We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cosy”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Randers
Level Contributor
270 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Small cabins with good beds and showers (a bit small). No breakfast but coffee maker in room. Fair price. Nicie location. A bench outside each cabins. Walking distance to "the city". Free wifi. Good beds and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at Hillcrest Cottages for three nights starting June 14, 2014. This is the second time we've stayed having stayed here in 2011. Both times we really enjoyed the stay and don't believe you'll find a more reasonable price and nicer property owners. The cottages have all you need for a comfortable stay while visiting YNP. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontPoketheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This cabin was so comfortable! It was perfect after a two day drive. I was concerned about the bed seeming a bit hard when I first got there, but I slept like a baby so it was fine. The kitchenette really came in handy. The bathroom is rather small but certainly manageable. The place was really clean too! I loved the personal feel and service without feeling like I was being watched over. We loved our stay! The location cannot be beat at the north entrance!
Thank you Art & Annie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdown
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very reasonably priced, clean rooms, hot showers, fridge and microwave. Parking is a little tight, good thing we were in a small car. Owners were very nice and accommodating. We came in late and they had everything ready for us to check in. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arktraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Well located on the park’s perimeter. Very close to attractive hiking trails and the Mammoth Springs travertine. Owner provides you with kitchen supplies. The cottage is big enough for two double beds. In our cabin, the Internet connection was poor and we were not far from the source. Nice thick towels replaced everyday. If asked, owner will lend you bear spray for the duration of stay. Rates are reasonable for late September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liliOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Old-fashioned cottages very close to the gates of Yellowstone. They are clean and comfortable with good showers, but tight on floor space and the grounds are rather bare. We had a kitchenette but there were no dishes or utinciles provided so I don't understand the point of that. We stayed only one night so it was all fine, but it might not be the best place for an extended stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank peglegdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was a decent place to stay. It was clean and the people there were EXCELLENT! We wanted a BBQ and they brought one right to us. We stayed one night as we were driving through Yellowstone. The downside to this cottage was the television. It was old and there weren't any channels that were provided that were interesting. Would have liked to see an updated TV with more channels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.5 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Cottages Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing