We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Time”
Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Union for their 130th anniversary and it was one of the most memoriable experiences we have ever had in our travels. The hotel is wonderful and the people who work there are outstanding! Dorothy Meyer at the front desk helped to make our stay fun, relaxing and most enjoyable. She is exceptionally hospitable and goes above and beyond in making people feel welcome. Combined with her warmth and efficiency she is alot of fun!! My husband and I will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton is a marvelous time travel into the past. As you enter the front doors of the hotel, you walk into a lobby that congers up images of the Wild West. The hotel has a lovely dining room with a dinner menu that is most appetizing. The staff are most courteous and helpful. There is an array of rooms to chose from, each with its own personality. My wife and I enjoyed staying in those rooms that overlook the mighty Missouri river. The scenery is beautiful. We give the Grand Union a thumbs up recommendation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side overlooking the Missouri River. A beautiful view! You will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The new chef, Benjamin, is a great addition to this historically renovated hotel situated in Fort Benton. The rooms are nicely refurbished with historic character and charm that is hard to find. The chef, on short notice, prepared a five course chef tasting menu for our group. The wait staff is excellent and assisted in wine parrings to compliment each course. Dorothy at the front desk accomodated all of our needs. We took advantage of a winter getaway special that included a nights stay and breakfast the next morning. Don't miss out on this place or the fine dining experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4087R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Grand Union is a great historical htel to stay at during your stay at Fort Benton. Found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast ample and delicious. Great dinnner menu. The walk along the Missouri River always enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nicely renovated. room was great, nice washrooms. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for supper and the place we ate at wasn't great, (closed Monday and tuesday in slow season) Fort Benton looked like it had lots to explore around there and only 40 minutes from Great Falls. They had a nice breakfast, No

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We love to stay in historic hotels and B&B's in historic buildings...and the restoration and history of the Grand Union Hotel is hard to beat. Located in historic Fort Benton adds to the interest...the town has two wonderful historic museums and a modern interpretive centre, and wandering the main street, reading the main street signs outlining the history of the town and seeing some of the town's restoration all makes for a great day and a great stay. The lobby of the hotel is fabulously restored. Rooms have been upgraded and are very comfortable. Recommend you spend the extra few dollars for the larger corner suites. When booking your stay, ask about when their dining room is open (can be closed on some week days) and ask about the days the head chef is working. Great dining room decor and atmosphere. Outdoor patio is the best choice when the weather is warm...it overlooks the Missouri River. Only beer and wine served with the meals. Fort Benton is worth seeing and the Grand Union Hotel is a gem of a place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Amazing job restoring this historic hotel. The love and care are reflected throughout. Reception staff were terrific and displayed a sense of pride in both their town and the hotel. Definitely would stay here upon a return visit. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars was the retaurant. I ordered a meal and it turned out the last portion had been sold. The waitress or the chef made a substitution without ever asking me what I would like to order instead. Also, one member of our party requested a side of mashed potatoes and got lentils instead. One expects better service from such a nice establishment. Food was excellent--it was the service providing the food that disappointed us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb12150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range: £86 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing