We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Summer Vacation”
Review of Elkhorn Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallatin Gateway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkhorn Ranch
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Summer Vacation”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Every day you wake up excited for what that day brings. It might be riding on your personal horse for the week through amazing Montana scenery or going for a mountain hike through the crisp air or spending an afternoon driving to old faithful geyser. Grand Prismatic Spring on your way to old faithful is a must. It is like nothing you have ever seen before. The lodging was great and really gives you the feel of being at a true dude ranch. Fresh baked cookies wait for you each day too.

If you want to just relax for a day playing some horse shoes by the lake or reading a book on your cabins scenic deck is the way to go. At the end of the week the square dance with all the wranglers and staff is a hoot! I spent more time laughing at myself than correctly doing the dances.

Everything for the week went perfect. I will definitely be back.

Evan

Room Tip: Each cabin has a great view. I was in one of the cabins farther up the hill. We saw a coyote from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Elkhorn Ranch is an experience that is _not to miss_! The staff, amenities, lodging, and scenery and setting allow you to leave the world behind, but you don't need to leave the joys of eating well and having a great time. There is (blessedly and fantastically!) no cell coverage, and wifi can be had around the office (there's a place to work should you get bored with expansive western views and trail riding!). Rustic but very comfortable individual log cabins, each with a full bath, covered porch, and wood burning stove for heat, provide fantastic residences for your stay. The food is exceptional and plentiful - there's a snack room next to the dining hall where fresh baked cookies are always available. The staff are incredibly welcoming, friendly, and respectful ("yes, sir" and "yes, ma'am" are standard phrases) and get to know both your name and what you like. This is a family resort, and kids have their own experiences under the guidance of the Peanut Butter Mothers - don't feel badly when your kids will want to eat with their new friends rather than you! The trail rides and horses are all designed around your comfort level, safety, and experience. You'll likely be assigned the same horse the entire time and have your own assigned saddle. Your horse will be saddled and ready for your morning/afternoon/allday rides, but you will get to unsaddle and brush your animal after each ride. Boots and hats are available for borrowing if you don't have your own - no sneakers, etc... I'd recommend at least one all day ride (lunch will be provided on the trail) to get to see some of the more distant and isolated gems of the backcountry! Into fishing? The ranch borders Yellowstone, and licenses for fishing in the park are available in the office. World-class streams await! Birders and wildlife watchers will also enjoy the viewing offerings found in the area. Enjoy the stay, and don't dwell on the fact that you will have to return to "civilization" all too soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limekiln, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staying a week or two at the Elkhorn Ranch is an experience like none other you will have. It's a magical place somehow suspended in time surrounded by the awesome scenery of the beauiful American wilderness. The horseback rides are guaged to your ability and you get to ride into realms unseen by most Americans and experience wildlife first hand. The meals, including a breakfast ride and a dinner ride, are fabulous. The staff are courteous and greggarious and the other guests quickly become kindred spirits and often friends. The cabins are charmingly rustic and the day begins with a wrangler quietly lighting the fire in your bedroom to take the chill out of the cold mountain air. The breakfast bell rings and...go for yourself to find out more.

Room Tip: Request a cabin closer to the Dining Hall if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limekiln, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an amazing experience. The crew and wranglers are exceptional, the food is fantastic. The horses are safe and well cared for, the cabins are rustic while being comfy and roomy. The other guests are also quite interesting and it is nice to interact with them. There is also a great program for the kids - if you want to get your kids "un-hooked" from the internet and connected to an unbelievable part of our country - this is a great way to do it.

In addition, it is relatively close to Yellowstone, so it is easy to incorporate a trip there into your itinerary.

But I discourage anyone from thinking that they need to jam pack their trip with a million "must dos". Go, relax and get grounded, reset your priorities and take a deep breath.

Also - this was our fourth trip there and we plan to go back as often as possible.

Room Tip: The ranch assigns you to a cabin based on your family size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found Elkhorn Ranch by chance, but were so lucky! A girlfriend and I brought our kids (7 of us in total) to Elkhorn this last week. We were about the only people at the ranch on our first visit. We ate and rode and played games with multiple generation families who have been going for years-- and yet everyone was friendly, and beginners were welcomed. The Peanut Butter Moms were wonderful, and the kids are asking when can they go back. The horses were alert, well behaved, the instruction/guides were wonderful. Accomodation was charming and comfortable-- the beds were firm and while I went to sleep aching from the rides, I always woke up refreshed. A fantastic trip.

Room Tip: There are differently designed cabins, and it would be useful to call and talk through your family t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhopperJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

You really can’t do better than a vacation at Elkhorn Ranch. There are many things that make it a special place; add it all up and it’s hard to beat.
First there are the people, both crew and other guests. All are friendly and genuinely helpful. Many guests have been coming for years, generations even. No airs or egos for the most part; so refreshing. Once I relaxed and opened up, I found the guests to be very interesting and very warm. It took me until Thursday to get it, so I recommend a minimum stay of a week, two weeks would be better.
The second thing that makes the Ranch so special is the views. The Ranch itself is beautiful – log cabins, green grass, mountains, the horses. The rides up into higher country open up vistas that are unmatched: snow-capped peaks, miles of green grass loaded with wildflowers and butterflies punctuated on the lucky days with bear, moose, elk and eagle sightings.
The third thing is the horses. These are not your usual second career rent-a-horses. These animals are bred and trained for their noble work of taking guests safely on no-nonsense trail rides. These horses are all business and a real pleasure to ride. Guests who have never been on a horse are expertly guided by the crew. You can forget about the anxiety and enjoy the ride.
The fourth thing is the accommodations. This ain’t no five star resort; it’s way better than that. It’s rustic log cabins with wood burning stoves and ample porches. Cabins are clean and comfortable with good reading lights, no televisions, and no phones. While wireless Internet is available near the office, the Ranch is an opportunity to unplug from all of that. It’s best to take advantage of that opportunity lest you miss what’s really happening. And the food! Don’t worry about the food. Always good and always plenty. And if you have special needs, I am sure they will be happy to take care of you.
The fifth thing is the program for children. We went without our grown children, but I was skeptical when I learned that children spend most of their time separated from their parents. When I saw how things worked I became a believer. This program really works. The children love it. The crew is wonderful and totally responsible. Don’t worry, you will still have plenty of time with the children. And it’s perfectly fine to come without children, too.
All of this happens under the management of Linda Miller, third generation at the Ranch which was started by her grandparents. Tradition matters.

Room Tip: Don't worry about it. Let them choose the right cabin for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaBarbaraBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Family of 5 had a wonderful time at the ranch located in a beautiful area between Bozeman and West Yellowstone. The staff was wonderful. The food was excellent. Our 3 children, ages 7 and 12 (twins) spent most of their day with other kids under the exceptional supervision of the “Peanut Butter Moms”. From breakfast till 8:30PM, the children ate meals together, rode on the horses together and played many fun games. My kids LOVED the never ending tins of homemade cookies.

In regards to the riding, the wranglers were terrific and the horses were a perfect match. What a delight! The trails were beautiful and we were fortunate enough to spot two Bull Moose not far from us. One morning we enjoyed breakfast on the trail and another day dinner.
We had a nice spacious 4 bedroom cabin with an awesome porch. Upon request, the Crew will light your potbelly stove before you awake.

I, the Mom, who was afraid to ride, rode each day with my hubby and new friends. Some rides too with the family (but the kids preferred to ride with their friends). My horse was perfect for me and made me comfortable from the first day!

What a perfect family vacation!!! The kids are already asking to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
12.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
24.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,973 reviews
18.2 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
320 Guest Ranch
320 Guest Ranch
#1 of 5 in Gallatin Gateway
325 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
195 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gallatin Gateway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Ranch

Property: Elkhorn Ranch
Address: 33133 Gallatin Rd, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730-9634
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Montana Dude Ranch started in the 1920's. We specialize in family vacations that include horseback riding, fly-fishing, and outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing