We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Trout Room”
Review of Riverside Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here and I would stay here again. When we arrived check in was smooth, Ed brought us to our room and showed us how to operate the hot tub. Ed and his wife are very nice and helpful. We wanted a steak dinner and I called Ed for a recommendation, he had several. The room was very clean and they made the bed and straightened up everyday. There was a window a/c unit but I didn't want to listen to it, the room did get a little stuff during the night. It would be nice if there was a window that opened. Cottages are centrally located and you can walk to food and grocery. The location in right outside the park and easy to get to. I would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trout Room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilltownmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry the AC unit was too loud. The door has a screened window to allow outside air in the room and I apologize for not pointing that feature out to you. We do like to eat and therefore are happy to recommend several dining options in town. We are fortunate to have many delicious options to choose for a variety of food in our small town. We hope to see you again if you are traveling this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a welcome place on a 8 day trip to Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Our family of 10 rented 2 large cabins. Had a great stay. Recommend it highly! The hot tub and river location was extra nice too. We enjoyed the town of Gardiner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We try to offer a "home away from home" atmosphere that allows you to enjoy the yard area and let the kids (and adults) stretch their legs in the yard and on the deck after being in the car for extended time periods. We hope to see you again if you are traveling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great stay in these quaint cottages. Laura is a wonderful innkeeper, and her personal service during our brief stay was refreshing! We were within walking distance of a great locally-owned grocery store with great fresh meat. We grilled steaks and ate in the common area (a beautiful deck overlooking the river). Our cabin was really clean, and perfectly located within a mile or so from the Roosevelt Arch of Yellowstone. We could actually see the arch from our cottage. We stayed in the Big Horn Sheep cottage, which was outfitted complete with sheep plates and artwork. Our kids loved the bunkbeds, and the cottage passed our kids' durability test. If you're planning a trip to Yellowstone and the surrounding area, don't pass up this lodging option. It's a winner!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and the nice comments about our cottages and location. We are so glad the kids loved the bunk beds! Our expanded deck has a larger area to sit and enjoy the river and we are so glad you were able to enjoy the river rushing by. We hope to see again if you are traveling this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Sue and I are re re re re repeat guests at Riverside Cottages in Gardiner, MT. Eddy and Laura are awesome hosts and make everyone who stays there feel like family. Easy to find and just one minute to the Roosevelt Arch and the North Entrance to Yellowstone.
The cabins are themed...one "Elk" one "Bear" etc and all the cabins are clean and welcoming after a long day in the park.
All this and to add...the view of Electric Peak from your cabin is a sight to behold.
Can't go wrong with Riverside Cottages!

Room Tip: Try them all. No two cabins are exactly the same..but they all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We can think of no better compliment than a guest who wants to return (as you say, a re re repeat guest). Can't wait for you to see the expanded deck and the new rooms. I will post some pictures when we get some interior walls up. We will see you in May for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

These are very nice little cottages and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

We stayed in the Bear cottage and have to say that the theming is pretty cute whilst not being too overwhelming. We chose the Bear cottage because it fit our needs with just 2 beds. It also had a kitchen, TV, and everything else that you would expect in a cottage. The bathroom was quite small but nicely done and we certainly didn't need anything larger. The beds were comfortable, the cottage clean (just a little dust here and there), and I especially liked the 'woodburner' - actually a little gas fire type thing which was controlled by the thermostat; gave the feeling of having a cosy fire without any of the mess and fuss.

As previous reviews have noted, these cottages do not look over the river which is a huge shame. Also, the windows are quite small and offer no real view. However, as a place to stay in Gardiner I think Riverside Cottages would be hard to beat.

In terms of location, the cottages are on what seems to be the newer side of town (over the river) but in easy walking distance of the older part.

Room Tip: Check out the cottages on the website and chose the one that suits your needs / size of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are currently building two units that have private balconies overlooking the Yellowstone River. These rooms will have a sitting area, two queen beds (one below and one in a loft above) and cooking facilities. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future if you are traveling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a week in an efficiency at Riverside while we explored Yellowstone. We were very happy with our stay. The room was always clean, the true queen bed very comfortable & great service from the owners, Laura & Eddy. It was conveniently within walking distance to a grocery store & several restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scphel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We can think of no better compliment than a guest who wants to come back to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in the Fox in July 2013. It was perfect for Me and my 21 year old son. Its right beside Montana Whitewater for rafting and ziplining. The hot tub felt great after kayaking in the Yellowstone River. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and a grocery and 2 minutes from the North Gate to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmorr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We also enjoy being close to restaurants and activities nearby. Our neighbors are great and our hot tub provides a relaxing evening overlooking the Yellowstone River. We look forward to seeing you again if you are traveling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
4.6 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the North Entrance to Yellowstone National Park in Gardiner Montana. We have efficiencies, cottages, studios and one and two bedroom suites that offer something for everyone. Our cottages and suites have full kitchens. Our efficiencies are smaller like traditional motel rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottages Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing