We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I returned to Rainbow Ranch recently after having my wedding there last year, and it was even better than I remembered. Our pond-side room (definitely the most luxurious on the property) was beautiful and relaxing and we walked in the door to find soft music and chocolate chip cookies waiting for us. And the bathrooms in these particular rooms are amazing! We had a fantastic dinner (bison, pheasant) at the restaurant and then took a bottle of wine to their newly-renovated outdoor jacuzzi. Even though the lodge is right off the highway, we could not have had a more peaceful, relaxing stay. Beautiful grounds, comfortable beds and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

RR Lodge is an amazing Montana getaway ranch, with an infinity edge hot tub, spa, bar, and world-class dining experience. They have an award-winning wine list. We enjoyed happy hour at the bar, then dinner. After appetizers and a salad of micro greens I was served an entree of pheasant. Simply ethereal. My wife had the Caesar salad and then the bison entree; perfectly done. Having experienced some of the fine dining available in southwest Montana, I can confidently say that the restaurant at RR is among the best. The rooms are comfy, the views are amazing, the staff is professional and courteous, and Yellowstone National Park is only a short drive away. There are even a couple of trailheads in walking distance from the ranch itself. I will be recommending this amazing place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had our wedding weekend and reception at Rainbow Ranch this August. On top of it being a gorgeous venue, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

Going into our wedding, all of our friends and family told us to be prepared for something big to go wrong, and to just take it in stride. I'm happy to report that absolutely nothing went wrong! Mollie, the GM, and her staff were very professional, and made sure that everything ran smoothly at every step of the way.

It's not only a lovely wedding venue, but any time you're in the area during the summer or during ski season, it's a lovely vacation getaway situated right on the Gallatin river. They offer multiple activities for all occasions that will meet a wide variety of interests. And the rooms.... ALL are amazing! You really can't go wrong.

Thank you so much to everyone there for making our wedding a success! We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great- we had people stay in every type of room they have, and everyone was very i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrysR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the rooms with the river right behind our back patio. The wonderful sound of the river going by created a beautiful melody which to sleep in the evening, but we had a lumpy mattress unfortunately. The afternoon cookies were incredible! The room was clean, but plain, but the view made-up for what the room lacked. We had a fireplace, but it was not cold enough to put it into use in September. The lodge and restaurant were a great surprise and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was included, buffet style and it was all one really needed; fruit, cereal, yogurt, quiche, bagels, toast, sausage, coffee, tea, and juices. I would recommend that they spruce-up the rooms a bit.

Room Tip: River view is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rainbow Ranch! We have to agree, the views from the riverside rooms are breathtaking! We are also very proud of our pastry chef and the magic she creates with her cookies and breakfast pastries! Good news, we have new mattresses, we hope you will come and give your approval the next time you are in the neighborhood!
Until then take good care and thank you for your kind review!
Mollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Considering the lack of luxury accomodation in a big radius from Yellowstone, apart from very expensive working ranches or fly fishing places, this place is probably the safest bet around.

We were originally put off by the situation litterally off US191, but knew what to expect. Honestly, you completely forget about it. The rates are admittedly high for the location and and the area, but the lack af alternative made it a deal, eventhough it needed to be prepaid.

Apparently booked almost to capacity, the place was really quiet. We had a Riverside room, and a Pondside luxury. We were surprised that the Pondside was more luxurious and newer, although the Riverside has a better location in my view. They will be redeigned shortly, or so I have been told.
Pondside was nice : nice porch, logs everywhere, excellent king bed, good lighting, inside fireplace. Huge bathroom with separate toilet, separate shower stall, dressing area. A little oversized compared to a smaller bedroom, I would say. No aircon, but an open window would already make a really cool room in August. I would only miss an outside fire place, which is only for the suite.
Did not stay in the Riverside myself, but I understand it is just as comfortable, only older.

Good dining room. A bit hit and miss in the sense that the starters were small and flavorless and bland, while the mains were delicious. Very good service, who moved to another table as we had neighbors with unattended and noisy kids.
Breakfast is buffet, with a good selection, and staff working hard to keep it replenish, despite shinese customers raiding it as if they never saw a buffet before (who knows, might be the case).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming to visit and thank you for the review!
Yes, we do have plans to remodel the riverside rooms, AND I am happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed the property as is! You mentioned one of my favorite attributes of the Rainbow Ranch, the fact that we can be at fill occupancy and it is still a peaceful oasis....
We will look forward to your return, please be in touch and I will make sure you have the suite with the outdoor fireplace!
Until then take good care!
Mollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Staying at Rainbow Ranch was like going to sleep away camp as an adult, with excellent, though simple, accommodations, incredible grounds, and amazing Gallatin River access. We stayed at RRL after driving from Jackson Hole through Yellowstone, and it was the ideal place to spend two relatively quite days after many hikes / bikes. The staff was incredibly polite and helpful, but at no point smothered you. We enjoyed full access to the grounds, including the great hot tub with fire place, the trout pond, and many hours in the river, just 20 yds from our porch. We enjoyed a meal at the restaurant, which was as good or better than top restaurants in any of the major ski towns. The wild game selection was mostly locally sourced, with excellent variety and preparation.

We will certainly return to RRL in the coming years for more R&R, which it is ideal for. I would highly recommend for a couple looking to spend some quality down time together, and especially for the fishing enthusiast.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the river. River access is incredible, world class fly fishing 20 yards from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was a mixed experience. There was much to like, but it was not the luxurious Montana ranch experience the website led us to expect.
As the website uses words like lodge, ranch, paradise, etc, we were also surprised to find it on the US191, just yards from the fast road. 

Good things: the main building is good, with decent quality decor etc; dinner was excellent; staff all very helpful, especially the breakfast chefs who enhanced a decent continental breakfast with freshly cooked eggs; sitting on our little verandah overlooking a lovely stretch of the Gallatin river; free WiFi.

BUT, at $325+tax per night, the room needs a significant upgrade. The website uses words like "world class resort", so we were disappointed to find: only a queen size bed; lighting so poor that the room appeared gloomy even when sunny outside, making reading impossible; no room safe, no air con; two hangers each, no drawers or shelves to store clothes apart from shelves in the bathroom; fraying and threadbare bath mat one day, rather small bathroom with old style unenticing whirlpool bath and billowing shower curtain over; bed linen high quality but not ironed so crumpled looking; and perhaps worst of all, no refrigerator and no room service, when the restaurant and bar were closed for two nights of our three night stay.  We had been informed of the lack of dining, by email, and booked into a restaurant elsewhere, but on arrival, when we asked about a taxi, as we both like to drink wine with dinner, we were greeted with hesitation and a bus timetable which proved useless. Amazingly, no mention was made of a bar over the road, which we discovered for ourselves to be great hospitality with excellent food. This bar, the Corral Bar, saved our stay.

To end positively, the general manager, Mollie, was great when we explained our disappointment. She refunded one night, which made the price about fair value. She also suggested that it is best to phone and book, so that our needs can be discussed and she can then indicate other options (turned out they have a few rooms now with king size beds and higher quality).

So, given the lack of luxury hotels in the area, this may be one of the best places to stay, but do understand that the rooms are highly over priced at full rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,
I wanted to follow up and again thank you for your feedback!  Your comments are being discussed and our team is doing its best to prevent future issues as what you expressed, we have already purchased additional refrigerators for rooms! I know that does not change your experience and I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concerns. 
I am glad that you did enjoy a few things Rainbow Ranch offered you.... Our friendly staff, a lovely breakfast, a sunny deck, free wifi, and our wonderful neighborhood bar across the street.
I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services.
I do hope you will give us a second chance and please CALL me personally to discuss options for your next stay. As explained on our website we do have rooms with king beds!
Thank you & safe travels! 
Mollie
406.995.4132

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
563 reviews
3.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
739 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
10.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range: £142 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing