We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serene hotel experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Rainbow Ranch takes an advantage of beautiful locations and a strong western
tradition in crafting a serene hotel experience. We stayed in Rainbow Ranch in Big Sky Montana for one week in August. We had the riverside room, which was tastefully decorated. This room has a balcony where we had coffee with fresh baked muffin every morning, enjoying the breathtaking view of the Gallatin River. We dined in the Rainbow Ranch restaurant for 5 nights. It was a lovely experience. We had delicious diners served on the terrace; which has also the view of Gallatin River. We also experienced an outdoor Riverside Barbeque (you must try).The serene experience would not be complete without excursions to Yellowstone Park along with sport activates like rafting, biking and trekking. Megan was wonderful with setting up all these activities for us.
We cannot wait to go back next summer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — You must try their Riverside Barbeque.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank markryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    43
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
133
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

My husband and I are from the Washington D.C. area and had planned our trip at Rainbow Ranch Lodge 6 months in advance. We could not wait to get away from the hussle and bussle of the City and into the peace and quiet that rainbow ranch offered. Upon arriving at Rainbow Ranch, however, we found that it was not at all as the website had depicted it. Instead, it was very close to a major highway and the resort itself was crowded and very crammed. This was not the worst of the situation though. Once Emily (the front desk manager) showed us our room, it was adjacent to LOUD construction. When we booked Rainbow Ranch they never mentioned that the construction would be of this extent. They mentioned construction on the pond but not on everything else! Our deck was a foot away from the construction workers. They were whistling loudly, our room was shaking from a jack-hammer underneath us, and sawdust would blow in our room if we opened the door to our deck. We knew that we could not stay there under these circumstances so went to speak to Emily. We were very respectful and just explained that this room was not suitable for guests. We asked if the construction would be like this for the rest of our stay and she said yes, even on the weekend, and it began around 8 AM. We explained that we could not stay there - that it was not at all relaxing. Her reponse? Find someplace else to stay!!!! We could not believe that this is what came out of her mouth. She didn't offer to ask the construction workers to quiet down or anything, just told us to find someplace else. We have never been treated so rudely. My husband and I are a younger couple and noticed that rainbow ranch had a lot of older couples that were there just to eat the food at the restaurant. We think perhaps that is why we were treated like this since we can not figure out any other reason. So, unless you are going just to eat (which you can still eat at the restaurant even if you arent staying at the lodge) do not stay at this resort. The people staying there are not staying there to do activity, but just to eat. My husband and I expected great views of the river which is another reason we wanted to stay there and the view was far away and not as close to the river as it looks on the website at all. We asked Emily to speak to a manager and she said she was out of town. She said she would call the manager and have her call us, but I'm sure you can guess we never heard back. My husband and I decided to stay someplace else (Emily did not offer to help us find another place). We did find another ranch to stay at that was RIGHT on the river, quiet, peaceful and we were treated wonderful. We were able to relax, hike, and do all of the things we went out west to do. After we returned to D.C. we e-mailed the propietor of rainbow ranch to explain what had happened to us. He never responded to e-mails or calls. It is obvious that they do not care about their customers. This is never a place my husband and I would book again. It is very snotty and you are treated like dirt. We paid half the price at another resort and were treated like gold. This place is by far the worst service I have ever gotten.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Emily at the front desk
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not spend the money to go here, it was awful customer service and a very snotty place.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Annibale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2006

The Rainbow Rach in Big Sky Montana is fantastic. The rooms are very nice: with the view of the river, fireplace and wonderful decorations. The restaurant is excellent.

The staff is outstanding and always attentive. Visiting Big Sky, for skiing, fishing or just a short visit to the Yellowstone NP, I always stayed at this lodge and I would continue to do so in the future.

Helpful?
9 Thank AWD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at Rainbow Ranch last season and was greeted by Patrick, the host of the lodge and a gentleman who understands how to provide great hospitality in an unpretentious manner. Throughout our stay, he was looking out for our enjoyment, without hovering over us. The guest rooms have a rustic charm and the wood-burning fireplaces and private outdoor terraces overlooking the river provide a great way to relax. But we didn’t want to spend too much time in our room, since the lodge bar, with its fireplace and friendly, intimate atmosphere was a great place to unwind at the end of the day. If you don’t have a chance to stay overnight at the Rainbow Ranch, make sure to make a reservation at the restaurant, an outstanding place to dine in the Big Sky area. With their expansive wine cellar and attention to great cuisine, our meal at the Rainbow Ranch restaurant was the real treat of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2006

Rainbow Ranch Lodge is one of the most relaxing locations I have been to. The rooms are designed and decorated with very traditional styles to Montana and it is evident that the lodge pays close attention to the finer details to ensure customer satisfaction. The rooms also provide extreme coziness as I was able to melt in the bed for an amazing nights rest. The soothing fireplace in the rooms also added to the relaxation and overall experience. I also enjoyed their outdoor hot tub with views of the mountains, especially after a day of skiing. Rainbow Ranch also has a very spacious bar area that is perfect to relax with friends and enjoy their special drink, Stoli Doli. The staff at Rainbow Lodge is extremely helpful and friendly and they go the extra mile to understand their customer’s wishes.

Rainbow Ranch is located in an area of Big Sky where the views are breathtaking. Big Sky Ski resort is just minutes from the lodge and hiking to Yellowstone is right out the back door of the resort. Rainbow Ranch is a place where I was able to forget about the daily hustle and bustle of work and relax in the fresh air on Big Sky. The lodge is only 30-40 minutes drive from the Bozeman airport and very scenic in the daytime. I would recommend using your bright lights when driving at night as there may be some wildlife along the roadside. I have recommended Rainbow Ranch Lodge for many of my friends and they were very impressed as well.

Helpful?
6 Thank lynchgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 April 2006

How refreshing -- skiing beautifully groomed and relatively unoccupied runs at Big Sky and returning to Rainbow Ranch to relax in the warmth of a toasty fireplace in the lodge, sipping a lovely glass of wine. Here's how to enjoy a long weekend at Rainbow Ranch: take in the views of the meandering river while driving to Big Sky; relish the snow glistening as if diamonds were draped in the trees; work up an appetite for the mouth watering dinner at the Ranch at the end of the day; and, go to sleep in anticipation of beginning the next day with even more breathtaking views, phenominal wines and delicious dinners at the Ranch.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2006

I recently visted Rainbow Ranch for the second time and I must say the second visit was better than the first! This time I stayed in a beautiful and spacious cabin. The cabin had enough room for several people, including three bathrooms, a fireplace, and even a jacuzzi! Again the food, service, and wine were fantastic. The ranch is close to the skiing and also close to the wilderness. I hope to visit again next year! Rainbow Ranch is a definite must do!

Helpful?
3 Thank mk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
3.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
554 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
116 reviews
4.2 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing