We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, but homey.”
Review of Fort Peck Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Peck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Peck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fort Peck B&B and Inns
Glendive, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired, but homey.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here one night after watching the play at the Fort Peck theater (great). The rooms were a bit "different", toilet and tub down the hall, nothing fancy would be an over statement. The meals in the resteraunt were really good and the staff very friendly. The bar was acceptable.

On the other hand, the quaintness was refreshing, the only TV is in the lobby or the bar (no ESPN but I survived). We brought our bikes and went through a nice ride around town. Lots of mosquito's to keep yourself from holding still too long.

Room Tip: First floor is a must, they have thier own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0bcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

While I now live overseas, I was born and raised in northeastern Montana and Ft. Peck dam was place visited frequently in my childhood; but I had never been in, or stayed in this Hotel. Based on reviews and other referrals I decided to stay there will visiting the area. Having been earlier in the week at Yellowstone Park; the obvious structural and appearance similarity to the National Park "lodges" was apparent. The present operators are noted fish & game guide operators and have a large collected of stuffed animals, birds and fish throughout the hotel which together with its appearance make it feel like a "hunting/fishing" lodge in the deep woods or far north. The rooms are from another time, but clean, comfortable and with a shower. As others have noted, the front porch/veranda and the lounge area have a real charm and together with the bar make for a pleasant late afternoon and early evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crittenden, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Loved it. As other reviews show, this place may not be for everyone, but we really enjoyed our stay. Far enough on the edge of the oil boom area so that rates are still okay. And the bartender/waiter/chef whipped up a mighty fine pizza.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We've stayed many places on our yearly trips out to Glacier Park in MT, but the Fort Peck Hotel is unique in all the world! Maintained & updated from the Army Corps of Engineers' original hotel used while building the Fort Peck Dam in the 1930's, it is amazing!
Old, yes, yet with a charm and cozy-ness that enfolds you from the moment you walk in until you reluctantly leave. The small community is charming in itself, but the Hotel, with its vintage bar, cozy fireplace/sitting area & basic but spotless rooms (some have showers, some have a bath down the hall but all are clean, quiet & like nothing else you'll see anywhere). The on-site dining room has limited hours, but coffee is on early & the front porch is wide, with log theme rockers, etc...you can sit there with a drink & talk or not, meet other guests, or just ponder the effort it took to not only build the dam but construct this building (hotel) itself that stands the test of time. It is on Highway 2, on the way to Glacier, on the Highline plains road; avoid the cookie cutter hotels on the Interstate, go out of your way a little & stay here---make memories that don't fade--indeed, they sustain you after your trip is long over & entice you to return again & again, as we do. (And Linda & Karl are such gracious hosts you'll want for nothing---just ask & they will do everything they can to make your stay an oasis of pleasure on that long 10 hr drive across the lovely but HUGE state of MT.

Room Tip: Main floor is easy access to the bar & dining room, 2nd floor may be a bit more quiet, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles City, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed on a spur-of-the-moment trip for our anniversary. We are not prima donnas AT ALL and don't mind a bit of "adventure." The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and the lobby is nice as well. The customer service staff was friendly and helpful. Our room, however, was old. Not quaint, not rustic - just old. The decor was hilarious - calendar photos of moose scotch-taped to the walls! Our bathroom adjoined another room (although there was no one staying in that room (thank God!). The bed was not comfortable (but the sheets were clean). No TV (which is great), no clock (that's what cell phones are for, right?), no shampoo - just a small bar of hotel soap. We took the whole nite as an adventure and it really was fine - but probably wouldn't stay there again for $90. Or $50... If you're squeamish at all about old carpet and NO ameneties - skip this place. Have a drink at the bar and soak up the atmosphere downstairs - then go sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 201 (although I think all the rooms are similar :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel sits on a fantastic property. However, it is truly run down. The outside stairs leading up to our room are truly in need of repair; the side door was propped open with a board that we had to climb over to get inside. We only had a shower, and the water gets to be about 2-3 inches deep. The community bathroom was right next to our room, so the noise was crazy. The double bed was so horribly soft, so we didn't get much sleep at all. Oh, I forgot to mention with huge old window air conditioner that we had running all night, as well. The rooms have no shampoo, hair dryers, etc...so you need to bring your own. It's history is somewhat interesting, so if you're wanting historic accomodations for around $100/night, this is your place. The restaurant is only open until 8pm, food was okay...nothing spectacular. The picture online shows an open front porch with rocking chairs all along the front. It really only has an old card table with some random chairs (including the white plastic ones you can buy at Walmart). We did sit in the lobby one night, it was so hot, hot, hot with no fans running.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for sleeping & heavy duty bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a historic property in a beautiful area of Montana. As a novelty, if I was to wander in off the street , I would love to look around and would enjoy seeing some of the history and funky charm this hotel has. If I was staying in this motel ....in Mexico, say....and paid 15.00 American I'd think "that was interesting...what an experience"...but I wasn't in Mexico and I didn't pay 15 dollars...I was in AMERICA and paid 100.00 and although I got one of the "what an experience" experiences...it was pretty funky in a hard way. No shower....just an old claw foot tub with a bad washer in one of the faucets so it leaked all the time....two double beds that must have been from the Eisenhower era.....sagged so badly you had to perch on the edge to keep from rolling down to the middle all night...squeaky floors ....SQEAKY!!! This hotel is in the "oil worker radius"...so the price might reflect that....things that are worth 30.00 a night suddenly become hundred dollar a night rentals (which is probably a great price for somebody working in North Dakota...but really expensive for someone just passing through. I like the folks working there...they were really nice...but this hotel was old in kind of a weird run down way. It was a last minute reservation...we were really tired...they gave us a place to stay...and I appreciate it...but it was too much to pay for what it was. Just a funky old run down hotel with a lot of history...which is worth something but hard when you need someplace that feels familiar to a typical hotel experience ...like a working shower and a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: get there early and be well rested...this experience doesn't have to be about getting a good nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank idahowannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Peck hotels

Been to Fort Peck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Peck Hotel

Property: Fort Peck Hotel
Address: 175 South Missouri Street, Fort Peck, MT 59223
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Peck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Peck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fort Peck Hotel, built in the 1930s, is filled with history and friendly faces. We offer lodging, fine dining and a fully stocked lounge. Whether you sit on a wooden rocking chair on the large front porch or relax in the lounge, you’ll find the contentment for which you’re looking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing