We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an experience, if that's what you are looking for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crevice Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 13 August 2011

You have to know what you are getting into in order to appreciate the Crevuce Mountain Lodge. First, it's 10 miles up a mountain from Gardiner - a steep climb on a dirt road whose condition deteriorates as you get to the top. Second, the cabins are very rustic -- small, creaky beds (or bunks) and minicule bathrooms. That said, Cheryl is a wonderful host and the family style meals are pleasant. You'll get to known the other folks who are staying there (there a 3 cabins)
quite well. In our case, that was nice, but I guess it depends on who else is staying there. If you are looking for an authentic Montana experience and don't mind a place that emphasizes rustic country living, then this is a good place for you. If you prefer privacy and comfy sheets and towels, then maybe there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Crevice Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2010

This is the perfect location for those who wish to enjoy Yellowstone NP while at the same time avoid the crowded accomodations found at most places. Unlike so many of the other cabin-style quarters found in the greater Yellowstone vicinity, Crevice Mountain Lodge provides a handful of rustic cabins high above Gardiner, MT that provide both restful family cabins and fantastic views of Montana and Wyoming.

The hosts are gracious, the food is wonderful, and the evening joys of cooking 'smores with the family at the pit fire or soaking in the quiet hot tub makes a fine end to a great day of exploring Yellowstone. This is truly a rustic experience--no television or telephones, no room service--but if this is what you seek, you cannot do better than the Crevice Mountain Lodge.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank beaner1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We made our dream vacation to the great American West starting in the Black Hills moving to Jackson Hole and then Yellowstone. We looked for out of the way cabins that were somewhat remote and in the wild. We really were glad to find Crevice Mnt Lodge and they were the kindest and most helpful people, answering all our questions. This was the third place we would stay in on our 9 day journey and as we drove up the gravel road we knew it would be the best. The view was spectacular and even though my wife was nervous and would not look, myself and our three adult kids had our eyes peeled looking for wildlife and taking in the view. Our cabin was great and the woods were simply awesome. We hiked around the mountain top and explored as we learned more about the mining history from our host. We saw elk and hoped to see a bear but my girls were ok not having any sort of bear encounters lol. We river rafted with Flying Pig located below in Gardiner. Smokey the cat was always at our door and would walk with us as we explored the woods. Blaze the host pet dog was great too and he loves chasing the Frisbee. The food was fabulous and the fresh eggs and blueberry cakes were the bomb with my kids. Thanks for the home made choke berry syrup too Cheryl. Sad to say we only could book two nights and we wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back. It was so nice to be there and experience the real Montana with such great host and be so close to the north entrance to Yellowstone. Cheryl and John thank you, this will always be a special memory for us and our kids and we hope to be back up on the mountain top again.
John & Pam

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Spent four lovely nights in one of the cabins at Crevice Mountain Lodge high on the hilltop overlooking Gardiner. Beautiful hikes, great home-cooking and incredibly hospitable and knowledgeble hosts!

Easy access to the North entrance of Yellowstone and very much a good value. Note that to get there you do head up a dirt road up the mountain for several miles which may be unexpected. It is well worth it - you are completely unplugged and enjoy simple pleasures.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCrankyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

These small family owned Bed and Breakfast cabins were homey, cozy and quaint and quiet. The hosts are wonderful, friendly, accommodating people and we felt truly welcome and pampered. The rate includes breakfast and dinner and there is even a campfire after dinner for roasting marshmallows. We learned about the history of the area which includes an old gold mine! Our children loved the freedom to roam around the large yard area and play with the animals. The food was delicious and they even had our little wood stove on to keep our cabin warm when we returned at the end of the day. Lots of special perks await you after your drive up the scenic mountain road . Well worth the drive!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacatnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

What a charming, warm and inviting place to stay. Rustic but cozy. Cheryl and John were great hosts; gave lots of good history about the area, directed us to beautiful hikes with incredible views and Cheryl's down home cooking was fabulous. The mountains are great for large appetites and Cheryl delivers large portions to satisfy all appetites! The hot tub was a perfect ending to the day, the star gazing from the hot tub was wonderful! And lastly, the fire pit in the evening, we roasted marshmallows and sat around the fire sharing stories of the day. Would definitely return to this wonderful find!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in one of three rustic cabins. We enjoyed the total experience! Both Paul & Cherly are great hosts offering great information and stories of the property & the area. They offer breakfast & dinner that are home cooked which we enjoyed in their lodge room. It is a relaxed atmosphere sitting with other guests.

The property is 11 miles above Gardiner and worth the drive. It was an old gold mining camp. The buildings are all away from each other so there is plenty of peace & quiet. We enjoyed all the aminals that roamed; chickens, dogs, horses & cats. There is a hot tub, badminton area, a hammock, bikes for use and a fire pit.
We took many walks and hikes. A short walk takes you to the most incredible views overlooking Yellowstone National Park. WOW!!!
Our hikes took us to overlooks, old gold mines, old mind shafts and reminisce of the past camps. It is an incredible area to explore!!!!!

What a great relaxing vacation we had!!! Thank you!!!
Greg & Sabina

P.S. It is a place that you should spend more then one night to truly enjoy all that it has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
4.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
6.4 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
7.8 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
705 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crevice Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crevice Mountain Lodge

Address: 384 Crevice Road, P. O. Box 461, Gardiner, MT
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Crevice Mountain Lodge Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing