We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful get-away!”
Reviewed 22 June 2007

On a recent summer trip to Montana, my husband and I had a lovely dinner at the Rainbow Ranch Lodge and spent the night in one of the new rooms that face the trout pond. Proprietor Patrick Hurd and his staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. The new expansion is impressive and the rooms exceptional – rustic but elegant, roomy yet cozy.

After our superb meal, our room nearly beckoned us to relax with its comfortable king bed, river rock fireplace, thoughtful selection of books, wet bar, TV (camouflaged by a wildlife photo) and, of course, the wonderful Rainbow Ranch cookies that greet every guest. The bathroom was spacious with his and her vanities and closets (each with a cushioned bench!), a soaking tub and wonderful rain shower. We especially enjoyed walking barefoot on the wood plank, heated floors. Yes, the lodge is located close to the road, but it was surprisingly quiet in our room. After coffee was delivered to our room in the morning, I relaxed on our deck with a book and was accompanied by the sound of water spilling from the outdoor infinity pool down river rock into the pond - very nice.

Our experience was a true get-away. We will be back again.

  • Liked — scenic setting, great food and wine, comfortable accomodations and good service
  • Disliked — can't think of anything negative
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    42
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
132
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Grove PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We recently stayed three nights at the Rainbow Ranch as part of a two week Yellowstone/Grand Teton vacation. We enjoyed our time at the Rainbow Ranch and would definitely recommend it to others.
Our room was one of the Riverfront Deluxe rooms. The room in addition to the queen size bed had a sitting area with a sofa and a fireplace which we used twice. There was a porch which faced the river with two Adirondack chairs which was a nice place to sit in the morning or evening.
The bathroom was ample sized with a jacuzzi tub (for one) and a nice shower.
The staff was friendly if a bit young and inexperienced.
Other reviews have mentioned the resort's location on the highway. Although the RR is right on HWY 191, we did not hear any traffic at all from our room.
We had dinner at the RR which was also very good.
On the down side, the breakfast situation is really challenging. They only provide a very light continental breakfast, and the restaurant is not open for breakfast or lunch. Also, the Riverfront rooms do not offer a refrigerator or coffeemaker so we had to leave the resort if we wanted a meal before dinner. We would really have liked the opportunity to relax in our room at least one morning with a more substantial breakfast.
If I lived in the area, we'd return to the Rainbow Ranch for weekend getaways.

  • Liked — Comfort of the Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

We certainly appreciated the hospitality of the people working at the
lodge. I would return to Big Sky to enjoy the area, but it is a little too far if you are visiting Yellowstone and want to return to Yellowstone. The restaurant was closed on May 22nd so we ate across the street at The Corral. It was very expensive but very good. I think this is a very clean resort and I would recommend it to anyone going to this beautiful area. Their help was very friendly and willing to accommodate. We had a fire in the fireplace and the river was beautiful. The homemade cookies were good to have with morning coffee.

Overall the room was very clean and the beds were much better than any of the others in the Yellowstone or Grand Teton area. Thank you Rainbow Ranch!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank flightcrew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2007

This is a very nice hotel, and Meghan who is managing reservations and everything is wonderful.
Rooms are very nice style, beds are great, location is not too bad at all, but there is nothing so exceptional.
Hotel is along the highway, bathroom was very small as well as the space in the room.
This is a little bit expensive for the level.
Amd breakfast is minimal with only coffee, juice and cakes, nothing else.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank ZorglubWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

One of the most pleasant stays anywhere ever and we nearly missed it - I hope you don't mind me telling a little story: The problem is they were/are in the process of remodelling the grounds which means when we saw the sign and stopped just past the lodge, all we could see was a muddy track and an old shack. But we'd been travelling for hours (driving from Jackson Hole) and didnt look round properly. We also knew we were still 15 miles from the skiing. So we carried on to Big Sky ski resort and looked at the hotels there and thought maybe we'd forget the booking and stay right at the resort. Luckily the hotels are a bit dull and we decided to spend one night at the RRL and see the next day.
Back we drove to the lodge and found the right building. Inside it was lovely and the staff were very friendly. They showed us to a gorgeous room (pondside luxury king) a lot like a log cabin with an amazing bath, shower, double sink and dressing area. The room had a flat TV hidden behind a picture and a view across the pond to a lovely old barn on the other side. But they said the bidet was broken so the next day they would move our stuff into a (pondside luxury) suite which was the same as we had but with a seperate living area with another flat TV hidden behind a picture.
The main lodge is lovely too - comfortable sitting areas and a very good restaurant.

2 problems:

1. The breakfast is a bit thin (juice, coffee, buns)
2. The remodelling of the grounds
But it was hard to care about either of these things when the rest of it was so wonderful. In addition everyone we met in Montana was really friendly, the scenery is amazing, the ski resort of Moonlight Basin (attached to Big Sky) is great for the type of skiing we like to do (long sweeping blue runs and some glade skiing) and above all it's really quiet - we parked every day right near the slopes and one day one of the guides even carried our skis to the edge of the slopes for us.

Of course it helps to be staying in the best room but on this occasion you really get what you pay for and I wouldn't hesitate to go back (which we would love to do) or recommend it.

And finally, when we got to Bozemon Airport to fly out we parked about 50m from the 2 storey terminal building which was like something out of the 50s. The check-in staff were friendly, there was a decent cafe and the plane (we flew from the UK in and out of Chicago) only had 2 seats either side so it was like being in First Class. All in all we much preferred it to Jackson Hole.

  • Liked — Room decor
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamperedAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

We booked our stay at this lodge based on reviews on this site and a review of their website. We found the lodge to be overpriced and not a true "lodge" like we have come to expect in Wyoming, Montana and Colorado. We disliked it so much that we checked out early and moved to the 320 Ranch just up the highway. Our main complaints were as follows. First, the room was small for the price paid. Second, the lodge grounds are very small - though they look spacious on the website. Third, there was a lot of construction, noise and interruption. Fourth, the stables and horse riding facilities were substandard compared to other lodges we have stayed at. For the price there are much better lodges in the vicinity of Yellowstone. The 320 Ranch was outstanding. The lodges of East Yellowstone were also great - including Elephant Head and Goff Ranch.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairwayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo.
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2007

About 2 yrs. ago, on an enexpected trip to Montana, my brother and I had the chance to stay a couple of nights at Rainbow. Our only diappointment was our stay was too short. From the moment we came through the door, everyone, immediately made us feel at home. I remember my brother saying, "Everyone is so nice and pleasant". At the end of our short visit , I said it is like invisible people taking care of all your needs, there , friendly, and then gone. Our rooms reflected the rest of the lodge, with quiet luxury, in a contempory Western feel, fine Montana art, and each had is own fireplace. This year friends wanted a ski vacation, I said , I know where we will go. They now have 21 units, and for a family or larger group, have The Bald Eagle. Our log home was 4,400 sq.ft of pure, comfortable, understated luxury, with every amenity that you would expect to have at home. Four bdrms, 3 baths, and a huge firplace, our own hot-tub. As always, the invisble staff, made sure that we were kept comfortable, and now have converts for more visits to RR Lodge.

  • Liked — Room and Food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ziofranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
3.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
681 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
546 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
4.2 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing