We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic get-away-from-it-all experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallatin Gateway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Covered Wagon Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic get-away-from-it-all experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Fulfilling my husbands dream 'cowboy' holiday was never going to be easy but the covered wagon ticked all the boxes and more.....and managed to make it all look so easy!
Guest manager Annette answered every query with endless patience and humour and all the staff did a wonderful job of welcoming us into the CWR family.
Our 2 night pack trip was an amazing experience in far from perfect weather but wranglers Chris, Kenny and Erin were attentive and good humouredand Erin did an amazing job producing wonderful meals on a sometimes wet & windy campfire!
Back at the ranch, accommodation and food was superb.
Trail rides were tailored to exactly what we wanted with just us and a wrangler - it doesn't get any better -cannot recommend this place more highly- we will definitely see you guys again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
113
59
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I would have to say the best way to describe your first impression is breathtaking. I have always wanted to travel to Montana and was spoiled by this being my first experience at a dude ranch. I will definitely return to The Covered Wagon Ranch next summer and so on.

I was impressed with the food and family style meals. The staff was amazing and made you feel at home. We were able to choose between half day or all day rides in the mountains and were taken to different trails every day. All of the horses are very well taken care of. Our wrangler, Chris, definitely took great care of our group and was knowledgeable of all of the trails.

If you have the opportunity to travel to Montana and to the Covered Wagon Ranch, it is definitely a great place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My family of five spent a week at Covered Wagon Ranch in June. Our three girls, ages 12,11,and 8 voted this "bar none" our best family vacation. We have been to three other guest ranches over the years and thought we had a good idea of what to expect . We never dreamed that at the end of the trip we would leave the ranch feeling like members of the family. Every ride was an adventure. Our wranglers exceeded our expectations and customized every ride to be as challenging or as easy as we liked. We never rode the same trail twice and the views each and every day were nothing short of spectacular. We were looking for a ranch that provided more than the average trail ride and we definitely were not disappointed! The chefs were very talented and provided a variety of excellent meals. We liked the fact that they got to know us personally during our stay and went out of their way to prepare meals the children would enjoy. Annette, the ranch manager, has a caring personality that made us feel very comfortable from day one. Debi and JT were wonderful hosts. Debi's attention to detail and JT's knowledge of the back country make this ranch experience one to remember.
We enjoyed the week in June so much that we visited again in August for another four days. We were not disappointed the second time around and we look forward to seeing the gang again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Debi & J.T. do not only offer up amazing oudoor adventures at their MT Dude Ranch, they also see to it that your every need is met while you are there. From having the best staff available to having the most gorgeous setting, this place is not "just a place", it's an entire life-changing experience that I'm convinced you will love too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindydobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, VT
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2010

CWR is a small guest ranch (about 27 guests at a time) on the edge of Yellowstone NP. It offers short, medium and all day rides, plus a limited number of three day pack trips into the John Metcalf wilderness. It operates from late spring through the first two weeks in September and for caring service, great company, and a relaxed, homey atmosphere, full of fun, it just can't be beat. From the owners to the kitchen help to the wranglers, the staff is there to help you have as good a time as possible and everyone is welcome. On the pack trip I did there were three guests and three wranglers and in miserable weather as in glorious weather we all pulled together. I can't sing its praises loudly enough. It was just GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaBRandolph_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I can't say enough about the CWR. The staff, accommodations, food, horses and scenery are all phenomenal.
We had never ridden before, but were loping by the second day (per our request). The wranglers gear the ride to you. Our goal was to be 'riding like cowboys' after 3 days (a pretty tall order) and the staff at CWR made it happen.
They make you feel like you are one of the family; the owners and wranglers are right there at dinner eating with you.
We have never vacationed at the same place twice, since we are always looking for a new adventure. However, it was unanimous amongst the 5 of us (parents and 3 college-aged sons) that we would love to spend another summer vacation at the CWR

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RidgeRunner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

From the second I arrived at CWR I felt at home. Everyone was so welcoming, geniune and nice. Best wranglers in Montana and they definite made the trip even better. Was a little worried traveling alone but they take you in like family. Scenary is unbelievable. Can accomodate any dietary restrictions with no problem at all. Defintely going back again next year. Trip of a lifetime.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank aswitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
17.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
558 reviews
17.4 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
12.0 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
320 Guest Ranch
320 Guest Ranch
#1 of 5 in Gallatin Gateway
336 reviews
15.1 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covered Wagon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covered Wagon Ranch

Property: Covered Wagon Ranch
Address: 34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Covered Wagon Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Covered Wagon Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing