We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“north entrance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Mountain Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“north entrance”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

over-all we liked rocky MT. it is a bit of a grade to get into the park & another w/a tight curve to get to the upper level. the pull-thrus are long enough....but very close together. you are advised not to put out your awning ~ due to the wind. yes, there is wind but that's not why. when you can stand between your rig & the one next door & stretch your arms & touch them...that's close. we would have hit the rig next to us & we would also hit the tree if we extended the awning.
the firepit was ok. we would have preferred our own fire....but with the closness of the rigs wouldn't be a good idea. it's very cute to see the elks come around most evenings.
we did use the laundry room, it was clean & a bit pricey. the bathrooms were very clean.
the town of Gardiner is very cute, reminds us of Truckee <for you west coasters>. the Yellowstone river is right there & so is the entrance to YS. well worth the drive.

Room Tip: book ahead & try for an end spot. the cabins are really nice for those of you not in an RV.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    27
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoyed our stay here. The location is great. The RV sites are a good size, especially if you have a back in site. The facilities are very clean. The store is nice and fair priced. The people are very friendly. They do have some rules, but it keeps the place nice and also quite. You should know that the restrooms tend to be very warm, its uncomfortable, to solve the problem, I just used the facilities in my RV. They only allow a community campfire, I believe they have no choice in the matter, I think its a village ordinance. They do host the fire in a nice area and you get a chance to visit other travelers, Plus they do all the work so its not that bad. I really liked it here and we would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optimuscamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good campsite, clean and neat. The sites are a bit narrow, we felt a bit overpriced at $51 PN (with Good Sams discount) but the whole area around Yellowstone is expensive so in comparison not too bad. Narrow grass area with picnic table. Very close to the town of Gardiner, near restaurants and a good supermarket and only a quarter mile to the Historic North entrance of Yellowstone. Only a few cable channels and wifi spotty/flaky. Gravel roads and sites, staff friendly, shown to site which is getting more unusual these days. Restrooms and showers very good, some of the best we have come across in our travels. We recommend, we stayed here in a 5th wheel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 days while exploring Yellowstone. Very clean facilities, beautiful bathroom, nice people. If you can't get a spot in the park (which would probably be the best idea since staying towards the center of the park lets you see things more easily), this is absolutely your best bet. You can see the park from the campground. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMRemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Ignatius, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The wife and I spent 5 nights at Rocky Mountain RV Park over the Fourth of July. The park was clean and the sites were a bit small, but had all one needs for large RV`s, Small RV`s, fifth wheels and travel trailers. They do not accept tents. The bathrooms were very clean with real hot showers and clean toilets. They were cleaned daily. They even had a small Pee Wee golf course. They only thing I did not like was no campfires allowed at your campsite. They had nightly group campfires.
They are 4 blocks from the entrance to Northern Yellowstone. Lots of shops and river rafting, horseback riding, ziplines and restaurants.
I recommend this place if you love to camp.

Room Tip: This is an RV Park not a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We rented two micro cabins for two families. For the adults, THIS was the highlight of our trip to Teton/Yellowstone. The cabins were surprisingly spacious and the views were just incredible. The staff was nice and quick to track down the family with the annoying kids on bikes. They definitely want lights out by a certain time but if you are quiet it's a great place to look at the stars, have a beer while listening to the Yellowstone River below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoquaciousColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good roads.
Level camper sites, many are pull through.
All hook ups worked great, e.g. water, cable TV, WIFI,
Excellent bath house.
Excellent Laundry room.
Great customer service.
Good access to Yellowstone via the north entrance (Mammoth Springs).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Campground

Property: Rocky Mountain Campground
Address: 14 Jardine Rd, Gardiner, MT 59030-9400
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Campground Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing