We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Base for Yellowstone”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We found this to be a really good base for visiting Yellowstone. We had one of their family rooms which had plenty of room for a family of four. Quiet, clean room, which is well set up but has hard beds. The breakfast is adequate with a mix of bagels, toast, muffins and apples. However the breakfast room only has a couple of small tables so you need to take the food back to your room - which is fine. The staff during the day are excellent - very friendly and helpful. The service on check in was decidedly underwhelming. He wasn't rude, just really, really indifferent. Overall a good place to stay for visiting Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flintstones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    135
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
148
171
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a one night stop before an early start to look for wildlife in the Lamar Valley. Our room was comfortable, but not particularly quiet, as there was a lot of pedestrian traffic along the corridors (but no vehicular traffic outside the room as it's set back from the road). The breakfast, available from 6.30, is very basic with toast, muffins and hot drinks, which were useful to take away. I would choose to stay in the park if you can afford it. We got a cheaper room (admittedly not en suite) at the Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel, which was much more atmospheric, but you need to book ahead.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here three nights in September while touring Yellowstone NP. It is conveniently located just north of the entrance to Yellowstone and close to downtown Gardiner. We had a two bedroom suites with full kitchen and living room accommodations. The rooms have been recently renovated, and are kept very clean. There was a porch with seating and a picnic table if you wanted to eat outside. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, each bedroom had a TV, and there was a large flat screen TV in the living room. Based on other comments regarding the hotel, we thought we would take a chance and glad we did. As with most hotels in the vicinity of Yellowstone, they have some quirky requirements regarding refunds/cancellations and use of the room...so make sure you read them before booking. Their requirements didn't bother us because we knew when we would be staying and had no intention of canceling before our arrival. The continental breakfast was typical hotel fare, muffins, toast, bagles, juice and coffee/tea but we aren't breakfast people anyway. The pool was nice and well-kept. Don't be surprised to be greeted by Elk on the front lawn while staying there. The Elk seem to come around in the evening, eat, lay on the lawn for awhile before moving on. They were mostly cows but I'm sure there was a bull around somewhere near. I would highly recommend the Yellowstone Village Inn as a place to stay in Gardiner. I thought I had taken pics of the suite but can't find them but did find a few of the elk.

Room Tip: If you prefer being separated from the main hotel rooms, choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raven_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is fairly new place just north of Yellowstone Park which avoids the very expensive in park accommodation costs. Our twin room was spacious with fridge and flat screen T.V. There are obvious efforts to keep these rooms clean and well maintained. We had booked via their web page and amended our stay from 4 nights to 3 with plenty of notice; we were nevertheless charged a 5% fee. When we challenged this we were informed that it is because we booked on their web page. If we had booked via the phone there would not have been a charge. As we were visiting from the U.K. phoning is expensive and inconvenient and we have never encountered a charge for an alteration in booking when using the hotels own web site. The breakfast was not exciting and seating for only 9 people but nevertheless it is advertised as complementary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

During our trip to North Yellowstone Park we stayed at the Yellowstone Village Inn based on the reviews of fellow travelers on the Trip Advisor site. We couldn't have made a better choice, It appears to be fairly new and very clean with a very friendly helpful staff. We stayed in the KIng suite. We needed the extra room as our adult son joined us on our trip. The room was surprisingly spacious even for a suite. The high ceiling gave it a real open feel. The living area had a kitchen , table and chairs, sofa, large flat screened TV and a double bed. In the master bedroom was a very comfortable king size bed ... I loved the decor with tile flooring and a western area carpet that gave it a nice western feel. The bathroom was actually two rooms one with shower and the other room with toilet and sink. That was perfect for the three of us getting ready and out in the mornings. The only downfall was the wifi connection was a bit spotty but I don't think this was the fault of the hotel but more likely the location. Our son had work that needed to be done on the computer . He was able to get the connection in the lobby of the hotel and accomplish what he needed to do all while enjoying the Continental breakfast offered. Toast, muffins, bagels , coffee and juice just some of the offerings. The entry to the park was very close. We had a wonderful time and saw lots of wildlife. We were treated to a buffalo crossing which was amazing. A buffalo nearly the size of our car was walking right alongside of us. We also saw a mother Elk with her offspring in the creek just coming out. Again she was on the road next to our car before she decided to get back into the creek. We had the privilege of seeing some mountain goats as well. In the early evening we went to Monmouth Springs. Across the street from the Springs was a male elk and his harem grazing in front of a home there. We were told that he is there at dusk every day with his girls. What fun to watch them but at a safe distance. Some people got a little closer than he liked and he let out a nice big call. If you are looking for a really great meal go to Monmouth Springs hotel for dinner. Our meals were excellent and the service was also excellent. Skip the cowboy restaurant in Gardiner. The food, ambiance and service was less than you should expect. If we are in the area again we would definitely stay at the Yellowstone Village Inn. I didn't get to see the single rooms but for a little more money I would highly recommend the King suite.

Room Tip: The king suite was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights then for 3 nights the following week. We had a kitchen suite that has a fridge microwave, toaster coffee machine. We were visiting Yellowstone to do photography so we wanted to be up by 5 am to be in the park before sunrise. The kitchen unit allowed us to make our own breakfast because the hotels breakfast isn't open until after 6 am.
Their location is about 2 miles from the north entrance to Yellowstone NP, so the location is perfect. We found that being close to the north entrance to the park allowed us to get to the locations we wanted to see faster than staying in West Yellowstone. The units are clean comfortable and reasonably priced. you could walk to restaurants from there or make a 3 minute car ride to any eatery in Gardiner

Room Tip: If you visit the area book a early if you want choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel was conveniently located by the North entrance to Yellowstone. The room was clean and snug. Pillows were not very comfortable. Wifi and TV were a welcome treat having just stayed at a cabin which had neither. Basic continental breakfast was included in the price - bagels, toast, muffins, apples and coffee and tea. Coffee and hot water for tea are available throughout the day. Nice touch. A bit on the pricey side at $130/night. The town had plenty of eating establishments.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the breakfast area if you want to sleep in the morning - you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Village Inn

Property: Yellowstone Village Inn
Address: 1102 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been completely renovated and is very clean and comfortable. Yellowstone Village Inn closes every year during the winter months for deep cleaning and renovation, so our property is clean and inviting to our guests during the summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Village Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Inn Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing