We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful historical hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful historical hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton is a marvelous time travel into the past. As you enter the front doors of the hotel, you walk into a lobby that congers up images of the Wild West. The hotel has a lovely dining room with a dinner menu that is most appetizing. The staff are most courteous and helpful. There is an array of rooms to chose from, each with its own personality. My wife and I enjoyed staying in those rooms that overlook the mighty Missouri river. The scenery is beautiful. We give the Grand Union a thumbs up recommendation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side overlooking the Missouri River. A beautiful view! You will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    47
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
118
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gildford, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The new chef, Benjamin, is a great addition to this historically renovated hotel situated in Fort Benton. The rooms are nicely refurbished with historic character and charm that is hard to find. The chef, on short notice, prepared a five course chef tasting menu for our group. The wait staff is excellent and assisted in wine parrings to compliment each course. Dorothy at the front desk accomodated all of our needs. We took advantage of a winter getaway special that included a nights stay and breakfast the next morning. Don't miss out on this place or the fine dining experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4087R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polebridge, Montana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Grand Union is a great historical htel to stay at during your stay at Fort Benton. Found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast ample and delicious. Great dinnner menu. The walk along the Missouri River always enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nicely renovated. room was great, nice washrooms. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for supper and the place we ate at wasn't great, (closed Monday and tuesday in slow season) Fort Benton looked like it had lots to explore around there and only 40 minutes from Great Falls. They had a nice breakfast, No

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We love to stay in historic hotels and B&B's in historic buildings...and the restoration and history of the Grand Union Hotel is hard to beat. Located in historic Fort Benton adds to the interest...the town has two wonderful historic museums and a modern interpretive centre, and wandering the main street, reading the main street signs outlining the history of the town and seeing some of the town's restoration all makes for a great day and a great stay. The lobby of the hotel is fabulously restored. Rooms have been upgraded and are very comfortable. Recommend you spend the extra few dollars for the larger corner suites. When booking your stay, ask about when their dining room is open (can be closed on some week days) and ask about the days the head chef is working. Great dining room decor and atmosphere. Outdoor patio is the best choice when the weather is warm...it overlooks the Missouri River. Only beer and wine served with the meals. Fort Benton is worth seeing and the Grand Union Hotel is a gem of a place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Amazing job restoring this historic hotel. The love and care are reflected throughout. Reception staff were terrific and displayed a sense of pride in both their town and the hotel. Definitely would stay here upon a return visit. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars was the retaurant. I ordered a meal and it turned out the last portion had been sold. The waitress or the chef made a substitution without ever asking me what I would like to order instead. Also, one member of our party requested a side of mashed potatoes and got lentils instead. One expects better service from such a nice establishment. Food was excellent--it was the service providing the food that disappointed us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb12150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The Grand Union Hotel is a very beautiful place and has been perfectly restored. There is nothing to say about that and we strongly recommand to stay there if you plan to stop at Fort Benton.
However we were disappointed by our diner. It was globally good and affordable. But we have asked twice whether we could choose any meal proposed (there are 2 different menus) before we confirmed that we would have diner at the restaurant on site. Once we were sat, it was an other story. We had to move to the "saloon" part of the restaurant because we wanted to order less expensive meals.
There was plenty of place in the main dining room. How would has it harmed to bring our meal in one room or another ? We felt very lonely at our small table in the corner, as if we were punished!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Property: Grand Union Hotel
Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing