We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wings”

Cowboy Lodge and Grill
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Gardiner
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
“Best wings”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ate here between our rafting and zipline adventure. My son and sister said they were the best wings they ever tasted. My burger was also very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    227
    131
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Catering Gardiner Group Reunion”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm writing this review because it's been earned. For the price of $50 a head, The Cowboy Lodge and Grill catering service was hired to provide two dinners for 120-150 people; an outside barbecue and an indoor sit down dinner. The first meal, the barbecue, consisted of a hamburger that looked more like a meatball - about 2.5" wide and 1" thick, and a little bag of potato chips. There was not enough meat to cover one side of the bun let alone use the whole thing. I think this was the most expensive meatball I’ve ever eaten. Nothing to drink- even the water was sold to us separately.

The second dinner was potato salad, baked beans, pulled pork or chicken and a dry dinner roll that was served for us, so our helpings were proportioned for us - everyone got one scoop each - no more no less. There was no butter for the roll, no salt or pepper, nada. After the last person was served, all of the food was quickly packed up and carted off. We had no opportunities for seconds, or anything. There was no desert, not even a simple cookie. Again, even the water was sold to us separately.

Our group paid for this food and should have had access to the leftovers - even as a second helping... someone mentioned that they probably took the leftovers back to their restaurant to serve customers the next day… glad our group could pay for their food… Two thumbs down for these guys… we were totally taken advantage of.

We felt bad that the wonderful efforts of the guys who organized our get together were so let down - they worked hard to bring us all together to only have us taken for a ride. And for the price... think about it... more than $6500 and we had to even buy our water...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vstil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 8 nights at one of their condos a stone's throw from Roosevelt Arch. While we loved having a kitchen for breakfasts and picnic lunches, we loved even more the Cowboy's Grille restaurant for dinners. The staff were spectacular and the food was wonderful. The pulled pork, grilled pork chop, and chili were favorites, but everything was great. We know where we will stay and eat whenever we return to visit Yellowstone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just average”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

my daughter had a buffalo burger which she liked, I ordered a steak medium and it was fully rare. But the flavor was good and the home made mashed potatoes were good. Since the name is Cowboys they should serve cowboy beans, not less then average bake beans, google the recipe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwm2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
198 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came out of Yellowstone, booked into the loft vacation rental above and had dinner at the Grill. The steak was wonderful cooked just how I like it. A good evening, the restaurant was busy despite it being early in June and the weather was wet.

Would definitely go back again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowboy Lodge and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cowboy Lodge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing