We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with our stay”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The rooms at Hillcrest at extremely pleasant and have all the amenities (minus a hairdryer) that you need including a microwave, coffee maker, and minifridge. The room was clean and spacious with nice little touches (artwork that references the local scenery). The satellite tv connection in our room was a bit fuzzy but who needs television when you're at the entrance of an amazing national park.

The innkeepers were super friendly and helpful (i.e. giving directions to laundromat, helping us with recycling)

Would recommend to anyone who is interested in staying near the north side of Yellowstone but not interested in spending a lot of cash!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Friendly Owners, excellent value for the location. Enjoyed the stay. It is a self sufficient place to stay. So if you like just doing your thing, gathering you groceries and generally being on your own. This is an excellent place. The owner will get you anything you need you just have to ask. I enjoy this type of accommodation. I am usually busy doing lots of things in the park so I just want a place to relax a little at night, cook some dinner and breakfast and roll on with my plan.

Absolutely perfect for this!

Room Tip: Cabins are different sizes and prices. Be sure if you are a "lot of room" type you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We called the Gardiner Chamber of Commerce at the recommendation of Yellowstone NP lodging folks. The guy at the chamber couldn't think of any places that would have 2-room suites available. I got on Trip Advisor and found this sweet place and feel like we hit the jackpot. The owner was so friendly. We got an amazing deal on a 2-bedroom cottage. The place reminds me of the kitchenettes we'd rent when I was a kid. The room had a little bit of that old smoking room smell but I opened up the windows and it was gone in a few minutes. Spacious, clean, great kitchen facilities. I'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A great place to stay when visiting Yellowstone. Super convenient to park entrance and the small town of Gardiner. We stayed in a 2-room Cottage and once I got used to sleeping in the kitchen it was fine. It's a bit of a funky space, that feels a bit like the 1960's but it served us well and was a great value. It was nice to have a full size refrigerator and a cooktop stove. We could walk easily to town, restaurants, store. Enjoyed sitting on the little porch after a long day in the park. Hosts were helpful and accommodating. Would stay there again. Opt for the 2-room cottage if you want separate sleeping spaces and a bit more room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunfishrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Very reasonable rooms for the location just outside of Yellowstone. The rooms are a little small but they have a full size fridge and 2 burner stove. The employees were very helpful and accommodating. the area is touristy with shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Hillside Cottages are all individually designed so I can only speak of Cottage #11. It was very small but amazingly engineered. It had a Queen size bed (one person has to crawl over the other to get out), a TV, Cooktop, Dorm-size Fridge, Microwave, coffee maker, & toaster. There isn't a lot of room for anything else so you need to be good at organizing your stuff. Parking is difficult here and a couple of times we had to knock on cabin doors to ask if they would do a better job of parking so we could get our car in. The shower was low flow and lukewarm. Wi-fi is only available if you stand next to the owner's cabin. But it was very clean, had lots of amenities and for $90 was a bargain. PS we did not have an issue with noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

These cabins were very close to Yellowstone which is what we were looking for. They were clean and very basic. We had a kitchenette, table and chairs, shower, TV, microwave which is all we needed because we were in the park from sunrise to sunset. Check in was quick and all questions were handled to where is a good place to eat to where do we park. Parking is a little tight and tricky but not bad. We enjoyed these cabins and would stay here again. They are a great value to be so close to the park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Cottages Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing