We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Reasonably Priced Cottages”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Parkersburg, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Reasonably Priced Cottages”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I were visiting Yellowstone and stayed at these cottages which are about a minute away from the North Entrance of Yellowstone. Our cottage was very cozy and had everything we needed. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    53
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We, a group of 4 flyfishermen, stayed at Hillcrest Cottages in early August. From this location, we fished several rivers in and out of Yellowstone. Hillcrest Cottages were convieniently located, right on the main street in Gardiner, about 1/2 mile from the park entrance. We booked their double cottage, that has two adjoining rooms. One room had two twin beds and a small kitchen area. The other had one twin and one single, but made up for it by having a full sized refrigerator/freezer. This really came in handy for preparing for day trips in the park. The shower was coffin-sized. Not the fanciest or newest place I've ever stayed, but fit the purpose of our trip perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Gardiner is a cute little town literally AT the north entrance to Yellowstone park. Hillcrest cottages are cute little cottages right in town. My cottage had a solid sized bed/bedroom, with a very generously sized bathroom. Everything appeared clean and everything worked, which included a nice refrigerator and an air conditioner. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance of the cottages and, again, the park entrance is no more than a minute away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tshell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

July is peak season in Yellowstone, so we knew from past experience that the rates would be high when we booked our room. We looked at all of the listed inns in Gardiner, Montana and found Hillcrest Cottages. They were well rated here at Trip Advisor, so we booked the cottage with two queen beds. The innkeeper was very pleasant when we checked in. We were given Cottage 3, which was right by the office. We were able to park our car right by our cottage.

When we entered the cottage we noticed that there was a twin bed, something we had not expected, but which would be good for a family. There was a small table and a couple of chairs in the kitchen area. The little kitchen had a refrigerator, stove, and sink, which would be nice if you wanted to do some cooking. The bathroom was nice, with a shower stall instead of a tub. The air-conditioner was quiet, had a digital thermostat, and ran well. Television was supplied by Dish network, and free movies were on. There was a digital clock next to the flat-screened 32-inch TV. The carpeting was in fine shape. A few little charming touches were added, such as bison, tree, and elk paintings on the wall.

The only downsides are lack of breakfast and the ability to get ice when you want it.

This was quite comfortable for the night we stayed here. We would recommend it to anyone who likes a cheaper room, but is not determined to stay at a place like Comfort Inn. I would stay here again while in Gardiner.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan Ctr, IN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were planning a trip in the Yellowstone area and looking online for a place to stay, Other listings here helped us pick Hillcrest and dealing with the owners made us glad we stayed here. 1st off - It IS Small. If thats a deal breaker, read no farther. In the week after we made our reservations ( 2 cabins for 2 cpls) we found other things to do in the Gardiner area and decided to add 1 more night to our stay - No Problem at all. The staff also helped us pick horseback riding and white water rafting vendors in the area (Hells-a-Roarin Ranch and Flying Pig Rafts - Both were Great). Very clean and just blocks out of the North Gate of Yellowstone. Add to that, the price was great and this place can not be beat as a spot to launch your adventures, just don't look for the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Most have a view of Electric Mountain off of the front porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The cottages are cute with a good view, but the bed was too soft and there was a misunderstanding about the kitchenettes. I thought all units had them, but our small cabin did not which was disappointing. On the plus side, it did have a full sized coffee maker and that's worth a lot to us. The price was fair for peak season.

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify the kitchenette issue if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_ramona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Seeing how busy Yellowstone Park was in June, we were very pleased we had elected to stay in lovely Gardiner. These attractive cottages are situated just above the main road through town so you do hear traffic noise especially if you have the windows open. It was very hot while we were there and we were trying to do without switching on the air con at night. Most cottages have a seating area in a covered porch. We had a cottage with 2 queen beds and a single bed but we wouldn't have liked to have been in there with three other people for more than one night! There was a small kitchen area and you ask at reception when you arrive for mugs, plates etc. The room had a table with 2 chairs and really no room for anymore. You had to sit on the bed to watch TV. Wifi was poor there if that is what you need. We would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some cottages are further from the road than others so these may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Cottages Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing