We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lousy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lousy room”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

There are a lot of nice things about this place. The front-desk staff is incredibly friendly. They have a clean and well lit laundry room, which is great since it's so close to the park. They have ample parking and nice comfy beds.

We were given the disabled room next to the elevator on the ground floor. To be fair, we only booked a day ahead at a pretty peak time, and so were pleased to get anything. But between the noise of the elevator and the noise from the parking lot, it wasn't an awesome night's sleep. Even worse, the ice machine is on the other side of a very thin wall from the headboard, and because it's a national park, people get up and get ice EARLY. Like 4am early.

So I suspect that the higher floors are quieter, and would recommend them. Only other complaint is that internet is just over dial-up speed, but again we were happy to take what we could get.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and only give it such a negative review because of the noise in that particular room.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    254
    89
    18
    14
See reviews for
233
344
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Worth
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Lovely place to stay with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsquawli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We spent three nights in the Travelodge in Gardiner, MT, and had a great stay there. The room was clean and comfortable, but the best part was that the staff was the friendliest at any place during our 2 week trip. They did everything to make the stay pleasant. The breakfast was much nicer than at most motels, the coffee was good, there is a big cooler of ice water with lemon in the entry, coffee is available outside the office in the mornings, staff was knowledgeable about the Park and glad to answer questions. All in all, we didn't expect to get the "bang for the buck" that we got here and will certainly return if in the area. The Park is within a mile and the entry is one of the best: hot springs close by and sheep climb in the cliffs. The Mammoth Springs visitor center and amenities are within 5 miles of entering the park and there is good food and hiking there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We only know of one location (on the front near the office) and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel27514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed at the Gardiner, MT Travelodge during first week of September 2011. Room was a nice size, clean, good hot water. Parking was convenient. They had a surprising nice breakfast; scrambled eggs, fruit juice, coffee, etc. The trays were constantly refilled, with alomost no waitng, as the hotel was sold out and the food went quickly. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, which was a big plus as the hotel was sold out and they were very busy. I would stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it to everyone traveling to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Book in advance, as even in September the hotel sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We just returned from four nights at the Travelodge in Gardiner and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were nice and roomy (we were in a standard) and the staff was very pleasant and informative. The breakfast was good (loved the eggs) and filling, as we spent all day in the "Park". We could walk to our favorite restaurant..and we are planning on returning next year without hesitation and would recommend staying there..

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor in a basic room and found it to be quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsuezx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hubby and I recently stayed at this property on 9/7/2011 for one night. Room was very large, clean, and had a refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's rest. Most impressive was the personalized thank you note from the manager thanking us for staying with them. One of the reasons we booked this property was the fact that they do NOT allow pets or smoking...hubby has bad allergies. At check in they even reiterated that policy. Nice. Another reason we booked this property was for the guest laundry since this was the midway point through our vacation. I've been to more hotel laundries and laundromats than I care to mention, but this one was by far the cleanest and nicest I've ever laid eyes upon. The floor sparkled and the machines looked as though they were wiped down and cleaned each day. Lastly, the morning complimentary breakfast was fabulous. Good food, hot food, nice layout and friendly staff. If we ever are lucky enough to return to that area, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woods122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadwayinn, Owner at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Thank you for staying at the Rodeway Inn in Gardiner Montana while visiting the Yellowstone Park. We are glad that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in making sure every detail is personalized during your stay, including the hand written note upon check in. We hope that if you are ever in Gardiner again you choose to stay with us.

Steve Rapp
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked at this hotel based upon the recommendations of others on this site. As reported the hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly. We got a suite (room 311) and were very surprised to discover the room was as big as an apartment. There was a living room, kitchen, dining area and separate bedroom. Everything was clean and seemed fairly modern. The free breakfast was fine for us and included eggs, rosemary hash browns and other choices. My only complaints are that Room 311 is located near the stairs so you hear everyone going up and down and their conversations. Also the foldout sofa mattress was really thin and uncomfortable. I wouldn't count on that bed for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Room 311 is located near the stairs so it could be noisy. The foldout sofa mattress was really thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadwayinn, Owner at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Thank you for staying at the Rodeway Inn in Gardiner Montana while visiting the Yellowstone Park. We have furnished our suites to be spacious and comfortable. It is nice when traveling with a family to have a unit that you can cook together in and have enough room to be together in one space. We hope that if you are ever in Gardiner again you choose to stay with us.

Steve Rapp
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
#4 of 6 in Gardiner
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn and Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn and Suites
Address: 109 Hell Roaring St, Gardiner, MT 59030 (Formerly Yellowstone Park Travelodge)
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn and Suites is in Gardiner Montana the gateway entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Let us make your stay as comfortable as possible in out newly remodeled Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Park Travelodge Hotel Gardiner
Travelodge Yellowstone Park
Travelodge Hotel Yellowstone Park
Travelodge Gardiner
Travel Lodge Gardiner
Gardiner Travelodge
Gardiner Travel Lodge
Rodeway Inn And Suites Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing