We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful views, away from the crowds but right outside the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Above the Rest Lodge
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed in Steph's Cabin. The home is very well maintained and comfortable, away from town but only a short 5 minute drive back in. The views are stunning, the owners who live next door are very friendly but also allow you complete privacy. Bed was comfortable however the bedroom is upstairs which you access via a spiral staircase, something to keep in mind since the bathroom is downstairs. Living room furniture was a little worn, sofa was firm but the love-seat and chair were sagging considerably. Satellite TV was an added bonus. If you want to watch a DVD though, you'll need to pick one up in town. Kitchen was nice and large. Washer and dryer were very handy. I would certainly rent this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelneu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Above the Rest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in August so that I could hike in the area. Excellent location just 2.5 miles outside of town, on a bluff overlooking the Yellowstone River and Yellowstone national park. Quiet and out of the way 2 bedroom cabin, fully furnished except no washer/dryer. The owner/operator was nice. I only interacted with him when making reservation and when checking in. There was no service during the stay, but I didn't really need anything.

Pros:
Outside of town, so no tourist traffic or noise
great views, including the night sky
furnished, all I needed to bring was food, clothing
great value: one night here was about the same as a hotel room in town
able to hike up the Black Canyon of the Yellowstone without even driving, just went down the hill to the trail
elk in the yard at night

Cons:
dirty -- I cleaned the bathroom and a few other spots before I "moved in"; bedspreads needed washing
squeaky beds
5 cabins were too close too each other, but still hugely better than staying at a hotel
no internet and no washer/dryer
water pressure in the shower was VERY low

Summary: I came to the area just to hike and wanted a quiet, private place to stay at the end of the day. This was perfect. I hiked in the day, and in the afternoon and evening could sit on the deck or at dining room table and look out over the National Park -- beautiful and peaceful. I could also take a quiet evening stroll up the road or along the bluffs. I would definitely stay here again. It was a great retreat, away from the noise and traffic of town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roam-ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Based on other reviews we were somewhat nervous about staying here. We arrived at night but didn't have a problem finding it. The road is a little rough but we managed just fine with our car. We stayed in the cabin with another family. The cabin was clean. We brought our own towels and bedding which was a good call. The views from the deck are beautiful. We didn't see any wildlife near the cabin but saw plenty in the park. We were disappointed that there was not a grill of any type. We had to buy some little disposable grills at the grocery store. The bathrooms were fine and the water was not any harder than what we are used to in rural MN. The location was convenient for visiting Yellowstone. We went Whitewater Rafting with the Flying Pig company. The river was low and there were not a lot of rapids, we were hoping for a little more excitement but it was still a lot of fun. We also went horseback riding through the same company. The place you go riding is on the same road as the cabins. We loved the hot springs just inside the North Entrance at the Boiling River. We spent a few hours there. In summary, Above the Rest worked really well for our group. If we wanted to stay near the north entrance again we would consider this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Overall, we had a great experience in Shirly Bells Cabin. It had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen/livingroom area. Plenty of room for the 6 of us.The view from the large deck was beautiful. The kitchen was well appointed. The most notable deficiencies were the drains in the bathtubs (very slow....) the quality of the bath towels (ripped and thin ) and absence of deck chairs. We had come prepared with our own towels ( having read previous reviews on trip advisor ) so that wasn't an issue for us. The cabin was close to the north entrance of Yellowstone in the charming town of Gardiner, up a winding dirt road. We stocked up on groceries before we arrived and cooked in the nights we were there. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had reservations about staying at Steph's Cabin even before we arrived, however, we wanted somewhere with a kitchen so that we could cook our own food and there just weren't that many options around Yellowstone. What a mistake.
While we had many complaints - the towels in the bathroom were ripped and torn, not all of the lights worked, the general thrown together appearance of the cabin - the biggest problem was with the beds. The upstairs bed was extremely lumpy and uncomfortable while the downstairs sofa pullout should be condemned for health reasons. The ancient contraption had two massive bumps, making it extremely painful to sleep on. In addition, it was not particularly clean. It was only by dint of taking a sleeping tablet and downing some beers that I could even contemplate sleeping on it.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barcochva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The view from the cabin was the most amazing thing you could ask for. The cabin was great (the nest) but the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. The only other complaint we could have is that the septic tank broke and was fixed the morning before we got there so it had a horrible smell the entire time. But the view made up for everything, would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chisoxChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed in the Mansion to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary as well as 50 years that they have been in America. The location was just awesome with amazing views of Yellowstone and the surrounding mountains. We could see the steam at Mammoth as well as the mighty Yellowstone river downhill from our cabin. Elk were grazing in the fields around us, no traffic or city sounds were heard...truly breathtaking!

The Mansion itself was a magnificent place with it's deck facing the outstanding views described above. Large windows were a plus in showcasing the view. The living room was huge, with high ceilings. The kitchen was large enough to cook for 9 people and the dining table was more than able to accommodate us all. The bedroom downstairs with two double beds and the 2 bedrooms upstairs with two double beds each gave us a comfortable amount of space for our stay.

However, the bathrooms were a huge letdown to an otherwise fine accommodation. The bathroom upstairs needs quite a bit of updating to fit in with this place. In the first place, it could have used more cleaning....that always helps. Secondly, the shower head just trickled water, it was very hard to get clean. The shower drain was very slow and would often regurgitate disgusting clumps of hair (even the first time we used it, so it wasn't ours....ewwww!) The water smelled like blood, although I'm not sure if that's just the way the water smells there, but it was gross nonetheless. The towels in the bathrooms were old, stained with what looked like blood and some of them were even crusty, no joke! I honestly do not understand why towels like that would be put out in a place like this. We all dreaded taking a shower here as it was very disgusting.

The sink in the bathroom did not drain properly either. The toilet was not properly cleaned nor were the floors of the bathroom....especially the corners and around the tub and toilet. The bed linens were not up to par either. The handmade quilts were stained, those were taken off of the beds immediately. The sheets also had stains, some looked like blood, and there was no fitted sheet to at least our bed so the sheets kept coming undone.

The kitchen was stocked with what one would normally need, but it was all a mish-mash of items probably left behind by previous guests we assumed. Do not expect to be able to cook with the provided pans, bring your own. We never could get the microwave to work. The washer and dryer were a much appreciated extra in the Mansion. However, be prepared to run the dryer a few times to get your clothes dry.

There was also no cell phone service or Wifi, in case that matters to you.

As stated earlier, this was a wonderful place with outstanding views. Those things went beyond our expectations. However, it was the little things in comparison that lead to our disappointment with the Mansion. For the price paid for our stay, we would have expected the grievances listed above to be non-existent. Had we not had all the disgustingness, I would fully recommend the Mansion to anyone looking for accommodations in the area. But as is, no, it is not a good value for your hard-earned money.

Also, it was very hard to get questions answered from the manager. It seemed he didn't want to answer certain questions directly and I never could get him to send me a receipt for my deposit along with an itemization of total costs.

The view and location were truly spectacular though...it's a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnasaziYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonandCoral, Owner at Above the Rest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We have replaced mattresses and sofa sleeper since this review. There have been some comments about the towels; we line dry all the linens whenever possible so they will smell nice. Sometimes they are not as soft as if they were in a dryer. We do not claim to be the HIlton, but pride ourselves in offering a clean, and unique lodging experience.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,025 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Rest Lodge

Address: 8 Above the Rst, Gardiner, MT 59030-9332
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Above The Rest Lodge Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing