We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for Gardiner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice for Gardiner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I will begin by saying how very nice the lady at the front desk was when we entered looking for a room. We thought we had a room elsewhere, and it turned out that either we or they had made a mistake, and we were in town without accommodations. We were just going to take a basic room since we had lost our money at the other place, but she voluntarily upgraded us to a larger room . So nice and thoughtful!
Our room was large and very clean and fresh looking. There were 2 beds which would be very nice for a family; but the only chairs to sit in were at the small table. The shower and towels were both very good, and the continental breakfast was far better than most. It included top quality muffins and bagels as opposed to the cheaper ones provided by most places.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    132
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
137
162
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the fact that it had a separate bedroom. It was so hot in that bedroom, because the one air conditioner did not get any cooling back there. The other bed in the living room had extremely squeaky bed springs. We stayed for 5 nights. By the fourth day, I had to ask for another bar of bath soap. No daily replenishments of those tiny bars unless you asked.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peg6790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Yellowstone Village Inn was a great place to stay. Nice, clean room. They had a great continental breakfast in the morning. I really enjoyed talking to the owner the morning we left. We were both out admiring the view of the sunrise on Electric Peak. Would definitely stay there again. By far the nicest place we stayed on our trip. Thank you. We hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsyyankeerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a lucky find! We were unable to get a hotel room in the Mammoth area of Yellowstone Park and so decided to stay in Gardiner, MT. The Yellowstone Village Inn deserves the good reviews you'll find on trip advisor. It is about 5 minutes from the Roosevelt Arch, the rooms are very well kept and comfortable, the staff at the hotel is helpful and friendly and the breakfast (continental) has some of the most delicious muffins I've ever had! After visiting the hotel in the park (northern end) I'm very glad we stayed at the Yellowstone Village Inn. Great value, great location! Bring your binoculars and you might see mountain sheep and elk in the hills facing the inn. You'll certainly see elk roaming the town!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My group of five (four adults and one child) shared the 2-bedroom suite. It was very spacious (2 queen beds and one king), very clean, and very comfortable. The kitchen had everything you would need to cook a meal, and the views from the hotel were gorgeous. The indoor swimming poor was chilly but popular, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Although we only stayed one night, I think this would be an excellent home base to explore the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Yellowstone Village Inn is a hidden gem in North Yellowstone, 5 miles from Mammoth Springs. Very quick access to Yellowstone...5 miles feels like 1. The town is relaxed with great activities for all ages and yummy family restaurants. There are several places for adults to relax and loosen up, too. The inn was built in the 80's, but looks like it was built in the last few years. The owner, who is also the proprietress has staff who are genuinely friendly and helpful and obviously enjoy working for her. The entire property is very attractive as well as exceptionally clean and well maintained. We have been traveling for two weeks now and this is our seventh hotel. I will put this inn up against all of the other places, including the 4 star locations. I will recommend this property time and time again. Truly special.

Room Tip: Make your reservation and have no doubts. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in July 2014 as we had planned an extensive tour of Yellowstone National Park. Yellowstone Village Inn had very good reviews on TripAdvisor, which helped our decision. We found the hotel very well kept, with large, clean rooms, very friendly staff, and good amenities within striking distance of the Park.

One issue we faced was that the in house laundry was out of order for the entire duration of our trip. This was unfortunate as we had planned on doing laundry during our stay.

Also, the wifi signal is weak - others have mentioned this in their reviews as well.

The breakfast was fine - exactly as advertised on the hotel's website. The rooms also have a mini fridge, which we found very helpful as we packed lunches each day. There is an excellent market in town just down the road from the hotel - the Gardiner Market (http://www.gardinermarket.com/). It has everything you need, and as far as we could tell is the only place to buy staples in Gardiner. We found the prices there very reasonable. We ate at pretty much eery restaurant the town has to offer - will review these separately - but all were reasonably tasty, and well priced.

The grounds of the hotel are very well kept, and there are picnic tables around that you can sit on - very nice to enjoy the sunset and dinner, should you make this yourself or get takeout. Elk came by a few times, which was nice. The green grass front lawn looks a little odd in the context of an arid climate - a xeriscape would be nice there. But overall this is a lovely hotel, with great staff, good rates, close to the park and within 80 miles of Bozeman airport. If you do fly through Bozeman, make sure to stop in Livingstone - nifty town with great coffee shops and museums.

This is a great place to stay - highly recommended.

See the photo below for our "lunch making survival kit" -= pretty much everything you need to ensure you can make a tasty lunch (or dinner):
Coffee cup drip basket and filters - essential, if like me, you like excellent strong coffee in the morning. Not to say that the Hotel coffee is bad; I just like really good coffee I make myself. The Hotel breakfast area has hot water.
Cups with lids - for taking hot drinks on the go. We also brought our own tea bags and got hot water at the Yellowstone General Stores in the park.
Plates
Lexan cutlery
Vegetable peeler - because we like fresh carrots on the trail
Two sharp knives - one serrated for slicing tomatoes, the other for cutting vegetables and other stuff
A reamer, because we like fresh lemon, lime an orange juices in our cocktails
A wine stopper, should you find the urge to keep wine
Sea salt and a pepper mill, because freshly ground pepper is best
Also, we pack ziploc bags - two sizes - to put food in.

We bought bread at the Market (there is a local bakery that makes a Montana Sourdough - very tasty), and toasted this for sandwiches we kept in a cooler in the car. Why toasted? Because toasted bread is better for sandwiches! It doesn't get as soggy during the day. The Hotel breakfast area has toasters you can use - you will just have to put up with strange looks as I did when I came down to toast 8 slices of bread...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road offer a very nice view of the mountains overlooking the town of Gardiner. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrodlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Village Inn

Property: Yellowstone Village Inn
Address: 1102 Scott Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been completely renovated and is very clean and comfortable. Yellowstone Village Inn closes every year during the winter months for deep cleaning and renovation, so our property is clean and inviting to our guests during the summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Village Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Inn Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing