private dining on the deck (for a fee of course). I think it is too beautiful a view to not use that spacious deck. Personally I love hotel rooms with decks and think it would add so much more value and prestige to that room to have deck access. While I did not step on to the deck I reached out and touched the floor and it seemed to be sturdy - if it is just an issue of the railings I would highly recommend the deck upgrade to be the next labour of love that the owners undertake !!

The menu at the restaurant was varied and interesting but not too "out there". The food was incredible and the prices were reasonable. The service at the restaurant was amazing and not just our server. I observed many other tables and servers. Everyone was professional and friendly. A table next to us was a little obnoxious - "city" people trying to show how learned they were. The young waitress was respectful and responded to their many "concerns". We got the feeling that the servers were very tight knit - a little later an older waitress spoke to them very politely and let them know that she was their server's mother. I admired that. She was not threatening or rude in any way - but i believe she let them know they couldn't push her daughter around, which was good. To be clear their waitress was nothing short of amazing. Too bad they didn't realize it.

Our waitress was also very skilled - in so many ways. I dislike servers who are trying to be cool all of the time. These servers were just good,honest people with fabulous people skills. Here's what I liked most about our waitress (and the general attitude of everyone employed there)- any time I asked a question and they couldn't answer it, the answer was, "I don't know but I will find out for you!". And sure enough, she did. Some of the big chain restaurants could learn a thing or two from this staff.

A few final comments - it would be nice if the hotel had some sort of recreation, like a pool and an exercise room. But maybe they don't want to attract young families or business people. I was just thinking of traveling with children and how kids always want a pool. I realize that is probably not possible but an exercise room should be. All they would need is a room in the basement, a treadmill, bike, elliptical and some weights (or not) and they would be set. As well, thinking about travelling with children, it would be nice if they had the option of larger suites, with a separate bedroom. Even the suite we had could have had the area with the bed in a separate room and then a sofa bed for kids But again, maybe this is not meant to attract young families.

As far as a romantic place, it is top notch. If you have ever stayed at the Palliser Hotel in Calgary, the room decor is similar, without the exorbitant prices.

I can say, without hesitation, that we will be back. This is a lovely gem in a quaint town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxhermxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Property: Grand Union Hotel
Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing