We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned but good”
Review of Town Cafe & Gift Shop - CLOSED

Town Cafe & Gift Shop
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned but good”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were pretty travel-weary when we arrived at this restaurant and found it refreshing. The food was good and relatively reasonable priced (everything is expensive in tourist towns.) Friendly staff and good service. Couldn't tell if the decor was purposely retro or just plain outdated, but I liked it. Salad bar was simple but had good choices and quality food. They serve breakfast all day, and we enjoyed our afternoon omlettes with toast and hashbrowns while the kids split an adult chicken meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuburbMom_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    26
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. We just spent 3 days in Yellowstone and based on reviews chose not to eat in the park but instead in gardiner. We had some good meals but I think my favorite was the Town Cafe. It was recommended to us by a server in Butte. I absolutely loved the down home folksy atmosphere, don't expect fancy, what you get instead is good home cooking. We had burgers which were homemade and delicious. The potato salad was good too. It is also very reasonably priced. I thought that the atmosphere captured the feel of the town of gardiner. That combined with great food for cheap made it totally worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Souvenirs”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Young girls in gift/coffee shop were nice, spent a lot of our money here due to the fact of good souvenirs, and nice hospitality

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The food was okay but nothing special. The service was prompt and the staff was friendly. It was what I expected in a tourist town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good prices and variety”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went here for dinner. The service was fine. There was a good variety of menu items, something we did not find in many Gardiner restaurants. The decor was very casual. The country fried steak was only fair but the rest of our food was good - fish & chips, chicken strips and hot beef sandwich. Loved the gift shop next store and the folksy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Town Cafe & Gift Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing