We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great room layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff was always helpful and friendly. The Moose room was sizable with two rooms connected by bath & closet; private, yet conversational between them. The grounds hosts a pond, outdoor kitchen, covered patio and a fabulous, LARGE hot tub. The breakfast was terrific and their pastry chef is awesome! Our dinner was halibut, a wonderful fish, large portion, just could have used more seasoning.

There was a missing light bulb in the bathroom, that made it quite dark, but the daily cookie delivery was great!

There was no phone service or wifi in the rooms, but free wifi was available in the Lodge/dining area. The restaurant across the street, The Corral Bar, is great too.
We departed EARLY, like 4AM for an early flight out of Bozeman, and I forgot my cellphone on the nightstand. I called and asked them to ship it. They did immediately and I had it within about 2days! Thank you Rainbow Ranch!

Room Tip: Moose room was a ways from parking lot, but you can drive w/in 30 feet and unload/load, then go park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    39
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
72
126
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. In fact, they recommended a local hike to the Lava lake that was extraordinarily beautiful. Although the lodge is situated a little too close to the 191 highway, all of the rooms face a pretty pond and the roaring Gallatin River which makes up for the occasional noise of cars rolling by. Our room was spacious and clean. The deck and real fireplace complete with kindling were additional amenities that we thoroughly enjoyed. We will definitely return, provided the opportunity present itself once again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I took my mother and 2 friends on a road trip to this fabulous location. The setting is spectacular - right on the Gallatin River, only 45 minutes from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park and only 45 minutes from Bozeman, MT. All of the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful and the daily breakfasts (included) were great. The weekend buffet (also included) was lovely, the food all local and delicious. The giant hot tub with the built-in fireplace was spectacular as well. My only complaint was that there was no hair dryer in our unit. That is so petty, but I mention it so anyone visiting can take one with them. The weather was all over the board while we were there - we woke up with snow in the mornings and sunshine shortly thereafter. The road to Yellowstone actually was quite blizzardy, but once in the Park, it was clear. Just be prepared with both warm & cold weather clothes. I hope to go back again someday. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you get the only room with handicap access, be aware that there is no additional seating in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have stayed at the Rainbow Ranch three different times, and it just gets better and better. The room, which we had as "the romance package" greeted up with champagne and truffles.It includes the dinner and breakfast. Wine is extra. Our room was beautiful, and has a real fireplace, its own private back porch which faces out on the river. The newly remodeled infinity pool is a giant hot tub that pours out the end creating the illusion that the water goes on forever. And in a setting of mountains and forest that is lovely and so peaceful. The restaurant is top notch with a beautiful selection of gourmet preparations. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Would recommend this place to anyone coming through the area of Big Sky, Montana.

Room Tip: Get one that looks out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this beautiful cozy spot and we only wish we had been able to stay longer and enjoy all of the offerings!!!!! We thought the staff was genuine and extremely friendly!! We will certainly be back and take in even more of the great experience!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

From first contact to last, the staff at Rainbow Ranch Lodge were extraordinary. My wife and I enjoyed a two-night stay over Valentines and enjoyed every minute. Holly, Summer, Fletcher, Joce, and Mollie made us feel like family and always went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one.

We stayed in a riverside room that was perfectly sized for the two of us. Fresh baked cookies, soft music, and a fireplace ready to be lit awaited us when we opened the door. Our room was clean, rustically furnished, and had a charming view of the Gallatin river and pine trees off the back porch. The lodge is five minutes from Big Sky, 45 minutes from Yellowstone, and a snowball's toss from as much Forest Service land as you'd like to explore. If you love the outdoors, want a central location to enjoy a pristine part of Montana, and rate friendly service as a high priority, then you'll love the Rainbow Ranch Lodge. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This lodge has everything you need. Great rooms, some with fireplaces, delicious breakfast and close too all activities. After a long day skiing enjoy the outdoor hot tub and fireplace to unwind. A definite must stay location. It is beautiful in the with winter and we will be back in the summer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank laco78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
3.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.2 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
10.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing