We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We woke up one morning and had a buffalo right outside our window! This is a must stay at hotel when traveling to Yellowstone National Park. We will be back soon! The front desk staff called us by name and were very good to my kids.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajperly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

My family and I have been to Yellowstone Park many times and we always have ended up staying in different Hotels/Motels/Camp Grounds due to the service/rooms/price we have never found a place to keep returning back to... until NOW!

We were set to stay at a different hotel in the park and there was a mix up that ended up leaving us without a room. I called Yellowstone Village Inn and a kind voice answered that was eager to help. When we pulled up there were Buffalo in the front yard. As we walked into the hotel the fire warmed us.

Our condo (#302) was amazing! The bed slept very nicely and the TV’s were a sight to see especially for a hotel. Our room had a 42” flat screen. Over the course of the week while we were there going in and out of the park to see the sites, we always returned to a clean and tidy condo.

Over all though our stay was very nice! By the time our week was done were ready to go home, but we can’t wait to return.

Yellowstone Village Inn by far has won us over!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smalfry1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Has been remodeled but the rooms are still small. Very dark, the rustic lights don't give you enough light to read. Lighting in bathroom shielded by cover which prevents full lighting. Tight space in bathroom. Water system seems to be inter-connected because we heard every shower that morning. But the price was still lower than anything good in West Yellowstone so we took it. Great pizza joint within walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blokzijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I have just returned from a trip to the USA during which I stayed in 6 different motels and two hotels. This review is based on my comparison of the Yellowstone Village Inn to other motels visited on this trip. It is not a comparison of motels with hotels or B&BS.

The yellowstone Village Inn is located on the outskirst of Gradiner about 2 miles from Yellowstone's North entrance. It is a large motel with numerous rooms in the main hotel and one or two low rise buildings set in it's grounds.

I got the impression that the motel has recently been taken over by new management who have embarked on a refurbishment exercise. Our room was a double with view on the second floor. The room was large and spotless. The bathroom contained the toilet and bath, with the basin and vanity unit located in the main bedroom. The towels and bedlinen were of good quality and again spotless. The window in the room was small but the view was nice. The room was a bit dowdy in terms of paint colour and general decoration but for a little extra we could have stayed in one of the refurbished rooms on the ground floor. We did have a flat screen TV hinged from the wall which we liked a lot.

Continental breakfast was included. The breakfast room was a very small with only three tables. Many people took their cofffee and toast/muffin/bagel back to their room. There was juice and apples also. The selection was small but it did the job - I recomend the muffins which were lovely.

There was a pool and laundry facilities and internet access none of which we used so I cannot comment. The place we in a good state of repair, the grounds were well kept and as well as the room being stotless so too were all the communial areas. We were teated well at reception.

I would have no issue in recommending this motel but would maybe advise paying the extra to get a newly decorated room.

We stayed two nights and dined at Rosie's one night which we enjoyed vey much. Good food good helping and amazing caramel cheesecake- enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Pros: large enough room in quiet location at the edge of Gardiner, MT
Cons: unfriendly staff, lousy continental breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RckyMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just returned from a quick trip to Yellowstone. We were going mainly for wildlife viewing, and I decided to try staying in Gardiner this time. We've normally stayed in West Yellowstone, but Gardiner is definitely a better location if you are mainly interested in the upper loop. We were out of the hotel shortly after 6:30 and in the Lamar Valley by 7:00 or so -- just in time to hear two coyotes howling at each other (in plain view of the road) and have a large, black grizzly go right along the side of the road headed out of the Slough Creek campground where everyone was gathered to watch for the wolves that frequent that site.

We stayed two nights at this motel. We were in a room (#304) which had a separate bedroom with a king-size bed, and the main room with a queen bed and sofa sleeper. It was located in a separate building, just a short walk over to the lobby. Since we were traveling with my married daughter and her husband, it worked out very nicely. In the main room there's also a microwave, small fridge and kitchen table -- along with a very nice flat-screen TV.

The bathrooms are set up very nicely for a family. There's one room with just a tub/shower combination, hair-dryer and chair, and a separate room with the toilet and sink area. Great for getting lots of people ready in the morning.

The beds were comfortable, but not as plush as most of the larger hotels have gone to. The linens were also a step down from what we've had a chains like Holiday Inn Express and Hampton Inns lately. When I checked out Sunday morning, the desk clerk mentioned that the room had just been renovated 10 days ago. It's too bad they didn't choose to upgrade the linens while they were doing the renovations.The continental breakfast had a bowl of apples, muffins, bagels, bread, orange & apple juice, coffee, and packets of hot chocolate and teas.

If the bed linens and continental breakfast had been just a touch nicer, I would have rated this hotel as excellent. Even considering those small issues, I would definitely consider staying here again next time we return to Yellowstone for a wildlife spotting weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ute_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This was a nice motel, with interior corridors, and very comfortable, relaxing lobby. There was a free continental breakfast included, which included english muffin, cream cheese, and fresh fruit - our breakfast of choice. While the motel is close to the northern entrance to Yellowstone, you should allow 1/2 hour to get into the park, because of the line that sometimes forms getting into the park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukn2lrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gardiner at Yellowstone Park North Entrance
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Village Inn

Address: 1102 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: £50 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been completely renovated and is very clean and comfortable. Yellowstone Village Inn closes every year during the winter months for deep cleaning and renovation, so our property is clean and inviting to our guests during the summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Village Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Inn Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing