We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced & clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonably priced & clean”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We didn't have reservations anywhere so we just drove into town and looked for a place. Some of the other motels were VERY expensive so we just looked til we found something reasonable. It was cute & decorated nicely, but was small. The rooms hde a fridge, microwave & coffee pot. The most important thing to me was how clean it was (being a former motel owner myself). It was clean and the staff was very helpful. I would stay there again if we passed through. It was a nice little mom & pop operation. Cleanliness was my #1 priority and they filled the bill!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeann1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Absolutley wonderful experience from making our reservations with Annie in January to our stay on Aug 8th. Arrival couldn't have been more welcoming and Annie was more than accomodating with answers to our questions re: the area. The cottage, # 7, was perfect for two. Everything inside as stated, no surprises. For the people who complain about the size of the rooms, you need to look at the sign when you drive in to rent a room and pay attention to the word "Cottage". We had one of our best night's sleep here. Clean, quiet, great location, parking next to front door, pride of ownership obvious and owners who appreciate your business.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheGoex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I were visiting Yellowstone and stayed at these cottages which are about a minute away from the North Entrance of Yellowstone. Our cottage was very cozy and had everything we needed. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We, a group of 4 flyfishermen, stayed at Hillcrest Cottages in early August. From this location, we fished several rivers in and out of Yellowstone. Hillcrest Cottages were convieniently located, right on the main street in Gardiner, about 1/2 mile from the park entrance. We booked their double cottage, that has two adjoining rooms. One room had two twin beds and a small kitchen area. The other had one twin and one single, but made up for it by having a full sized refrigerator/freezer. This really came in handy for preparing for day trips in the park. The shower was coffin-sized. Not the fanciest or newest place I've ever stayed, but fit the purpose of our trip perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Gardiner is a cute little town literally AT the north entrance to Yellowstone park. Hillcrest cottages are cute little cottages right in town. My cottage had a solid sized bed/bedroom, with a very generously sized bathroom. Everything appeared clean and everything worked, which included a nice refrigerator and an air conditioner. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance of the cottages and, again, the park entrance is no more than a minute away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tshell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
286 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

July is peak season in Yellowstone, so we knew from past experience that the rates would be high when we booked our room. We looked at all of the listed inns in Gardiner, Montana and found Hillcrest Cottages. They were well rated here at Trip Advisor, so we booked the cottage with two queen beds. The innkeeper was very pleasant when we checked in. We were given Cottage 3, which was right by the office. We were able to park our car right by our cottage.

When we entered the cottage we noticed that there was a twin bed, something we had not expected, but which would be good for a family. There was a small table and a couple of chairs in the kitchen area. The little kitchen had a refrigerator, stove, and sink, which would be nice if you wanted to do some cooking. The bathroom was nice, with a shower stall instead of a tub. The air-conditioner was quiet, had a digital thermostat, and ran well. Television was supplied by Dish network, and free movies were on. There was a digital clock next to the flat-screened 32-inch TV. The carpeting was in fine shape. A few little charming touches were added, such as bison, tree, and elk paintings on the wall.

The only downsides are lack of breakfast and the ability to get ice when you want it.

This was quite comfortable for the night we stayed here. We would recommend it to anyone who likes a cheaper room, but is not determined to stay at a place like Comfort Inn. I would stay here again while in Gardiner.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan Ctr, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were planning a trip in the Yellowstone area and looking online for a place to stay, Other listings here helped us pick Hillcrest and dealing with the owners made us glad we stayed here. 1st off - It IS Small. If thats a deal breaker, read no farther. In the week after we made our reservations ( 2 cabins for 2 cpls) we found other things to do in the Gardiner area and decided to add 1 more night to our stay - No Problem at all. The staff also helped us pick horseback riding and white water rafting vendors in the area (Hells-a-Roarin Ranch and Flying Pig Rafts - Both were Great). Very clean and just blocks out of the North Gate of Yellowstone. Add to that, the price was great and this place can not be beat as a spot to launch your adventures, just don't look for the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Most have a view of Electric Mountain off of the front porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.5 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Cottages Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing